We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another visit”
Review of Le Papillon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Papillon
Ranked #12 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2012

we returned to the Papillon but this time it was 4 couples
as it was end of September it was quiet but very coosy and comfortable
Marga was very nice again and we did some good cooking
we just love it there and I will visit there again when I am back again

Room Tip: phone the lady for booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexandro p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 89 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is the second time that I have used Le Papillon as part of a group and it has been great on both occasions. Marga is an excellent host, and will sort any issues that may arise. The beds are comfortable, and the rooms are very clean. We will definitely be staying again!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Me and my friend stayed at le papillon, it was more like staying at a friends house than staying at a hostel. Marga the owner was so lovely always complimenting us on our hair and clothes and made us feel very welcome. The rooms were nice and marga had a lovely dog. It was cute. The painting all over the house were interesting too. The cleaner was also very nice and friendly. GO MARGA!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethandstacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Positives: Bright, clean accomodation (on the whole), biscuits and juice in room.

Negatives: Uncomfortable bed, noise from other travellers, paying for the showers, kitchen was dirty

The location was o.k - a bit of a walk to the centre of town

Overall, not as good as I expected from other reviews on here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marga C, Owner at Le Papillon, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you for having taken the time to leave a feedback but unfortunately I can not recall you having stayed here So I just like to comment in general on just a couple of points that you have made 1st , and I assume that you did stay during the height of season , it is a normal and a good sign of travellers talking to each other and sometimes the conversations are louder than intended but it is very exciting to meet people from all different cultures and what a waste it would be not to talk and have fun together.
2nd As with people from different cultures using one kitchen you have to expect all types of different aromas , which is a fun part of a hostel culture .Nearly all of our guests respected the kitchen and cleaned up after their meal. Our kitchen was busy and used a lot , but never ever dirty.
Please get to know the difference !!
Sorry I could not make your stay more to your liking but you never made yourself known to me
Marga Collins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My parents and I stayed in this lovely hostel for 4 nights and it was perfect. The rooms were clean and colourfull. The commonrooms where welcoming and had paintings on every wall. A nice big garden and a clean kitchen for visitors to use.
The location were great to. Close to the promenade and town centre, but hidden away in backstreet, so there were no annoying disturbance from traffic or drunk tourists.
The hostess was charming and always glad to give a bit of advice if you needed it.

So all in all a place I would definately advice you to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxim86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Myself and five friends stayed at the hostel for two nights in August. We booked the hostel through Hostelworld but it has much more of a ‘Bed and breakfast’ feel. Lovely house with a large relaxing garden, and rooms are of a very good size. The host was very friendly and the rooms were great value. Good location not far from the centre of Torquay. Cannot recommend enough!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed at Le Papillon for 6 nights while ending our holiday in Torquay. We booked the dorm room through Hostelworld, but upon arrival we noticed it was nothing like a hostel at all. First of all the room was very bright, and most important 100% clean. As mentioned by other reviewers the showers have to be paid for (50p), but they were well taken care of during our stay.

We found the owner to be a very friendly woman, and was of great advice in regard to our days in Torquay. A nice bonus was the large garden at the back of the house, which could be used for BBQing or relaxing in general.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinH_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,182 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#53 of 149 in Torquay
287 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
2,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Papillon

Address: 18 Vansittart Road | Devon TQ2 5BW, Torquay TQ2 5BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Torquay
Price Range: $46 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Papillon 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROOMS 4 TWO Le Papillon is a very popular accommodation ideally situated within walking distance to the town centre, beaches, harbour, clubs and pubs Le Papillon has a large car park and a big south facing garden with a terraced area for BBQ's ideal for al fresco eating The rooms are spacious and comfortable There are 3 large double and 1 twin bedroom as well as a 4-5 bed dorm/family room 3 of the double bed rooms have TV and all rooms are large enough to put up 2 more beds if the room is wanted as a family room The hostel has 3 shower rooms/wc and 2 separate cloakrooms There is a big well equipped kitchen and breakfast room ideal for self catering Prices start from £20.00 per person per night SUMMER CABINS These Wooden Cabins have been converted into cosy double bedrooms with washbasin, hot and cold water, power points, heating and a patio with table and chairs PLEASE NOTE The cabins are situated in a secluded part of the garden There is a cloakroom (toilet and washbasin) outside the cabins but showers have to be used in the main house The price is £ 17.50 per person per night Wifi is accessible from most areas and ID is necessary For advanced bookings there is a non-refundable deposit required Groups over 5 people should contact the manager first. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Le Papillon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Papillon Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing