We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Restaurant”

Man Fridays Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 339 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

On a recent visit to Torquay my partner and myself had dinner at Man Fridays. The food was excellent and the staff were very good. The views over the marina gave a lovely atmosphere especially as the 'wheel' was still there and lit up at night. We were so impressed with the menu that we went back a second time. However on our second visit my partner forgot her reading glasses. Since we were leaving early the next day I phoned on returning to London and asked if they had been found. They had been and they mailed them straight away inside a spectacles case. I phoned to arrange payment but they refused as they said it was part of the service. Apparently they especially bought the case from Poundland. The downside is that this is not a cheap restaurant but if you are looking for that special night out this should be on your list.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RossJenkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    116
    52
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic seafood meal”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Myself and a friend ate here whilst at a conference in Torquay. We had struggled to get a table at other seafood places, but in the end were so pleased we came here. You feel like you are going up steps to nowhere, but the first floor dining room has a lovely atmoshere and great views over the harbour. Service was good and attentive. We had a platter selection and a sea bass dish- both excellent, and the portions were indeed huge. Vegetables and bread really good too. Not bad value for the quality, though we did not have wine which would have raised the bill considerably. Would recommend to any seafood lover and we would love to come back for a daytime meal to savour the view.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charnick0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb seafood.”
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

I had lobster thermidor and was highly pleased, the food was of top quality as was the service. A bit overpriced but worth it as a treat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thbarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant Restaurant!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Visited Man Fridays on the penultimate day of our holiday - and was absolutely gutted that we didn't go there before! The restaurant setting is very pleasant, the food is delicious and the service is excellent! We had the platter for 2, which seemed like it contained every fish/shellfish in the sea! The complementary bread is lovely (could have eaten it twice!), the wine is very reasonably priced and the 3 types of potatoes and various veg that accompany the mains is a nice touch. Unfortunately, we were too full to manage a pud, but the choices seemed plentiful and sounded lovely. Our waiter was great - attentive without being annoyingly fussy. If only we had gone at the beginning of our week away we could have eaten there twice! Man Fridays is at the top of my list on my next visit to Torquay!

Helpful?
2 Thank mylittlepixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous fish!!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I ate here a couple of weeks ago with visiting family. Food was FANTASTIC!! Particulalry the shellfish platter for 2 which was delicious and HUGE!! Just sitting here thinking, if only they did take out!! Could eat that again! Service was excellent. Lovely views. Good wine. Love the homemade bread to start. Desserts were fab - we had creme brulee with boozy fruits which was gorgeous. The cheeseboard was also very good with a great selection. Will be back asap!! Thanks very much.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SM090909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Man Fridays Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Man Fridays Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing