We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best hotel we have ever stayed at in Torquay”
Review of Ascot House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ascot House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Simply the best hotel we have ever stayed at in Torquay”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We have just spent 3 nights at the hotel with our dog and have had the most wonderful stay. Terri, our hostess, could not have been more friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The boutique hotel is beautiful with such attention to detail inside. We had a superior king size room which was gorgeous with the most comfortable bed ever. Breakfast was served in the beautiful cosy dining room and so much thought and attention had gone into every detail from the delicious fruit platter to the presentation of preserves and choice of breakfasts. Spotlessly clean and very well maintained, lots of personal touches in the room and bathroom. 10 out of 10 for every aspect of this wonderful, friendly hotel and we will definitely stay again.A very big thank you to the lovely, hardworking Terri x

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debsuch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AscotHouseHotel, Owner at Ascot House Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
What can one respond to such kind words, Deb?! - except a HUGE thank for you taking the time to share them! We do hope to see you again before too long. All the best, Terri & Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    30
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
136
313
14
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. The room was lovely and very much to my taste with oldy world furniture and obviously done with loads of thought .

Breakfast was lovely and cooked to order.

My only issue was that the sheet on the bed was soooooo bobbly and had holes in it. When I looked at it in the morning it wasn't that clean either. It wasn't very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AscotHouseHotel, Owner at Ascot House Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments. We are so pleased you liked the décor of your room and that you very much enjoyed breakfast. As you observed, we do indeed put a lot of thought and energy into what we offer here. You can surely imagine then that this makes it all the more disappointing for us that the great attention to detail we are so often complimented on was evidently lacking when it came to making the bed in your room (for which I, Terri, am responsible). I’m even more sorry that it affected the quality of your sleep. I can assure you that contrary to how it may have appeared to you, the sheet was clean. Upon checking after reading your review, I didn’t find any bobbles to speak of and wonder if the fact it’s a jersey cotton/flannelette sheet might explain the difference of texture and whiteness you noticed. I did find, however, the two small holes on the side as well as a small stain and feel very embarrassed that I didn’t notice them when making up the bed. One of the main reasons we do our own laundry and make up the beds ourselves is that it better enables us to notice any staining, wear and tear, etc. One of Bernard’s mottos is ‘You don’t get a second chance to make a first impression’, and we strive to always give 100% - especially when it comes to attention to detail. The day I made up the room for you was obviously not a 100% day. Should you find yourself travelling to Torquay again, we very much hope that you’ll give a second chance to make a better impression. Kind regards, Terri & Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed in the superior suite and had a superb stay in this hotel. Terri is very personable and considerate. As well as making a mean breakfast, Terri has an amazing eye for detail and puts every effort into making your stay a pleasant one. I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0806Lisa1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We booked this small hotel after reading the Tripadviser reviews, and we were not disappointed.
From the friendly hosts to the comfortable clean room (9) to the wonderful breakfast, we could not find fault.
Terri, Bernard and the girls (staff) all very polite and helpful.
Thank you.
Victor and Leela

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. The owners were more formal than I expected but still friendly. It is a very well run B&B.The beds were comfortable and the room and bathroom were clean. There was a nice choice of breakfast which we enjoyed, I would have liked a radio or music in the breakfast room to make it feel more relaxed.
There was quite a bit of noise from the late dwellers at the local nightclub, we were both woken by this so the 2nd night we shut the window and so slept fine.
All in all it was a nice place and the staff were friendly the waitress on the Sunday morning was a breath of fresh air.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siliqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay in Torquay then look no further. Everything that the owners state on their own website is a true reflection of what you will find at Ascot House. As long as you are happy to have a 10 min stroll into the town centre then Ascot House Hotel is the perfect place to stay for many reasons. It’s great being just that short distance out of the town as it’s quiet & peaceful at night.

We have just returned from a 5 night stay and we were thrilled with what we’d found as a result of trawling through tripadvisor .

We booked the Luxury Suite, and it lived up to its name. The 3 room suite had been furnished to a high standard and in keeping with the building. The bedroom was home to the biggest, most comfy bed that provided us with the best 5 night’s sleep we’d had in ages. It was also great having the separate lounge as we did have a few days rain, so we were able to watch the DVD’s we had taken with us. The bathroom was enormous with both shower and roll top bath. There are two sets of French doors from this suite, one from the bedroom and the other from the lounge – both lead out onto the balcony that stretches along the front of the hotel.

Terri & Bernard the hosts were very warm and welcoming and in our opinion run a very sleek operation from beginning to end. Breakfast was lovely, everything you could ask for and more. The cooked breakfasts are cooked to order – hot and very tasty !!

Our suite was tided and cleaned each day to a high standard, with tea/coffee facilities replenished ( oh and the fresh jug of milk which always helps to make your tea taste like home !)

We would most definitely return to Ascot House should we visit Torquay in the future. Many thanks for making it such a relaxing break.

Jem & Debbie

Room Tip: Luxury Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phu quoc
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Room was excellent we stayed in the gothic, bed very comfortable. As you would expect the room was clean and the shower hot. Breakfast was exceptional quality cereals fruit and cooked breakfast to order. Terri and Bernard the hosts were everything you would want, warm, welcoming, helpful and a good cook. Definitely a place to revisit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noëleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#4 of 87 in Torquay
482 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,876 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.8 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 87 in Torquay
524 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel

Property: Ascot House Hotel
Address: 7 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Torquay
#1 Family Hotel in Torquay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ascot House Hotel is an early Victorian villa(built in 1840) enthusiastically run by Bernard and Terri on a B&B basis. Ascot House Hotel is unique in that it offers 5 spacious Suites, each having its own lounge in addition to the bedroom and bathroom. Each Suite is also equipped with all the amenities expected by the modern traveller, and more - for example, a fridge in each lounge in which we provide fresh milk and filtered water. For those wanting a bit of luxury during their stay, two of the Suites have roll-top baths with separate showers. Whether you are travelling solo, as a couple, or en-famille, Ascot House Hotel offers the warmest of welcomes, a home-away-from feeling in stylish Suites, and a top-quality breakfast. Ascot House Hotel has private, off-road parking - a space for each Suite - and is most conveniently situated within a few minutes' walk the town centre, sea front, Princess Theatre, the marina, the Riviera Conference Centre and train station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ascot House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing