We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place to stay”
Review of Walnut Lodge

Walnut Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Walnut Lodge
Ranked #125 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We had a fantastic stay in this B&B. The owners were lovely and very attentive. The hotel and rooms were lovely and clean. The little touches for example the biscuits and water, shower gel and handwash was a lovely touch. The hotel and surrounding area is very accessible and is situated in a very quiet area. Thoroughly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ildivo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
41
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Truly excellent B&B come small hotel offering excellent hospitality and quality touches that are found in larger 4* establishments. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was well thought out in the delightful guest rooms.

I usually like a room with a bath for a soak after a long journey but comparing Walnut Lodge with others in the area I opted for what looked like up to date quality furnishings rather than the tired alternatives. Very good move as it turned out as I really could not find fault and I am fussy. Superkingsize bed was comfortable, well equipped room and ensuite. Breakfast was well cooked with generous selection and very obliging staff.

My elderly mother was brought to meet me and I was so impressed by the proprietress's kindness when she settled mum into the lounge with a complimentary coffee whilst she waited for me to check out.

Book this little gem and you won't be disappointed. I will certainly visit again when I return to the area.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurlyCar0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this little gem of a B&B. A very comfortable, spotlessly clean room. Well equipped with a very good supply of tea and coffee facilities.
A friendly welcome, although we arrived early. We were offered tea or coffee on arrival and given our key straightaway. In easy walking distance to the sea front and harbour.

Would definitely recommend this place and would happily stay again on another trip to Torquay.

Room Tip: We were in room 6 at the back, a lovely room King size bed and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneHammpshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2012

The room was nicely furnished and extremely comfortable (particularly appreciated the little scissors supplied to snip open the packaging on tea-bags etc, a very thoughtful touch!), and was good value for money. Good breakfast, Manager helpful about accommodating an earlier time. Guesthouse located in a pleasant quiet street. Recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed at this B&B from May 5th to 7th over the Bank Holiday weekend. We arrived around an hour before check in opened however the owner was more than happy to show us to our room immediately.

The entrance, hallway and landing were all decorated beautifully with a grand yet modern look. The room itself had a large & incredibly comfortable bed. The furniture was large, dark wood which was very good quality and fitted in with the rest of the building. The tea & coffee facilities & large fridge were useful and not always included as standard elsewhere.The bathroom was spacious and with toiletries included it was a nice personal touch. In the room there was also a guide to local restaurants and takeaways which shows the effort the owners go to for you. We were also talked through a map or Torquay to show us local attractions and the easiest way to get to them.

The location of the hotel was close to perfect, it was around 10 minutes walk to the beach & main town centre however far enough out that there were not people or cars always going past.

The breakfast included had a large choice including full breakfast, fish, cereal and continental options. We tried all of the above and each were lovely and came out quickly.

The staff were fantastic throughout and we could not fault them in any way. From the moment we walked in we were addressed by name and whenever we saw anyone they always made conversation and seemed genuinely nice people. It adds so much more to the experience with personal touches and a friendly host that always wants to help.

We normally holiday abroad 4 or 5 times a year however after this trip we both want to return to Torquay & Walnut Lodge again. We could not fault the owners, room, breakfast or location in any way and can understand the consistent high ratings! My final word would be, try it, you might just like it - praise indeed from 2 of the fussiest people on the planet!

Room Tip: Any room you get is a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilyandMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Lovely little place, very clean and the welcome from the owner was exceptional. Breakfast was fantastic with more than enough coffee etc. More than enough coffee, tea, hot chocolate etc in the rooms which were topped up daily nothing is too much bother. Can not fault this lodge and would highly recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minnimoomoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I would highly recommend the Walnut Lodge to anyone visiting Torquay. We stayed in Room4 which is the room overlooking the road but i have to say there was not a bit of noise and we had undisturbed sleep every night. Tao was a very welcoming host and has kept the B&B absolutely spotless. Everything in the room and elsewhere was clean as a whistle. Bed was very comfy and it convinced my wife that we need a hard mattress!!
There was a good choice at breakfast and it was all prepared and cooked fresh. Although the town was only a 5 minute walk away we drove, in case we went on anywhere else. Only 2 criticisms of the B&B 1. The car park was very small and tight so i parked out on the road and 2. This is only a personal preferance i prefer a bath and not a shower but that's not the fault of the B&B, like i said thats my personal preferance.
Overall i would highly recommend staying there and would definitely go back again

Room Tip: All rooms as far as i can gather are good but maybe top floor rooms are better because they're n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leccy240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,754 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brooklands
Brooklands
#107 of 149 in Torquay
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#31 of 87 in Torquay
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walnut Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walnut Lodge

Property: Walnut Lodge
Address: 48 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Walnut Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Walnut Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walnut Lodge Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing