We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm friendly welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Whitburn Guest House
Ranked #113 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Truro, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A warm friendly welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed for two nights. The room was spacious and comfortable, there was a good selection at breakfast and it was tasty, and the service was very attentive. The B&B is in close proximity to the town centre, as long as you're ready for a lot of steps down the hillside! We would definitely recommend the Whitburn and will likely be returning ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    13
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This guest house was very welcoming and comfortable. Joe and Anne made us feel at home as soon as we arrived.

The beds were exceptionally comfortable and breakfast well cooked. In all, this was a very nice location and very good value for money.

Quite near to the activities in Torquay but up a hill. Would stay there again and pass on to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and was very impressed with the accommodation, location and service. The room was excellently presented and was quiet and peaceful. The hosts were happy to share local knowledge. It was very convenient for walking to town as it only took me 5 minutes to the main shops. My partner had to be up early every morning so they put out extra milk in the room and served him breakfast on the Sunday early. The breakfast is that good I didn't need to eat anything for lunch as I was still full! We would highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sowena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed for three nights at the Whitburn which is a very friendly and well run business. Joe and Ann made us feel very welcome and their local knowledge regarding attractions and places to go is first class. They could not have been more welcoming or more helpful!

The food is excellent (slightly limited choice but very tasty) and the rooms are basic but very clean and tidy.

You are close to various places of interest/activities e.g cinema, ten pin bowling, restaurants, amusements, the town centre, museum and a fantastic marina. And if you're not good with hills (like us!) there is a regular cheap bus service or taxi ride (it cost us £5.25 to get from the town centre back the to B&B, which was very reasonable of an evening), or even a lift in a nearby carpark which cuts out most of the incline for you!

We have been twice and will go back again!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 159simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

stayed there 3 nights with my 2 sons very friendly staff clean and tidy would recommend it to any one nice place within walking distance of town centre nice breakfast tv in every room tea and coffee and a choice of serials for breakfast or a full English breakfast whitch was very nice

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loegstoer, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

My family and I spend 1 week of our holiday in Torquay in july 2013. And we really enjoyed that week.
The guest house is really a nice place to stay. Very clean and cosy rooms, great breakfast, a bus stop right outside and last but not least the hosts. Anne and Joe are very pleasant, helpfull in any way always with a smile and a funny remark.
We really will recommend this guest house and area as a place worth visiting. There are som many things to see and places to go, and staying at Whitburn is worth a try.
Bente Jensen and family, Denmark.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bente J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great stay the hosts couldn't have been more brilliant, for the money this was fantastic, the furniture was very warming and the rooms were clean. Joe and Ann were very friendly and the breakfasts were delicious. The man in our family doesn't eat beans or tomato's but Joe put double everything on so he had more than plenty. It was quiet so you had a great nights sleep and a plus is there's a bus stop right outside!
If you want the Ritz you pay for it!
Brilliant Value, Brilliant Stay, Brilliant Hosts!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy_Damian_Shan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#30 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.1 mi away
Court Prior
Court Prior
#68 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astor House Apartments
Astor House Apartments
#1 of 33 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,593 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bahamas
The Bahamas
#105 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brooklands
Brooklands
#101 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitburn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitburn Guest House

Property: Whitburn Guest House
Address: St. Lukes Road North, Torquay TQ2 5PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitburn Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whitburn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitburn Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing