We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Gainsboro, Great Weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gainsboro Guest House
Ranked #84 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Gainsboro, Great Weekend!”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Just a really good comfortable weekend away in a friendly B&B! We came by train and liked that we could walk anywhere in Torquay from here. 10 out of 10 for breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeStuart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
72
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

A group of 8 of us stayed for 2 nights over the New Year. We had all stayed with Sue & Stuart before and they have made some further improvements in the year and a half since they took over. As usual the welcome, service and breakfast were superb. We all had a great New Years day meal at 'The Drum' in Cockington Village followed by a healthy walk back to the Gainsboro up & over the hill. This was followed by a lovely walk along the seafront to walk off breakfast the next morning before driving home.
If you are planning a break in Torquay you will not be disappointed if you stay here. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We had to book the Gainsboro at the last minute due to our original booking falling through, but I'm so glad we did. A very nice hotel within a 5-10 minute walk from the station easy to do with suitcases on wheels. Due to it's proximity to the station bus service into town was very convenient and going to Paignton was easy by train. Also due to the hotel's location, you do not hear the trains at all. Super quiet at night as they are tucked away from the town center and 'hotel row' but still within easy access to it all. Sue and Stuart are excellent hosts and very helpful with local information. Easy walk into town along the beautiful waterfront. Breakfast each day was excellent and served piping hot. Room was clean and comfortable and included all the modern amenities. I would highly recommend this hotel to all my friends and family. My partner and I would certainly use them again when he and I are in town.

Room Tip: There is only one twin room so be conscious of this when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

A' home from home' My wife & I booked for a weekend break in Oct 2011. Excellent accommodation, very comfortable, first rate breakfast (keeps you going all day).The room was clean, nicely furnished and most importantly lovely & warm.Nice touches like a tv lounge and a selection of prints on the dining room wall which could be purchased contributed to making this feel like a stay with friends rather than a B/B establishment. Well done to Sue & Stuart, I have already booked for a longer stay in Summer next year before the word has spread and the Gainsboro is fully booked

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g7vhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We had a lovley stay and were made to feel very welcome. The breakfast kept us going all day while we were shoping. Sue and Stuart made sure we had everything we needed for a nice stay. Would go again next spring I hope.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2011

My wife and I stayed in the Gainsboro for a few nights mid September 2011 and had a wonderful time. Sue & Stuart ensured that our time spent at the Guest House was very enjoyable. They were always on hand to help with advice on local attractions and places to see or eat and drink. We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived, it was actually a shame to have to leave at the end of our stay.

The guest house is immaculately clean throughout, the rooms are well presented and, everything you would expect is provided. Breakfast in the morning is in a lovely room at the front of the building over looking trees and a rugby field. A very welcoming room to enjoy a superb full english breakfast which is worth the 5 stars alone!

We had a very comfortable stay at the Gainsboro and, will be sure to go back again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Presariofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wymondham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We received a warm welcome even though we arrived slightly early. The room was very clean and spacious. Cleaned to a high standard daily. Breakfast was excellent and prompt, providing you with more if needed. Sue and Stuart were very helpful answering any questions regarding places to go and see and how to get there. We thoroughly recommend The Gainsboro to anybody from single couples to families and we are looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#57 of 87 in Torquay
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Daylesford
The Daylesford
#69 of 149 in Torquay
124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#25 of 149 in Torquay
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cloudlands
Cloudlands
#64 of 149 in Torquay
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantis Holiday Apartments
0.5 mi away
Serendipity Guest House
Serendipity Guest House
#70 of 149 in Torquay
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gainsboro Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainsboro Guest House

Property: Gainsboro Guest House
Address: 22 Rathmore Road, Torquay TQ2 6NY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gainsboro Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast accomodation in Torquay in a lovely, quiet and green location yet close to the beach and all facilities on the English Riviera. Gainsboro has been inspected by Quality in Tourism and is 'English Riviera Approved' for your peace of mind.Our traditional Victorian home offers relaxed and friendly B&B with hearty, and healthy, breakfasts. We have free Wi-Fi available for guest use.If you are travelling by car there is free parking available for guests or the railway station is only a 5 minute walk away if you are using the train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Gainsboro Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainsboro Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing