We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't wish for better”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Walnut Lodge

Walnut Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Walnut Lodge
Ranked #126 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Couldn't wish for better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

Booked to stay here for 2 nights. Read previous reviews that were all very postive. We were not disappointed. What a fabulous place. We had a lovely welcome from Linda and Neil and were made to feel right at home. Nothing was too much trouble. Room was perfect. Location just right with a really pleasant walk into the town centre. Breakfast was excellent, with several options. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others - you won't go far wrong here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodsWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
41
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

My wife and I have just returned from a lovely stay at this guest house. We booked it initially form the excellent reports from previous guests on booking.com. We were not disappointed. Lynda and Neil do everything in their power to make sure you have an enjoyable stay. The guest accommodation is immaculate and the breakfasts are superb. We visited a couple of superb restaurants including the Inn at Grosvenor and Steps Bistro which I would thoroughly recommend. Why did we wait so long to visit Torquay since our honeymoon 30 years ago. We would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel to one and all.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrySOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

Have to say i was delighted with our stay at walnut lodge we stayed 2 nights but driving home both wished we had booked the week . from the moment we walked through the door to the time we left the hospitality shown us and the other guests by both neil and linda was remarkable. Nothing seemed to be to much trouble , i can only say that we have decided that we will go back again sometime in the future . the room was well decorated and clean with nice little touches, breakfast was lovely and most of all the hospitality throughout our stay charming .

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jezzaMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2010

on arrival,after a long journey from nottingham by train we received a lovely welcome from neil. we were shown to our room, which was bright and spotlessly clean, i was very relieved. neil gave us information about the area which was very helpful. torquay in general we enjoyed, we visited some superb restaurants including the inn at grovenor, steps bistro, gemellis italian and the hole in the wall, all served fantastic food, not the cheapest restaurants, but great fresh food. after we had breakfast at the hotel we didn't need anything to eat until the evening. breakfast was very nice and eaten in a lovely dining room. both neil and linda are a lovely couple and did everything to make our stay enjoyable thank you

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamMinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

Just a quick note to say how suprised we were at how nice the Walnut Lodge is.
The whole place is spotless, well decorated and very comfortable. Breakfast was well presented and pleasantly served. The room we stopped in was quite small but fine for just one night.
We were warmly welcomed to Walnut Lodge and will recommend it without hesitation.

Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cooke1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2009

We have just returned from a 3 night mini break at The Walnut Lodge Hotel, Lynda and Neil are a lovely couple and we were made to feel most welcome. Our room was clean, tidy and well maintained with a comfortable bed and modern furnishings. Breakfast was excellent, generous portions, well cooked and beautifully presented. We would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel and will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann0040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pkjpholmes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2009

Superb bedroom, very relaxing. This is a lovely guest house more like a hotel. Very clean and good quality furnishings. Nice breakfast in a lovely room. Very hospitable owners, did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkjpholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,593 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bahamas
The Bahamas
#105 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brooklands
Brooklands
#101 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#33 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#38 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walnut Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walnut Lodge

Property: Walnut Lodge
Address: 48 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Walnut Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Walnut Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walnut Lodge Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing