We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Family Run Hotel”
Review of The Wellsway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wellsway
Ranked #39 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Family Run Hotel”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Only spent a single night here. The room was very clean and had everything that you could possibly need. Had a nice family run atmosphere. The full English breakfast was very good, quality food. Large range of juices and other breakfast items were also available . Would stay again if visiting this part of the country

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank milja001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
145
17
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shanklin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I travelled to Torquay for the annual Agatha Christie Festival and primarily was looking for price. From the moment I arrived at The Wellsway, I was looked after and my every need was catered for. The couple that run it are lovely and clearly want to make your stay a happy one. My room was spotless, it was well decorated and had a very contemporary design. There was all the usual tea and coffee making facilities but I was also provided with bottled water, squash sachets and delicious biscuits as well. My bed was extremely comfortable and it was nice to look forward to returning too after a busy day out and about. The hotel is near to a bus stop and the sea front is reasonably near. Also Torre Abbey a favourite of mine is 5 minutes walk. The breakfasts were delicious and anything you asked for was provided. This couple certainly know how to make their guests happy and extra little touches like, bowls of mints and fruit around make a big difference. I would certainly recommend this hotel to my friends and family and have actually already booked for next years festival. Thank you for my great stay.

Room Tip: Anywhere you are given will be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londongirl50423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay very friendly and welcoming will definitely stay again. Food was to a high standard with plenty of choice on the menu. Situated in a great location within easy reach to beach and attractions.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sour1em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights with my partner, they couldn't of been more welcoming. Room was very modern and immaculately clean, we were given advice on where to visit and eat, and Pat accommodated to my lactose intolerance at breakfast. Only a 10 minute walk into the town, perfect place to stay for exploring the area

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Lovely few days staying here. This was our second visit after we found this place quite by accident a couple of months ago. Last time we stayed one night because we had booked elsewhere but last minute wanted to have an additional night.
Pat and whiskey are so very welcoming and helpful - the breakfast is amazing and the minute you walk in you are made to fee at home.
Definitely worth a visit and a return trip!

Thanks for the lovely few days!

Ben and Pat

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Me and my partner are all about hotel breaks on the back of reviews so we thought we should leave one. One word excellent.
Nothing else can compare. We are very into clean and hygiene and the hotel was spotless. Room very clean and tidy and the bathroom was that clean it looked like it had just been fitted. The owners were a pleasure and took the time to get to know you, even helped us out with directions to town, leaflets and all sorts and that was before we checked in. They have a slogan in the breakfast room Welcome, come as guest and leave as friends. We would recommend this place to everyone visiting Torquay.

Room Tip: The rooms are worth the money so spend the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Spotlessly clean and comfortable.Lovely decor and lots of thought has gone into making everyones stay pleasurable.Plenty of food at breakfast.and an choice of menu.Our bed was very big which suited us as we're both tall..would certainly use again..highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank goatie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#5 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#25 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Linden House
Linden House
#19 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#7 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#16 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#3 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellsway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellsway

Property: The Wellsway
Address: 56 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wellsway 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wellsway is a small family-run Guest House where we do our utmost to ensure that your stay will be both enjoyable and comfortable within a friendly and relaxing atmosphere. The Wellsway enjoys a Visit Britain 4 Star Guest Accommodation,Silver Award. Conveniently located in a quiet, tree lined avenue, with off road parking, you will only have a short stroll to the Sea Front, the town and harbour is within easy walking distance. Only 200m from the Riviera Conference Centre, Torre Abbey and Gardens. Torquay has a very cosmopolitan feel with a range of boutiques, wine bars, bistros and restaurants to choose from. The neighbouring town of Paignton has its own Cinema, Zoo and Waterpark. You can also enjoy the gardens of Oldway Mansion which are worth a visit. The dining room has a sunny aspect. Our guests can choose from a light buffet or a full English breakfast. Evening Meals are also available. The rooms at the Wellsway are maintained to a high standard with an equally high level of cleanliness. The lounge has comfortable seating where you can relax with a magazine or book or catch up on your favourite television show. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Wellsway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellsway Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing