We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay”
Review of Briarfields

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Briarfields
Ranked #39 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed only one night wished it could of been more very friendly. We had room 4 super king size bed very comfortable spotlessly clean we will be back dreckly.we went to the princess theatre only a short walk away thank you for making our stay wonderful.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KarenField1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    17
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
24
370
14
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed just the one night wished it ould of been more room 4 super king bed very comfortable spotlessly clean we will be back dreckly. Ideal if going to the princess theatre a lovely walk down thank you for a lovely stay

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KarenField1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed just the one night wished it ould of been more room 4 super king bed very comfortable spotlessly clean we will be back dreckly. Ideal if going to the princess theatre a lovely walk down thank you for a lovely stay

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KarenField1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Chose to stay overnight at the Briarfields after reading the reviews here.
We weren't disappointed as the welcome was very sincere and warm.
The room was very clean and very we'll appointed.
Everything was there... TV, wifi, aircon, tea/coffee eqpt
Breakfast menu was very extensive , we'll cooked and well presented.
Next time we are in Torquay we will definitely stay again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights. The cleanliness in the hotel is impeccable -spotless. Owners were very friendly and gave us some really good advice in where to go. Very relaxed atmosphere. Breakfast was fab! Had a great weekend. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hammyprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I stayed at Briarfields recently and the owners were lovely, the hotel was clean and tidy and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was good and there is a variety of things to choose from. It is not far from the town and is conveniently located for the Riviera Conference Centre. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Black11Hawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This hotel is an excellent place to stay and the owners were extremely friendly and very informative ie giving us information on where to eat and how to get there etc. There is on-site parking to the front and the frontage was very welcoming. We had booked a mini-suite and obviously I cannot comment on the other rooms because I did not see them but I would advise booking the suite to get the extra room. The room had its own siting area and we had all the facilities we needed. We stayed for three nights and the only negative I could mention was that the water was not replaced in the fridge after I had drunk it the night before, also after the second night a second glass was not replaced after it had been used. Apart from this I would highly recommend you stay here. The breakfasts are lovely with fresh fruit, yogurts etc followed by what you want cooked and the choice was amazing. We opted for a Full English and it was superbly cooked.

Room Tip: I would suggest booking a suite for the extra room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
6.5 mi away
The Old Forge at Totnes
0.1 mi away
Tyndale B&B
Tyndale B&B
#10 of 149 in Torquay
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kingston House
Kingston House
#20 of 149 in Torquay
198 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
266 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Berburry
The Berburry
#31 of 149 in Torquay
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarfields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarfields

Property: Briarfields
Address: 84-86 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Briarfields 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Briarfields reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarfields Hotel Torquay
Briarfields Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing