We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as a 5* Hotel”
Review of Briarfields

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Briarfields
Ranked #15 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“As good as a 5* Hotel”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Having used numerus hotels and B and Bs we have found a gem. Warm welcome on arrival, very clean bedroom with air con, good comfortable beds with tea making facilities, bathroom very clean. What a superb breakfast what a delight, I cannot speak more highly, would recomend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
364
13
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We don't usually stay at B&B's as there can be such a difference in standards but on this occasion we found an absolute gem. The price of a nights B&B stay at Briarfields is by far very competative with many others we looked at but the standards that Peter & Trish have set make it an excellant value for money stay.
Our party had two rooms, a Mini suite and Superior suite room. Both rooms were large and spacious; decorated to a very high standard and equiped with most essentials. Both rooms were complimented with large en-suite shower-rooms which was ideal as my wifes parents find it a struggle to climb into a bath.
The beds are generous in size and comfortable in firmness. The only problem we suffered with was the passing trains on the neighbouring track. Easily solved by closing the windows and switching on the aircon!
After a good nights sleep, breakfast certainly set you up for the day ahead. Such a variety of choice from continental to traditional breakfasts complimented with endless fresh coffee, fruit juice and tea. Peter and Trish were even able to accomodate my wifes dietary requirements by getting gluten free sausage and bread so she could have a 'full english' with the rest of us!
It's fair to say that after having the breakfast, we didn't need to worry about the next meal until well into the afternoon!
Overall we all had a very enjoyable stay where you are made to feel very welcome. Peter & Trish give everyone that touch of personal attention from the moment you arrive to the time you leave.
I would certainly recommend The Briarfields for your stay and you will not be disappointed.
Keep up the excellant work Peter & Trish, we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pipey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahors
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Delightful welcome: landlady Trish is a gem (everyone is My Love). Comfortable room (despite the railway line outside) with great shower. Superb breakfast: plenty of choice. You'll need a car to get anywhere, as there's not even a pub in sight.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This small-ish hotel deserves it's high rating and good reviews. Lovely spacious and tastefully decorated rooms with air-con. Friendly landlady and top class breakfast with special choices on the menu. Only downside is it's a bit of a walk to town, but along nice sea front via park so very pleasant walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel was so nice! i only stayed one night but i would defitnatley go back! The couple who own the hotel were lovely and helpful. At breakfast there was so much to choose from i felt spoilt with choice. The room was lovely with a really comfortable bed. I really would recommend everyone to stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed at Briarfields for 6 nights as part of a chess event she was playing in, at the Riveria Centre. I wanted accommodation that was convenient to the Riveria and Torquay harbour and was reluctant to book hotels as Torquay seemed to lack good quality hotels. Briafields was a delight! The junior suite we stayed in was imacculately clean with a lovely large modern ensuite shower room. It was perfect for our needs and Pete and Trish were incredibly welcoming and made delicious breakfasts each morning. They were perfect hosts providing guidance on all local amenities. Thank you again and if we do return to Torquay we will certainly be booking Briafields

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJP_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a five night stay at the Briarfield.
The rooms were better than most 5*hotels we have stayed in..The hosts Pete and Trish ensured
our every need was accomodated..The breakfast and service was outstanding. Location was perfect for all amenities and attra ctions. Pete's directions were always acurate and we never got lost once !!! We could have stayed forever and will definately return..
We reccomend anyone visiting Torquay to visit this exceptional accomodation.
Thank you Pete and Trish for making us so welcome and even after a small booking mix up managed to relocate us to another room withought issue. Perfect Hosts Perfect stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,662 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#3 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#7 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#5 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarfields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarfields

Property: Briarfields
Address: 84-86 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Briarfields 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Briarfields reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarfields Hotel Torquay
Briarfields Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing