We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd recommend this hotel to anyone”
Review of Ascot House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ascot House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed in the superior suite and had a superb stay in this hotel. Terri is very personable and considerate. As well as making a mean breakfast, Terri has an amazing eye for detail and puts every effort into making your stay a pleasant one. I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0806Lisa1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 628 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

We booked this small hotel after reading the Tripadviser reviews, and we were not disappointed.
From the friendly hosts to the comfortable clean room (9) to the wonderful breakfast, we could not find fault.
Terri, Bernard and the girls (staff) all very polite and helpful.
Thank you.
Victor and Leela

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. The owners were more formal than I expected but still friendly. It is a very well run B&B.The beds were comfortable and the room and bathroom were clean. There was a nice choice of breakfast which we enjoyed, I would have liked a radio or music in the breakfast room to make it feel more relaxed.
There was quite a bit of noise from the late dwellers at the local nightclub, we were both woken by this so the 2nd night we shut the window and so slept fine.
All in all it was a nice place and the staff were friendly the waitress on the Sunday morning was a breath of fresh air.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siliqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay in Torquay then look no further. Everything that the owners state on their own website is a true reflection of what you will find at Ascot House. As long as you are happy to have a 10 min stroll into the town centre then Ascot House Hotel is the perfect place to stay for many reasons. It’s great being just that short distance out of the town as it’s quiet & peaceful at night.

We have just returned from a 5 night stay and we were thrilled with what we’d found as a result of trawling through tripadvisor .

We booked the Luxury Suite, and it lived up to its name. The 3 room suite had been furnished to a high standard and in keeping with the building. The bedroom was home to the biggest, most comfy bed that provided us with the best 5 night’s sleep we’d had in ages. It was also great having the separate lounge as we did have a few days rain, so we were able to watch the DVD’s we had taken with us. The bathroom was enormous with both shower and roll top bath. There are two sets of French doors from this suite, one from the bedroom and the other from the lounge – both lead out onto the balcony that stretches along the front of the hotel.

Terri & Bernard the hosts were very warm and welcoming and in our opinion run a very sleek operation from beginning to end. Breakfast was lovely, everything you could ask for and more. The cooked breakfasts are cooked to order – hot and very tasty !!

Our suite was tided and cleaned each day to a high standard, with tea/coffee facilities replenished ( oh and the fresh jug of milk which always helps to make your tea taste like home !)

We would most definitely return to Ascot House should we visit Torquay in the future. Many thanks for making it such a relaxing break.

Jem & Debbie

Room Tip: Luxury Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Room was excellent we stayed in the gothic, bed very comfortable. As you would expect the room was clean and the shower hot. Breakfast was exceptional quality cereals fruit and cooked breakfast to order. Terri and Bernard the hosts were everything you would want, warm, welcoming, helpful and a good cook. Definitely a place to revisit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noëleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were booked in for just 1 night to deal with a family matter so this wasn't a holiday. We haven't stayed in Torquay before and booked Ascot House on the strength of Tripadvisor reviews.

All we needed was a good nights sleep after a pretty horrible journey down the M5. We were in room 5 which is classed as a standard double and is at the back of the property.

Terri and her husband have done a fantastic job. We loved their style of decor throughout and there were many thoughtful touches that make this place special. The fresh milk kept in the little fridge on the landing for tea and coffee was especially appreciated. Breakfast was very good and there was a fruit plate to start, again, a really nice touch.

We only met Terri but she was very warm and welcoming and couldn't do enough for us, the certificate of excellence is well deserved.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Small Hotel in a beautiful house with well-appointed and spacious guest rooms. Our room faced the street so a little noisy if you want to sleep with the windows open. The hotel is located about 5-10 minutes walk from the seafront. Very good value for money. Good Breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Massimo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
3,242 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
957 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 87 in Torquay
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel

Address: 7 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#1 Family Hotel in Torquay
#1 Business Hotel in Torquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $104 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ascot House Hotel is an early Victorian villa(built in 1840) enthusiastically run by Bernard and Terri on a B&B basis. Ascot House Hotel is unique in that it offers 5 spacious Suites, each having its own lounge in addition to the bedroom and bathroom. Each Suite is also equipped with all the amenities expected by the modern traveller, and more - for example, a fridge in each lounge in which we provide fresh milk and filtered water. For those wanting a bit of luxury during their stay, two of the Suites have roll-top baths with separate showers. Whether you are travelling solo, as a couple, or en-famille, Ascot House Hotel offers the warmest of welcomes, a home-away-from feeling in stylish Suites, and a top-quality breakfast. Ascot House Hotel has private, off-road parking - one space for each Suite - and is most conveniently situated within a few minutes' walk the town centre, sea front, Princess Theatre, the marina, the Riviera Conference Centre and train station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ascot House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing