We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hip place, well worth coming.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Papillon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Papillon
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Hip place, well worth coming.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Love talking with the owner, tho Id not come for the owner she really made my trip more delightful.. Clean and felt like home. Can't wait to come back! I've stayed in a lot of Hostels and this one has been the best yet:)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanesArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marga C, Owner at Le Papillon, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi JA I am glad that you had a good time and thanks for your great feedback I look forward to welcome you again best regards Marga
l
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    12
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
20
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

wish to thank the owner of the le papillon for helping my wife with her needs my wife is disabled and in wheelchair the owner went out of her way to help us, as for the our stay it was great clean rooms and she was there if we needed help so well done le papillon we will be coming back to stay in the near future good luck to you and thankyou form me and my wife

yours peter and leah mepstead stayed 24th aug 2013

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meppy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marga C, Owner at Le Papillon, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi Leah and Peter thank you for a lovely feedback I hope to see you again Until than all the best kind regards Marga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed at Le Papillon for 2 nights in July. Really nice and clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a huge car park out the front and a nice garden to enjoy the nice weather. A few annoying things, you have to pay for the showers (50p) also it is about a 20/25 minute from the town centre. It seems does not really have the atmosphere of a Backpackers as all the other guests seemed to be from the UK (along with me!). Good value for money though and would return again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Not just your basic hostel but a really clean, comfortable place to relax after visiting the nearby centre of Torquay. Having visited with a group of friends, we were to able to have a little party and enjoy ourselves on the terrace overlooking the garden and the friendly owner even came and chatted with us and offered useful advice on local entertainment.
A great find,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los bol
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

what a find a Fantastic secret of torquay ,As good as any hotel if not better stayed in july. excellent hostess. rooms spotless in fact all areas perfect .was made to feel like friend of the family .The gardens are perfect to relax in and a short distance from the centre so no disturbance from night life.The standards there could be used a benchmark for many ,nothing to much trouble many thanks will return

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandare1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there with 4 friends in the 5 bed room at the beginning of June (1 double bed, 1 single bed and a set of bunk beds). It was £19 a night each and we stayed for 2 nights. It was really good location - only 15 min walk to both the town and beach. Lots of parking on site too. Our room was very bright and nicely decorated. The owner was friendly and chatty too. However you do need to pay 50p per shower - for 8 mins of hot water. Not too bad but something to remember! And there isn't an oven in the kitchen! Only a type of cooker which would cook pizzas etc. Very cute dog there too but she is kept out of the way most of the time :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kh1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Room was clean and bed was also neat and comfortable. There were most of equipment needed in the kitchen. The service was good also. But the point that the sharing bathroom is too cold was uncomfortable.(I've stayed there in winter) However, this wouldn't be problem in summer season. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryalice1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Astor House Apartments
Astor House Apartments
#1 of 33 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.1 mi away
Trinity Mews
Trinity Mews
#5 of 33 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Marstan
The Marstan
#2 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Papillon

Property: Le Papillon
Address: 18 Vansittart Road | Devon TQ2 5BW, Torquay TQ2 5BW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Le Papillon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROOMS 4 TWO Le Papillon is a very popular accommodation ideally situated within walking distance to the town centre, beaches, harbour, clubs and pubs Le Papillon has a large car park and a big south facing garden with a terraced area for BBQ's ideal for al fresco eating The rooms are spacious and comfortable There are 3 large double and 1 twin bedroom as well as a 4-5 bed dorm/family room 3 of the double bed rooms have TV and all rooms are large enough to put up 2 more beds if the room is wanted as a family room The hostel has 3 shower rooms/wc and 2 separate cloakrooms There is a big well equipped kitchen and breakfast room ideal for self catering Prices start from £20.00 per person per night SUMMER CABINS These Wooden Cabins have been converted into cosy double bedrooms with washbasin, hot and cold water, power points, heating and a patio with table and chairs PLEASE NOTE The cabins are situated in a secluded part of the garden There is a cloakroom (toilet and washbasin) outside the cabins but showers have to be used in the main house The price is £ 17.50 per person per night Wifi is accessible from most areas and ID is necessary For advanced bookings there is a non-refundable deposit required Groups over 5 people should contact the manager first. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Le Papillon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Papillon Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing