We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, friendly & excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gainsboro Guest House
Ranked #91 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as a last minute decision. The quality of service, food & cleanliness was outstanding. We are a family of 4 & the room was very spacious with a second bedroom with 2 single beds, kids loved it.
I highly recommend anybody to stay here, also the breakfast is out of this world, freshly cooked
With a menu to choose from if you don't feel like the full English ( you wound be mad not too ) lol
Think you very much
Sue & Stuart

We will most definateley return again when back in the area

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baconfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 136 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

Had a very enjoyable 4 night stay at this Guest House. Sue & Stuart were very welcoming & nothing was too much trouble for them. Very comfortable room & excellent breakfast. Great value for money. Would recommend the Gainsboro as a good base to explore the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just back from a very pleasant four night break at the Gainsboro. Sue and Stuart are an excellent team and provide a comfortable base, delicious breakfasts (lots of choice) and are very helpful with advice on the local area. I would happily return for another stay and have no hesitation in recommending this b & b to others.

Room Tip: Ground floor twin room was very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 32ChrisA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

A lovely b&b, well kept, perfect breakfast. lovely newly decorated room and new bathroom. Stuart and Sue were the perfect hosts, great with local knowledge and suggestions and handy tips about the area. definitely will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

stopped here for the bank holiday,what a lovely property it feels homely on your first step up to the front door.we did;nt book this until friday ,on arrival sue welcomed us with a nice cup of tea in a nicely decorated sitting room. this was very much needed after our journey we were a little early but we were still invited in like a regular customer,uor room was on the ground floor we had the last room it was a twin ,but an o so comfortable bed ,i,d sleep seperately every time we used an hotel if the bed was as comfy as this[sorry my darling hubby]it was very clean and nicely furnished.the brekky was great we had a full english on the first day on monday i had the special,scrambled egg on toasted muffin with bacon they also do fresh fruit salad ,cereal ,juice and all the other brekky things,it was all beautiful and cooked by stuart,the best value for money and excellent with it.and they listened to me feel sorry for myself ,thanx again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marina j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsboro, Owner at Gainsboro Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Marina, thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and that the break was able to take your mind off things for a while. It was lovely meeting you both and we hope to see you again in the future. Sending you our very best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have just spent the weekend at the lovely Gainsboro. Sue & Stuart are the perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them! Sue has an extensive knowledge of the local area and she is able to advise guests on things to do.
Some of the rooms had been decorated since our last stay and the place is very well kept and immaculately clean
We will DEFNITELY return!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanandleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The rooms were lovely and clean and well equipped, We came up Friday 26th April 2013 and left Sunday 28th April 2013. The couple who run the hotel were beyond friendly and were really accommodating with the needs of the us and one of the other couples who were in Torquay for the Lions 105MD convention. They agreed to serve breakfast early for us and had it ready for us bang on, which was also amazing!!!

Not to mention the beds were super comfy!!!

It is close to the Riviera Center so we were able to walk back and forth, which we did 2/3 times a day and there was great parking. Will not only recommending staying there to others but will stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gingerjodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsboro, Owner at Gainsboro Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As you were understandably busy with the conference we didn't get much opportunity to chat with you, so it's really lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. You are welcome back at any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,235 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
2,572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#42 of 85 in Torquay
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#49 of 85 in Torquay
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gainsboro Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainsboro Guest House

Address: 22 Rathmore Road, Torquay TQ2 6NY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $83 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gainsboro Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast accomodation in Torquay in a lovely, quiet and green location yet close to the beach and all facilities on the English Riviera. Gainsboro has been inspected by Quality in Tourism and is 'English Riviera Approved' for your peace of mind.Our traditional Victorian home offers relaxed and friendly B&B with hearty, and healthy, breakfasts. We have free Wi-Fi available for guest use.If you are travelling by car there is free parking available for guests or the railway station is only a 5 minute walk away if you are using the train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gainsboro Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainsboro Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing