We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we loved it and would go back.”
Review of Stover Lodge Hotel

Stover Lodge Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stover Lodge Hotel
Ranked #49 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2011

friendly reception on arrival, room well decorated and spotlessly clean. breakfast very good, hosts could not be more accomodating. location 10-15 minute walk to harbour area. would definitely consider going back to this hotel.

Room Tip: we had room no 8. view of main road, road busy,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brandon03ilford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 205 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2011

This was our first visit to Stover Lodge B&B. After reading fantastic reviews we decided to book ourselves. The owners David and Alison were very friendly and helpful, nothing was to much trouble. The breakfast was fantastic. We would highly recommend to friends and family, and would not hesitate to stay here again ourselves. Thankyou David and Alison for making our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williamwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

we have just returned from our second stay at STOVER LODGE and once again the welcome, the room and the food was excellent. the rooms are bright and airy and spotlessly clean.we parked our car on arrival and did not use it for the rest of our stay.the excellent bus service stops yards away from the door and runs until late at night, the TORR train station is about 200 yards away.we are looking forward to our next stay.
NORA AND MIKE SMITH,REDDITCH WORCESTER.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Booked Stover Lodge as an overflow for those colleagues who couldn't be accommodated at nearby conference centre and decided to stay there myself. David and Alison could not have been more helpful and accommodating, in particular putting up with various changes in numbers of rooms required. Rooms and breakfast were excellent. David and Alison friendly and welcoming hosts. Have only heard positive comments from my colleagues who stayed at the Stover Lodge and none were disappointed that they had had to stay off site from the conference centre - indeed some said they felt they had had the better deal! No hesitation in recommending the Stover Lodge,

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExeterCristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

B&Bs can be hit and miss in my experience, Stover Lodge is definitely a hit. The owners are polite and lovely people who go out of their way to help you, even staying up quite late when I was due to arrive.

The rooms are very reasonable and beds are comfy. The water flow on the top floor showers can be a bit pedestrian, but certainly not worth complaining about. Hell, if all you can fault the room on is a slow water flow through the shower, its a sign that the room is pretty good!

Breakfast can be hot or cold and they are certainly very accommodating when it comes to what you want. Watch out for the Full English though - lovely, but all to easy to have every day!

Also, decent WiFi too :)

Both trips have been business so far, but I intend to take my wife down to Torquay soon and we'll be staying at Stover Lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

I stayed at Stover Lodge for 4 Days, the Comfort and Cleanliness would equal any 4 star Hotel.
The proprietors David and Alison are always on hand to assist and advise about the area, and the Lodge is located so near to the Town Centre that you are within walking distance of the Harbour Areas and places of interest.

Breakfast was very good and the Lodge is so clean and bright. One other point is that it is very quite at night time so anyone with a young family will have restful evenings.

Also has excellent Wi Fi inhouse.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmbusinessman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Its difficult to find a good hotel from reviews, when there are so many to choose from in the area but I found this hotel to be :- Clean, with a well furnished bedroom, friendly service & good value. If I come to Torquay again I will try & stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike_the_plumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Silverlands Guest House
Silverlands Guest House
#33 of 150 in Torquay
192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#25 of 150 in Torquay
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#15 of 150 in Torquay
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parks Guest Accommodation
0.3 mi away
The Glenwood
The Glenwood
#84 of 150 in Torquay
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#7 of 150 in Torquay
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stover Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stover Lodge Hotel

Address: 29 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $77 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stover Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stover Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stover Lodge Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing