We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Briarfields

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Briarfields
Ranked #37 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying here, for our anniversary. Our hosts were friendly and attentive. The rooms were great and spacious. They provided great breakfast and recommendations. We had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 505 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed for one night and found Peter and Trish to be very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean with modern touches to it. We would definitely return when in Torquay again and would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed for 1 night and got engaged there! Perfect room, perfect service, overall a fantastic place. The room was beautiful and now holds many happy memories for us both. Very happy and would recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed three nights at Briarfields leading up to Easter and had a wonderful time.

Pete and Trish were perfect hosts who made you feel really welcome. Friendly and chatty and always willing to suggest places to see or places to eat during your stay.

The room, like the rest of the hotel was spotless and modern. Free wifi and a DVD player in the room were an added and welcome bonus.

The breakfasts were so good with nearly everything you'd want on the menu from cereals and fruit to pete's lovely fry up.

If you are looking for a perfect location from which to explore torquay and the surrounding areas, briarfields is definitely the place to stay. I would recommend it to anybody and will return.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in the week before Easter, our first visit to the area.

From the moment we arrived we felt very welcome at the guest house. The landlady was warm and friendly and gave us a tour on the way to our room. This also included suggested restaurants for the evening - the recommendations were spot on.

This is a 3 storey guest house on a main road, with parking out front. When at full occupancy (8 rooms) I can not imagine all guest can park there, but there was room to stack the cars. I overheard another guest giving permission to move his car if needs be - which I can imagine is a common practice in these guesthouses in Torquay.

Rather than reflecting your Gran's house, this was modern with tasteful minimalist decor. We opted for a suite, which was generously sized, and included a queen size bed and a 2-seater sofa in a separate area through an archway. There was a fridge with some welcoming bottles of water and some fresh milk rather than the fiddly UHT cartons to go with the tea/coffee making facilities. The built in wardrobe was ample. There was in room air con (which we didn't need) and a TV (which we didn't use).

Breakfast was served between 8:30 and 9:30 and was lovely. It was also a good opportunity to plan the day with good advice from our hosts.

The location was good - a short walk (20mins) from the main harbour area, through the beautiful Torre Abbey gardens. At the end of the evening we opted for a taxi back, easily available and about a fiver.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would recommend this accommodation to family/friends.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank drstevedavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

To keep it short and sweet! If your looking for a 5 star bnb around a 5 minute walk from the seafront, 10 to the town then look no further. Rooms are imacculate, cleaned daily and well stocked. Large comfortable bed with a spacious sitting area and lovely en-suite. Breakfast was delicious and suited all appetites. The owners are welcoming and happy to assist in any way! They have excellent knowledge of the area, and do an excellent job of making you feel right at home! Thank you for a wonderful and pleasant stay. We will definitely return!

Chris & Nadine

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank sidboi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Without a doubt the best place we have stayed. Felt so welcome from the minute we walked through the door. Our room was a lovely size with everything you could need, a comfy bed, fridge, tv and a wonderful power shower. The breakfast was top notch and Peter & Trish the owners catered for all needs. Looking forward to staying here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scheuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
6.5 mi away
The Old Forge at Totnes
0.1 mi away
Tyndale B&B
Tyndale B&B
#15 of 150 in Torquay
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingston House
Kingston House
#19 of 150 in Torquay
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 150 in Torquay
367 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Berburry
The Berburry
#27 of 150 in Torquay
135 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 150 in Torquay
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarfields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarfields

Address: 84-86 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $111 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Briarfields 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Briarfields reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarfields Hotel Torquay
Briarfields Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing