We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First trip to Torquay”
Review of Stover Lodge Hotel

Stover Lodge Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stover Lodge Hotel
Ranked #41 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“First trip to Torquay”
Reviewed June 2, 2011

This was our first visit to Stover Lodge B&B. After reading fantastic reviews we decided to book ourselves. The owners David and Alison were very friendly and helpful, nothing was to much trouble. The breakfast was fantastic. We would highly recommend to friends and family, and would not hesitate to stay here again ourselves. Thankyou David and Alison for making our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williamwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
101
13
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

we have just returned from our second stay at STOVER LODGE and once again the welcome, the room and the food was excellent. the rooms are bright and airy and spotlessly clean.we parked our car on arrival and did not use it for the rest of our stay.the excellent bus service stops yards away from the door and runs until late at night, the TORR train station is about 200 yards away.we are looking forward to our next stay.
NORA AND MIKE SMITH,REDDITCH WORCESTER.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Booked Stover Lodge as an overflow for those colleagues who couldn't be accommodated at nearby conference centre and decided to stay there myself. David and Alison could not have been more helpful and accommodating, in particular putting up with various changes in numbers of rooms required. Rooms and breakfast were excellent. David and Alison friendly and welcoming hosts. Have only heard positive comments from my colleagues who stayed at the Stover Lodge and none were disappointed that they had had to stay off site from the conference centre - indeed some said they felt they had had the better deal! No hesitation in recommending the Stover Lodge,

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExeterCristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

B&Bs can be hit and miss in my experience, Stover Lodge is definitely a hit. The owners are polite and lovely people who go out of their way to help you, even staying up quite late when I was due to arrive.

The rooms are very reasonable and beds are comfy. The water flow on the top floor showers can be a bit pedestrian, but certainly not worth complaining about. Hell, if all you can fault the room on is a slow water flow through the shower, its a sign that the room is pretty good!

Breakfast can be hot or cold and they are certainly very accommodating when it comes to what you want. Watch out for the Full English though - lovely, but all to easy to have every day!

Also, decent WiFi too :)

Both trips have been business so far, but I intend to take my wife down to Torquay soon and we'll be staying at Stover Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2011

I stayed at Stover Lodge for 4 Days, the Comfort and Cleanliness would equal any 4 star Hotel.
The proprietors David and Alison are always on hand to assist and advise about the area, and the Lodge is located so near to the Town Centre that you are within walking distance of the Harbour Areas and places of interest.

Breakfast was very good and the Lodge is so clean and bright. One other point is that it is very quite at night time so anyone with a young family will have restful evenings.

Also has excellent Wi Fi inhouse.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmbusinessman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Its difficult to find a good hotel from reviews, when there are so many to choose from in the area but I found this hotel to be :- Clean, with a well furnished bedroom, friendly service & good value. If I come to Torquay again I will try & stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_the_plumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We were lucky enough to find this B&B by chance some six/seven years ago, and have been coming back once/twice a year ever since - both to explore the region and visit family. Alison and David take a pride in their establishment and have continually improved the facilities - which are now excellent and guests want for nothing. They are friendly, welcoming hosts and provide an excellent choice of breakfast. The location is well placed for a gentle stroll down to Torquay centre or as a base for motorists to explore the Devon coast and countryside. Another bonus is the short walk to Tor station, if you wish to "let the train take the strain" for your excursions. We never tire of coming here ...!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ade56_michele59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#26 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silverlands Guest House
Silverlands Guest House
#34 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#5 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#28 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harmony Guest House
Harmony Guest House
#27 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abingdon House
Abingdon House
#37 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stover Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stover Lodge Hotel

Property: Stover Lodge Hotel
Address: 29 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stover Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Stover Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stover Lodge Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing