We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gainsboro Guest House
Ranked #92 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Our family stayed at the gainsborough guest house for two weeks last summer we enjoyed it that much we have booked again for this year . sue and stuart are really friendly hosts nothing is too much trouble .The guest house is spotless and just a short walk to the beach and all amenites ,we loved our stay and would reccomend it to anyone x

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsboro, Owner at Gainsboro Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review Carol, we look forward to seeing you all again in August!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 136 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

Close to the train station and the Grand Hotel (should you want an expensive bar and restaurant and a view) but far from the harbour, the Gainsboro is pleasant, freshly painted, extremely clean, and genteel. Sue is helpful and friendly and provides a creditable breakfast--to order, if you wish. We slept well in good beds; the house was full, I think, but we didn't hear a peep from the other guests. There are ground floor rooms; we were upstairs, which is hard for us, but the stairs are not especially narrow or steep. The room was pretty and the shower was nice. I recommend it, even with the stairs and difficulty of getting to "Torquay Central."

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoolandCloudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is possibly one of the best guest houses in the English Riviera. Accommodation is clean & comfortable, rooms modern & airy & the breakfast is out of this world.. The hotel is near to all amenities & is within a couple of minutes walk to the beach .Sue & Stuart. do their utmost to make your stay an enjoyable one I have already booked again for next year & a November break

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g7vhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

A warm welcome with a cup of tea. The room, the Guest house, the service was all immaculate. Close to the Sea, yet a small distance not to be concerned by sea front traffic. A lovely room in size, facilities and décor. We have enjoyed our stay in Torquay. The Gainsboro is a great base to find out more of Torbay. A great week, many thanks to Sue and Stuart. A return to Torquay would be at the Gainsboro

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMC00per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is the first time for my DD to stay at a B&B and it was a very enjoyable experience. We don't have a lot of B&B in Canada (or where we have been) but Sue and Stuart were very friendly. The place was very clean. The breakfast was so good, great way to start the day. We arrived by train at the Torquay station and it was just up the street it was great. If we are every back in Torquay we would stay here again. Wa

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluesky11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Had a lovely 5 night break in Torquay at The Gainsboro ! We were able to take the family room for an extra night at very short notice which was a real bonus. Close to the sea was exactly what we needed. The food was excellent, accommodation comfortable and Sue & Stuart are very friendly & helpful.
Would return there & no hesitation recommending it to others !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeireland007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as a last minute decision. The quality of service, food & cleanliness was outstanding. We are a family of 4 & the room was very spacious with a second bedroom with 2 single beds, kids loved it.
I highly recommend anybody to stay here, also the breakfast is out of this world, freshly cooked
With a menu to choose from if you don't feel like the full English ( you wound be mad not too ) lol
Think you very much
Sue & Stuart

We will most definateley return again when back in the area

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baconfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,082 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#31 of 85 in Torquay
614 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#57 of 149 in Torquay
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 85 in Torquay
2,498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glenorleigh
Glenorleigh
#54 of 149 in Torquay
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#27 of 85 in Torquay
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gainsboro Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainsboro Guest House

Address: 22 Rathmore Road, Torquay TQ2 6NY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $78 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gainsboro Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast accomodation in Torquay in a lovely, quiet and green location yet close to the beach and all facilities on the English Riviera. Gainsboro has been inspected by Quality in Tourism and is 'English Riviera Approved' for your peace of mind.Our traditional Victorian home offers relaxed and friendly B&B with hearty, and healthy, breakfasts. We have free Wi-Fi available for guest use.If you are travelling by car there is free parking available for guests or the railway station is only a 5 minute walk away if you are using the train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gainsboro Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainsboro Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing