We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant.”
Review of The Wellsway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wellsway
Ranked #55 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I have visited this b+b many times with my grandparents, couldn't fault it at all. Brilliant service - you can get that extra touch from a family run business. Haven't stayed recently but wanted to leave a review. Brilliant would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coby-Lee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whiskeywalker, Owner at The Wellsway, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for your lovely coments Coby, dont wait to long before you return its always great to see you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
There are newer reviews for The Wellsway
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 229 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at wellsway. The owners where very friendly and helpful. It was good value and the breakfast was lovely, fresh ingredients and very tasty. We had a lovely time and would highly recommend, we will see you again soon. Thanks, tony & amy

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whiskeywalker, Owner at The Wellsway, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Tony & Amy We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you very much for taking the time to write your lovely review and comments, Please don't leave it too long before you come and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We booked here for a little weekend getaway. We couldn't have been happier with the room, facilities and service. The hotel is a small family run business and we found Pat and Nick to be exceptionally welcoming and helpful.

The rooms are very well equipped with good coffee making facilities, new bathroom furnishings and very comfy beds . We stayed in a deluxe double (£50 per night) and found the room to be very spacious.

The breakfast was delicious with a wide choice on the menu and lots of fresh juices and cereals to choose from.

Based on the facilities and quality of the service I would expect to pay more for a stay here. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaM1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whiskeywalker, Owner at The Wellsway, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and as always we try to ensure that all of our guests will want to return to us again.

Once again thank you and we shall look forward to seeing you in the not to distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This small family run hotel is just gorgeous, the reason we first stayed here is the building looked so clean, looked after and welcoming from the road. It was an ad hoc adventure and we could not have been more delighted with our choice...so delighted in fact we stayed there the weekend after as well! There was ample parking and the owners could not be more welcoming, natural and engaging. Thoughtful attention to detail in the rooms and the beds are super comfy. A lovely breakfast with amazing bacon and the best free range eggs. Noise travels in this hotel unfortunately,but that is the only and very small negative. Some updating of the rooms is happening in the new year which can only improve on what is already great (except some of the wallpaper does date the hotel). This hotel is reasonably priced and well located, I love this hotel and its owners and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trishfish8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Just had a 2 night break at the Wellsway, Torquay and have to say what a wonderful B&B! We had such a warm welcome off Nick and Pat (and Charlie!), the room was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Lots of little touches ensured a comfortable stay, the room was warm and very cosy so we had a very good night's sleep! The food was also excellent - we will definitely stay there again on our next visit to Torquay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bevelzebub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I am very happy to reccommend the Wellsway B&B, the rooms and interior of the building is beautifully decorated to a high standard. We stayed in a double room with ensuite, it was warm and cozy, quiet and very clean. We had a comfortable bed, lots of pillows, and an extra blanket, which we didn't need.

Breakfast was excellent, top-ups of tea, coffee and toast on request and plenty of choice; full english, continental breakfast, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs etc, and very good quality ingredients (bacon, sausage and salmon).

We were made to feel very welcome, and I would be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HonorC110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just had a stay at the wellsway and have to say this is a 1st class b&b, the owners , pat and nick make you feel right at home and go that extra bit to make your stay hassle free , pat gave plenty of advice about the area and thanks for the bottle and birthday card pat , very much appreciated that.
The rooms are super clean and very modern , its a lovely place to stay and we will go back again .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Berburry
The Berburry
#30 of 149 in Torquay
131 reviews
1.4 mi away
Babbacombe Palms Guest House
0.1 mi away
Buckingham Lodge
Buckingham Lodge
#53 of 149 in Torquay
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Silverlands Guest House
Silverlands Guest House
#34 of 149 in Torquay
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#4 of 149 in Torquay
379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avenue Park Guest House
Avenue Park Guest House
#33 of 149 in Torquay
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellsway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellsway

Address: 56 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $75 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wellsway 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wellsway is a small family-run Guest House where we do our utmost to ensure that your stay will be both enjoyable and comfortable within a friendly and relaxing atmosphere. The Wellsway enjoys a Visit Britain 4 Star Guest Accommodation,Silver Award. Conveniently located in a quiet, tree lined avenue, with off road parking, you will only have a short stroll to the Sea Front, the town and harbour is within easy walking distance. Only 200m from the Riviera Conference Centre, Torre Abbey and Gardens. Torquay has a very cosmopolitan feel with a range of boutiques, wine bars, bistros and restaurants to choose from. The neighbouring town of Paignton has its own Cinema, Zoo and Waterpark. You can also enjoy the gardens of Oldway Mansion which are worth a visit. The dining room has a sunny aspect. Our guests can choose from a light buffet or a full English breakfast. Evening Meals are also available. The rooms at the Wellsway are maintained to a high standard with an equally high level of cleanliness. The lounge has comfortable seating where you can relax with a magazine or book or catch up on your favourite television show. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Book Direct Rooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Wellsway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellsway Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing