We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small hotel - what a gem !!”
Review of Coombe Court Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coombe Court Hotel
Ranked #76 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Chippenham, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent small hotel - what a gem !!”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I found this hotel on trip advisor and as the reviews were so favourable I called in on spec just for a one night stay. The welcome was fantastic, shown to the room, which was perfect for what I wanted. Julie offered tea whilst she went to get the booking forms, which we drank in the light airy conservatory. The evening meal was excellent too, plenty of vegetables and first class service, The breakfast was even better, what a wonderful experience.

I recommend this hotel to anyone without hestitation and I hope to use it again when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Basari57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
48
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

When we arrived, Julie immediately took us to the bright, spacious conservatory and welcomed us with a lovely pot of tea - which was certainly needed after our long journey. We discussed the location of various tourist attractions, Julie using her local knowledge to answer our questions, and within minutes felt like we were old friends. The location of this hotel is perfect. You can either stay local and view the many sights and attractions in and around Babbacombe or you can use the hotel as a base to go further afield - on one of the days, we had a trip to Polperro in Cornwall. The service at the hotel is second to none and both Bill and Julie will bend over backwards to make sure you have everything you want. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in South Devon.

Room Tip: Our room was number 9 and was perfect for us with a comfortable bed, and a huge modern shower room e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulineandMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Bill and Julie work very hard to provide a warm and sunny atmosphere. the decor is a little out of date now but spotlessly clean with all you need and very good breakfasts. Would be very happy to go back there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinderford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

This is the third time we have stayed at Coombe Court, Julie & Bill are perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are spacious and immaculate, as is the rest of the hotel. The food is very good, freshly cooked and plentiful. Looking foward to stay number 4. Graham & Sandra Bradley

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Stayed for one night last Saturday.

Lovely Hotel, great friendly welcome - shown into spacious, comfortable & spotless conservatory where we were served with freshly made tea & coffee before we were shown to our room.

Room was excellent with all the amenities you want - plenty of room, warm, spotless, big shower/bathroom, freshly laid out towels with complimentary shower gel etc.

Breakfast was what the doctor ordered - a good hearty freshly cooked full english which was needed!!

Excellet hotel which i would happily recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brummieboy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2010

We have stayed several times over the past few years at Coombe Court with Julie and Bill as the hosts/owners.
From our first visit we have felt relazed in the friendly atmosphere.
The breakfasts are large with a vast choice along with the evening dinner (which is optional) of traditional fare. Both are cooked and presented to a very high standard by Julie.
The rooms are nicely decorated along with the spotlessly clean en suites.
The dinning room and large conservatory/sun lounge looks over the beauitfully kept gardens, which is Bill's forte!
There is a small separate bar where there are a large selection of beers, wines and spirits.
We go back again and again........it re-charges are batterys!
Put the kettle on Julie we will be booking in for Easter 2010.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluebellBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

We have recently stayed for another short beak at this hotel. Although we only stayed for a couple of nights for bed and breakfast we were treated just like the other guests staying and paying for half board. We always book into this hotel when visiting Babbacombe because we know we are guaranteed a warm and friendly welcome, the rooms are clean and the food is excellent. When circumstances permit we will be returning for a weeks holiday with half board and enjoying the evening meals the spacious lounge, lovely views and very well tended garden. With bus routes and local shops within easy walking distance and Babbacombe theatre just across the road what more could you ask for. Thank you Julie and Bill

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaEnfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#39 of 87 in Torquay
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#40 of 149 in Torquay
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babbacombe Guest House
Babbacombe Guest House
#55 of 149 in Torquay
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Babbacombe Palms Guest House
0.1 mi away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#45 of 149 in Torquay
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cary Arms & Spa
Cary Arms & Spa
#16 of 149 in Torquay
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Court Hotel

Property: Coombe Court Hotel
Address: 67 Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Hotel Class:4 star — Coombe Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Coombe Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing