We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay after wedding weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wellsway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Wellsway
Ranked #22 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One night stay after wedding weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

As a newly wed couple, my wife and I were spending a couple of days travelling around South Devon, when we needed a room for the night after a day on Dartmoor. We decided to drive to the coast and arrived in Torquay late afternoon, where we drove around several times looking for a nice B&B/Hotel with vacancies. We came across the Wellsway, and instantly liked its first impression. We definately made the right choice to stay here. Spotlessly clean, beautiful modern decor, and one of the best cooked breakfast I have had. This place is highly recommended. Nick and Pat are obviously very passionate at what they do. Keep up the great work and thank you for a great stay. We have already booked another night here in July. See you then.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whiskeywalker, Owner at The Wellsway, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us after your wedding and were able to have a relaxing break. Please come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
143
17
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minehead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

I phoned this hotel in the afternoon of my stay. They were very accommodating, and was I pleased. A well appointed and modern room and en-suite. The service was second to none and the food was the best on my journey. Thanks Nick & Pat, a very delightful stay and value for money. I'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whiskeywalker, Owner at The Wellsway, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you very much for you kind words, we hope that you had some good days at the end to your marathon walk and did not have to many blisters to show for it. We hope that you have managed to raise a good amount of money for these Great Charities SARCOMA UK and the CMTuk (CHACOT-MARIE-TOOTH Disease).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Owners were friendly and helpful. Room was very clean and thoughtfully decorated with quality fittings and fixtures. Location is close, without being on top of the town, an easy 5 minute walk to the seafront.
Breakfast was of a high quality and little touches like havering a variety of different juices (not just OJ).
Good value for money when compared to others in the area. We would happily go again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pjb1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hambleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

My wife and I are very particular when it comes to hotels and having found the Wellsway online we weren't sure as to what we had let ourselves in for. However, as soon as we went through the front door we realised that we had come up trumps. The place was spotlessly clean, well laid out and tastefully furnished. Nothing was too much trouble for the couple who own and run the place from carting our luggage upstairs to making sure that we had everything we needed. Our room had all the usual facilities and during our ten day stay the room was cleaned daily, bed made and clean linen provided. Breakfast was a treat, plenty of choice, good quality food well cooked and well presented. I do not normally write a review about where we have stayed but I felt strongly about this one. I heartily recommend the hotel and the owners, Nick and Pat, for whom nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: During our stay we saw most of the rooms and all were of the same high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whiskeywalker, Owner at The Wellsway, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your kind words it was a pleasure to meet you and are very pleased that you had a great stay with us, Again thank you for taking the time to write your comments for us and we hope that you will come back and see us again.
Regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is the best hotel we have stayed in, extremely comfortable, spotlessly clean and very modern rooms. The food is excellent and the owners are very helpful and welcoming. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. It is also excellent value for the money paid.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whiskeywalker, Owner at The Wellsway, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words, we always try to maintain our Cleanliness and Comfort to the highest standards. Again thank you for taking the time to write your comments for us and we hope that you will come back and see us again.
Regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

A perfectly clean room with good space and all the facility's you need, also a great shower with lot's of space! The staff are friendly and the breakfast is great quality. I have stayed at many B&B's and I am normally able to recommend so kind of improvement however my staff was faultless! I recommend and would happily return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kandas16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whiskeywalker, Owner at The Wellsway, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your kind comments, we sincerely hope that you will make it back to torquay and see us again before long. Many Thanks Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

The Wellsway is excellent, superb rooms couldn't fault any aspect of our stay. Superior double room was spacious and very good sizes ensuite bathroom. Very helpful in every respect, excellent breakfast and very good selection on offer. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Littleworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whiskeywalker, Owner at The Wellsway, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciate that you have taken the time to pass on your comments; we do hope that you will be able to come back and see us again soon. Many Thanks Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#6 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.0 mi away
Linden House
Linden House
#20 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shirley Hotel
Shirley Hotel
#14 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#19 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#24 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount Edgcombe
Mount Edgcombe
#10 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellsway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellsway

Property: The Wellsway
Address: 56 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wellsway 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wellsway is a small family-run Guest House where we do our utmost to ensure that your stay will be both enjoyable and comfortable within a friendly and relaxing atmosphere. The Wellsway enjoys a Visit Britain 4 Star Guest Accommodation,Silver Award. Conveniently located in a quiet, tree lined avenue, with off road parking, you will only have a short stroll to the Sea Front, the town and harbour is within easy walking distance. Only 200m from the Riviera Conference Centre, Torre Abbey and Gardens. Torquay has a very cosmopolitan feel with a range of boutiques, wine bars, bistros and restaurants to choose from. The neighbouring town of Paignton has its own Cinema, Zoo and Waterpark. You can also enjoy the gardens of Oldway Mansion which are worth a visit. The dining room has a sunny aspect. Our guests can choose from a light buffet or a full English breakfast. Evening Meals are also available. The rooms at the Wellsway are maintained to a high standard with an equally high level of cleanliness. The lounge has comfortable seating where you can relax with a magazine or book or catch up on your favourite television show. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Travelocity so you can book your The Wellsway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellsway Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing