We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly boutique hotel at a great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ascot House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ascot House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly boutique hotel at a great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night on business with a relative, we had booked a twin room but Bernard upgraded us to 2 double rooms for no extra charge which was lovely.
The rooms are nicely decorated and beautifully clean, the bed and pillows were so comfortable. Breakfast was included and again was very nice, with a plate of mixed fresh fruit, toast and cereal plus a cooked breakfast.
The hotel is located near the main shopping street so very convenient, with about a 20 min walk to the harbour.
I would definitely recommend the hotel and would gladly stay again, next time I might bring my husband!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    28
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
123
277
13
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DEVON
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Reasonably priced, centrally located, scrupulously clean, and well maintained, Ascot House Hotel offers the sort of value for money rarely found. Don't bother searching the net; do yourself a favour and book the Ascot. We certainly will the next time my wife and I stay in Torquay.

Room Tip: If you're with a group that's reasonably fit, take the suite with sea views on the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PEDRODevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night in January.
The hotel is quiet, scrupulously clean and very welcoming. My bedroom was very comfortable, although the shower room / toilet was extremely compact to say the least. Also, only a hand towel was provided. I don't know whether this was normal or an oversight.
Breakfast was excellent and the owners try very hard to make the guests' stay comfortable.
For what I paid the hotel was excellent value for money and I would happily stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AscotHouseHotel, Owner at Ascot House Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Many thanks for your review. Feedback is always appreciated. You stayed in one of our standard rooms, single occupancy. One of the many differences between our standard and superior rooms (the latter costing £5 per room per night at this time of year) is the bathrooms: in standard rooms, the bathroon occupies a corner of the room (so built into the room) as opposed to being a separate, larger en-suite room for superior rooms. We are very sorry you didn't find the bath towel, which we place on a wooden towel rain in the bedroom itself rather than it the bathroom, where we locateyour hand-towel. We should have alerted you to its location since, when one draws the curtains, because of its location in the window's aperture, it disappears from sight! We normally do and it looks as if, on this occasion, we didn't. Many apologies for this.
We take this opportunity to alert you and all our guests that, if you return to us and book direct, we automatically upgrade you to the next level of room. In other words, you will get a superior room at the rate of a standard room or, for the price of a superior room, you will get a suite.
Many thanks once again for staying with us and for your fair and constructive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Having read the reviews on Tripadvisor I was not surprised that every aspect of our stay was excellent, I was delighted. I couldn't have asked for more. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our room which was well equipped, spotlessly clean and had a nice view. What more can I add? Superb.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in January at a very reasonable rate. The hosts were charming and very welcoming. Our room was quite small but beautifully furnished with antiques and very clean. Fresh milk was available in a little frdge outside the door for your tea and coffee.
Breakfast was lovely with fresh fruit platter and choice of cereals, croissants, toast and brioche. Also of course a great full english breakfast. We had coffee which was very good which was topped up as much as you wanted.
Location was just enough away from the centre but an easy walk to shops and sea front. Very quiet at night.
Great little hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a suite if budget allows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancinggardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
160 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights between Christmas and New Year and enjoyed a pleasant stay in the Luxury Suite at the front of the house.

The suite is tastefully furnished in keeping with the Victorian architecture and immediately feels like a home from home, comprising a huge superking size bed, (which was one of the best beds I've ever slept in!) and double doors leading off the bedroom into your own cosy living room. The large bathroom was marvelous with a separate shower at one end and a roll-top claw foot bath at the other.

Breakfast each morning was consistantly good, with good quality produce, and plenty on offer.

In summary Ascot House is a great base to explore this part of Devon, and with having its own parking, being walking distance into town, and ensuring a high quality experience, make this a great place to stay again!

Thanks Bernard and Terri for a lovely stay, it was a pleasure to meet you! All the best for 2013!

Room Tip: Book a Suite, as they are well worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay over Christmas and fully agree with the comments already made by other guests. On arrival, we had a wonderfully warm welcome and immediately felt 'at home'. Our room was large, well furnished with furniture in keeping with the building's Victorian architecture. Fresh milk was provided for tea/coffee making - a lovely touch and so much nicer than the little plastic pots normally provided. The breakfasts were truly excellent - good 'home made' quality and plentiful.

The only thing that you need to be aware of, particularly if you have a large car (ours is a Jaguar), is the parking. Ascot House Hotel provides 5 parking spaces which are accessed via a narrow steep slope with a sharp turn. If you value the front or back of your car you may want to consider parking elsewhere! There is a pay and display car park (very cheap) literally a couple of minutes walk away although it is unlit.

In summary, Terri & Bernard should be very proud of their hotel and the service they provide - which is quite rare these days. We will definitely return although probably with a smaller car!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor-Doe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AscotHouseHotel, Owner at Ascot House Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Many thanks indeed for your very kind comments, which we very much appreciate.
We take your point as regards parking at our hotel, which is very much exacerbated by our territorial neighbour who has erected posts between his and our drive. Thank you for mentioning the car park 30 yards away. We also have free street parking around the corner (Croft Road) and are always ready to guide you in and out of the car park or park your car ourselves, should you be willing to entrust us with the task.
Very best wishes, hoping to welcome you again at Ascot House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,600 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#8 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#5 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel

Property: Ascot House Hotel
Address: 7 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Torquay
#1 Family Hotel in Torquay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ascot House Hotel is an early Victorian villa(built in 1840) enthusiastically run by Bernard and Terri on a B&B basis. Ascot House Hotel is unique in that it offers 5 spacious Suites, each having its own lounge in addition to the bedroom and bathroom. Each Suite is also equipped with all the amenities expected by the modern traveller, and more - for example, a fridge in each lounge in which we provide fresh milk and filtered water. For those wanting a bit of luxury during their stay, two of the Suites have roll-top baths with separate showers. Whether you are travelling solo, as a couple, or en-famille, Ascot House Hotel offers the warmest of welcomes, a home-away-from feeling in stylish Suites, and a top-quality breakfast. Ascot House Hotel has private, off-road parking - a space for each Suite - and is most conveniently situated within a few minutes' walk the town centre, sea front, Princess Theatre, the marina, the Riviera Conference Centre and train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Ascot House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing