We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Day breakfast”
Review of Ascot House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ascot House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

The only hotel in Torquay out of over. 50 contacted that was prepared to provide breakfast on Christmas Day for a paramedic working away from home and his parents. The breakfast was delicious, from the fruit platter right through to the 'full English and the Cranberry and walnut loaf! They could not have been more welcoming and we will always be grateful for the opportunity to have a family meal on Christmas Day. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillywickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AscotHouseHotel, Manager at Ascot House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

It was a pleasure having you! and we're very happy to have been able to make it possible for you all to have some sort of Christmas meal together. We were just hoping your son had a quiet day! Wishing you all a very fulfilling 2013, Terri & Bernard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 616 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

We read all the reviews so knew it would be good, but we were still not expecting it to be as good as it was. We turned up at a moments notice and were welcomed in by our lovely host. The owner was brilliant in recommending places to eat and what to see whilst we were there. The breakfast was excellent, fresh fruit and warm brioche to start and a well appreciated cooked breakfast to follow. Would recommend to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theonewithtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Our stay at Ascot House was incredible. We stayed in the suite on the top floor with a view of the bay. Upon arrival, a cot had been put up for our 2 year old who loved the animal themed bedding!
Our bed was extremely comfortable, the en-suite bathroom very spacious and overall the room was in top condition with lots of character. Breakfast was perfect, with a variety of cereals, a fruit plate, croissants, as well as your choice of cooked breakfast. We could not recommend this enough - Terri & Bernard manage to strike the perfect balance between top quality hotel and feel-at-home environment.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wihan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here, and our dog Ruby was made most welcome. The hotel is really lovely with so many unique features. The room was really cosy and we loved the little extras like lovely fresh milk! We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast which was amazing! We will definitely be staying here again!!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

A wonderful place to stay. The hotel is full of small details. Elegant decoration, very comfortable and spacious bedrooms. Very charming, full of character and cozy. Great choice. Excellent hosts Terri and Bernard made us feel at home.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The building is beautiful and so are the rooms and the rest of the facilities. It is beautifully decorated. It is conveniently located (just a short walk from the sea front). Breakfast was simply delicious! And the best part is that the owners are really nice people and they make you feel as if you were at home.
Can't say anything bad about it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bego8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We really could not fault this B&B . Interior decoration is tasteful and stylish. The bedroom we stayed in had a quality feel about it and the bed was really comfortable. The sheets were very soft and the mattress was comfortable and not worn. The hotel has a high standard of cleanliness and nothing is too much trouble for the owner/s. We came to Torquay on Business and Terri was extremely helpful when it came to advising us about the local area and places of interest. Breakfast at The Ascot is of an exceptional standard- the sausages were of the better variety ( finest/butcher type) and we were also served a beautiful fruit platter on a heart plate dusted with icing sugar...immm. There is a feel of tranquility and peace around the house too. Maybe to do with the buddha statues. This has to be the best B&B we have ever visited. You will be hard pushed to beat this great value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#6 of 85 in Torquay
520 reviews
1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,115 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 85 in Torquay
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
609 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 85 in Torquay
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel

Address: 7 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Torquay
#1 Business Hotel in Torquay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#8 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $98 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ascot House Hotel is an early Victorian villa(built in 1840) enthusiastically run by Bernard and Terri on a B&B basis. Ascot House Hotel is unique in that it offers 5 spacious Suites, each having its own lounge in addition to the bedroom and bathroom. Each Suite is also equipped with all the amenities expected by the modern traveller, and more - for example, a fridge in each lounge in which we provide fresh milk and filtered water. For those wanting a bit of luxury during their stay, two of the Suites have roll-top baths with separate showers. Whether you are travelling solo, as a couple, or en-famille, Ascot House Hotel offers the warmest of welcomes, a home-away-from feeling in stylish Suites, and a top-quality breakfast. Ascot House Hotel has private, off-road parking - one space for each Suite - and is most conveniently situated within a few minutes' walk the town centre, sea front, Princess Theatre, the marina, the Riviera Conference Centre and train station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ascot House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing