We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Torquay is tops at Stover Lodge”
Review of Stover Lodge Hotel

Stover Lodge Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stover Lodge Hotel
Ranked #39 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Torquay is tops at Stover Lodge”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Enjoyed wonderful breakfasts and the friendliness of the owners David & Alison. Both were keen to make guests comfortable and nothing was too much trouble. Flexibility admired and appreciated. My room was lovely, clean and comfy with a good TV and I had the impression that everything is maintained to a high standard. Effective double glazing ensured a good night's sleep and the garden is lovely. Although there is a bit of a walk to the beach there is a good bus service. I'll be back...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weegiegirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    17
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
109
13
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Really lovely stay here. Hosts David & Alison were very friendly and helpful in providing everything we needed and they knew lots of the places around so made great suggestions about where we could go even when it rained on Sunday.

Room was comfy, clean and bright with a view over the lovely garden, nice biscuits and hot chocolate! The en-suite was sparkling. They actually apologised they had given us their smallest double room but if they hadn't said we wouldn't have noticed as it was absolutely fine with plenty of storage.

And the breakfast . . . absolutely delicious and lots of it - really set us up for the day.

Thank you David & Alison - we'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4x4Overlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Had a great time in Torquay, we found the hosts to be extremely nice people, the rooms arn't massive but unless you go on holiday to spend all day inside you don't need a dance floor there. Everything was clean and tidy, if you needed anything it was just a question away. The only thing that could have made the place any better would be a closer proximity to the seafront in my opinion.
Breakfast was fantastic and I enjoyed my stay. If I return to Torquay I shall be going back to Stover Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Believe in calling a spade a spade so there will be no cotton wool. Arrived at 2-20pm and whilst the welcome was slightly jovial ,bit of confusion with the printing off of registration card and towels not been put in bedroom etc. Having booked a "Superior" double en suite I was a little surprised to be shown into a little 14' x 8' (approx) dark back of the house room with a view of a small patch of grass and hedge on the first day, and lines of washing on the second. If this was a Superior room, I would hate to see a normal room. We noticed that the valance was rather grubby, but , as we would not be in contact with it, grin and bear it. The next little surprise was that one of the bedside tables was all sticky, so cleaned it up with wipes we had brought with us and whilst two of us were booked in, there was only one chair. The en suite was clean and functional apart from the rather strange soap dispensers which either issued either next to nothing, or putting more effort resulted in a thin stream that shot two feet into the room. There is no bar or lounge so it is out or bedroom. In the morning, the breakfast room is very claustrophobic or sardine like and the full English apart from being pretty greasy had bacon which had lots of that horrible white stuff on it and the sausage was totally tasteless. The toast on first day was all white, but on hearing what the wife said to me about it, mine host did say he would do some brown. The matter was resovled by the second morning.
Our personal view is that for the price (£128 for two x 2 nights) we could nor have done worse than go a couple of doors down where they were charging £20 per night = £80 which would have been a saving of £48 but hey ho you pays your money and you takes your chances. Just wish more people would give honest appraisals on here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GrahamH1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

We had a very Good welcome. It was a clean functional room and great breakfast. We would strongly recommend for a stay in Torquay. The room had ensuite shower etc and the television was good. It is a very friendly bed and breakfast in a convent location. We would definitely visit againwhen we are in the Devon area.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Very hard to find any fault with this place, immaculately clean, breakfast was fantastic, kept us full up till tea-time and with our kids that is quite an achievement. If you are looking for a great value break or holiday in the English Riviera then look no further than the Stover Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madpie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

excellent value for money breakfast is faultless as well as full english you also have a good choice of cereal,fruit juices,grapefuit nothing is to much trouble .Our room was lovely so comfotable and exeptionally clean.We parked our car on the day we arrived and made use
of the excellent bus service that is just outside the hotel and sat back and enjoyed the scenery.
.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#31 of 87 in Torquay
574 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silverlands Guest House
Silverlands Guest House
#33 of 149 in Torquay
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#26 of 149 in Torquay
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#22 of 149 in Torquay
232 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bahamas
The Bahamas
#101 of 149 in Torquay
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bentley Lodge
Bentley Lodge
#7 of 149 in Torquay
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stover Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stover Lodge Hotel

Property: Stover Lodge Hotel
Address: 29 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stover Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stover Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stover Lodge Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing