We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Great!”
Review of The Chesterfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chesterfield
Ranked #57 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Great!”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Stayed overnight on our way to cornwall with a young baby were greeted by kevin and dawn and shown to our room which was very clean and had everything we could have needed kevin even provided a baby bath for us to use! very friendly kind and informative hosts we didnt know alot about the area and they both pointed us in the right direction for a good day/evening and great start to our holidays!! bed was very comfortable and breakfast was one of the best ive had! Brilliant hotel will be staying again!!!

Room Tip: room 4 was lovely and quiet and only up the first flight of stairs very gd with all the bits that co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robandamanda8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfieldtorquay, Owner at The Chesterfield, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and are happy to make recommendations when needed. It was lovely meeting you and your adorable baby. Hope the holiday in Cornwall went well and you all had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    13
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
40
70
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
luton
Level Contributor
100 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

arrived on sunday 7th august and was greeted by the owners Kevin and Dawn
we were shown to the room which was lovely and big with on-suite and had tea and coffee fercilitys also a tv with free veiw.
the bed was comfertable and found we slept well everynight
the breakfast were realy nice no grease on cooked breakfast choice of cereals, orange juice, toast and tea or coffee.
the hosts dawn and kevin were very freindly an had good Knowledge about the area they advised of good places to visit the prices and best way to get there.
we had evening meal with them whch again were lovely only 11 pound for 2 course or 14 pound for 3 course which also included a tea or coffee ant the end of meal and jug of water during the meal.
we all found the chesterfield to be a great guest house,very close to the sea and amenities, the owners were plesant and helpfull and was very good value for the money.
we will defiantly go again.
thanks dawn and kevin for great holiday you made it very enjoyable.
Julie Paul And Amanda Luton Beds

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LutonTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfieldtorquay, Owner at The Chesterfield, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear Paul, Julie and Amanda. Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure having such lovely people stay with us.We are really pleased you enjoyed both your stay with us and the evening meals. We look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Having never been to an English seaside resort before this was a wonderful intro, when we arrived at the Chesterfield Guest house we were greeted by Kevin and yes we had to pay upfront, a great idea. Kevin was very friendly and showed some of the warmth that you felt when you walked in the door. we were given the keys to our rooms and went up all those stairs What do expect in these converted buildings. we found our rooms to be extremely well appointed and very clean, a pleasrue to stay in. Next day we went to breakfast (down stairs) and were greeted by two very friendly hosts who went out of their way to make sure we had everything we asked for, and this was the theme for our four day stay. Kevin and Dawn and their family to us were great hosts who made our stay in Torquay memorable. Would I recommend the Chesterfield to friends, in a word "YES", and to others. I guess the way you treat people makes a big difference. On behalf of Janet, Cyril, Delys and myself (Collin) I would like to thank Dawn and Kevin for their wonderful hospitality and help during our stay.

A Comment - I have read the reviews laid out here and would like to comment on a couple - I have travelled all over the world and a lot in Europe and England in these travels I have stayed in hotels claiming to be 4 star and believe me, they leave a lot to be desired. I have stayed in hotels where you have to pull your suitcase in after you or you don't get in, you can't turn around in the shower either. In England I have stayed in hotels where unless you speak a European languge (apart from English) the staff can't understand you want. My point is if you expect diamonds and get emeralds you travel under false hope. Be thankful that you live in a country that has such wonderful places to visit. with very good accommodation avaivaible. Take a good look at yourselves and try not to give yourselve's the name of "Whingeing Poms"

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colin_grist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfieldtorquay, Owner at The Chesterfield, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you for your review. It was a real pleasure meeting you all. We really enjoyed the chat's with you all and was nice to know that 'not everything' in Australia eats you !! We look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Stayed at The Chesterfield for a long weekend & both myself and my partner couldn't fault anything. Rooms were very clean and the breakfast was enough to set us up for the day. Thanks to all for a great stay and we will certainly be back next year

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c_aworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfieldtorquay, Owner at The Chesterfield, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you for your review. It was lovely meeting you and your partner, We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to meeting you both again one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2010

we would like to thank dawn and kevin on our wonderful stay at the chesterfield, i travelled with my disabled son, daughter and her baby. we were made very welcome and dawn and kevin were very helpful with my son. They told where the best sights were to accomodate my son. They gave us a large family room and were very understanding of the noise he made. the food was delightful and i would be happy to go again next year.

thank you once again dawn and kevin. xxx

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline_ansell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfieldtorquay, Owner at The Chesterfield, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you for your review. It was lovely meeting you and your wonderful family. your son was a very happy and friendly boy and I think the other guests enjoyed meeting him as much as we did. We look forward to meeting you all again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Arrived at hotel to be met by Dawn (first and last time we seen her). Arrived a little early so room wasn't ready, instead paid in full for stay in advance (first time i have ever done this!) and got keys and was told to come back in an hour. Found out hotel had no parking so had to park around corner on dead end road a little way away from hotel and had to then carry luggage from car down steps and along the road to hotel where we had a further 5 and a half flights of stairs to our room. The room itself felt small being an attic room with sloping ceilings with double bed and bunk beds (for only two of us) although plenty of cuboard space. The bathroom again was very small with little room to dry yourself and the lock on the door not working! The room was serivced between 10:30 and 1:30 so you had to vacate and this time not too much of a problem but all they did was make the bed, open the window and replenish tea and coffee, Towels were changed every 3 days so if you stay for a weekend you don't get fresh towels! It is an easy walk into town but i will warn you its all up hill on way back and then all the stairs to the room! The bed was to me very uncomfortable and the pillows hard and i did not sleep very well at all but with all my tossing and turning the squeaky bed then woke my partner up and she also then did not sleep very well! Breakfast was between 8:30 and 9:15 even on a sunday! you could have cereal toast and a cooked meal which was not alot 1 bacon 1 egg 1 sausage beans mushroom and tomato and although looked good it almost looked liked it had been dried with a paper towel to remove all grease which to me made it almost dry and tasteless! but you get plenty of orange juice and tea or coffee! Also the table was crowed with all the things on it and i nearly spilled or knocked over something every morning! Overall i was not happy with what i got for my money, maybe its me but i have travelled the world and the U.K and have stayed in plenty of lovely 4* hotels unfortunately in my opinion this one to me does not make the 4* grade!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iB3tTi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfieldtorquay, Owner at The Chesterfield, responded to this review, October 5, 2010
Unfortunately we were not able to address any issues you may have had, as they were not brought to our attention during your 3 night stay. You are correct we are not a 4 star hotel, neither have we ever stated we are. We are a four star Guest house, which is completely different.

You were made aware at enquiry that the only room we had available for the dates you requested was a family room on the 3rd floor, we reduced the rate on this to our double room rate and you booked . (incidentally this room measures approx 19ft 8 ins x 15ft 4 ins, with an 8ft high ceiling, sloping to one side as it has a double glazed Dormer window, so cannot be deemed as small)

On arrival your room was not available. This was because you came early in the morning, when our previous guests had just vacated. You were given the option of returning after 2pm or checking in then, so you could enjoy your day and return at your leisure. You eagerly chose the latter option as you stated you were meeting friends and could spend the day with them. When you returned early evening with your luggage you parked your vehicle on our car park, where it remained for the duration of your stay.( on your departure you kindly emptied all the rubbish and take away cartons from your vehicle onto our car park, even though there was a bin directly behind your car !!)

Our rooms are serviced daily, when we make beds, clean, sanitise and re-stock the en-suite, empty bins, replenish the beverage trays, hoover and polish. Yours could not be done on the first day as you had hung a "Do not disturb" sign on the door. On the 2nd morning you had a multitude of make-up, hair products, clothes, shoes etc spread out across the room, so we could not hoover and polish on this day, however all other housekeeping was completed.

Your behaviour in the building was commented upon by a few guests,particularly when you came in during the early hours of the morning, stumbling up the stairs and banging into their doors on the way to your room: also spilling your beverage all over the table and dining room carpet at breakfast. Your comment about the food did make me chuckle, as we have never had a complaint that our breakfast was not greasy enough before! I do not apologise for serving non-greasy breakfasts.

2 days after your stay we were graded by Quality in Tourism. Part of the grading criteria is the quality of food, beds and hospitality, for which we achieved high scores and was again awarded 4 star guest accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east midlands UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Welcome - The owner Dawn answered the door with bare feet and not a smile to be had until we said we had booked a room and then not much of a smile. Did not see her again in the whole 7 days we spent there.

Room - after climbing many flights of stairs with luggage we found our room very clean but too small for a family of four but the bathroom was very tiny and felt damp. The road outside the front of the room was very noisy and non stop traffic all night. Very hot in the room as well although there was a fan.

Breakfast - Below average in our opinion. Cereals - 1 sausage, 1 bacon, beans and egg but if had tomatoes then could not have bean. One slice of toast each and when asked for more the owner Kevin said he would have to ask Dawn as it was not the norm. Children could not have sausage and bacon it was one or the other not both which was felt was very mean.

Car Park - car park for two-3 cars at rear of building.

Overall Experience - We would not recommend this hotel to anyone who like the finer things in life. It was an average guest house with a thrifty breakfast and for the price we paid we could have gone to the much nicer and nearer Premier Inn at the bottom of the road near to the beach. Have read the other guests reviews and cannot believe they have rated this a four star!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LivvyKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfieldtorquay, Owner at The Chesterfield, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
This is the second review that you have written, claiming that you had a less than satisfactory stay with us. The previous one was removed for being untruthful. I must say I am confused and concerned by your review for the following reasons:

If your break had been as bad as you are claiming why did you not address your concerns during your stay with us? or in the past 12 months following your stay. Also why has it taken you over a year to post a review if we are as unprofessional as you claim.

At the time you claim you stayed with us we only had 3 families staying on 7 night breaks (Although we were fully booked through the summer season, the rest of our family groups where all on shorter 3-5 night stays). Of the 3 families, 2 have returned this summer, one on half board,. The remaining family from last year, booked our family x 3 room, as they were having a difficult time finding accommodation. Following a discussion both parties agreed that as both children were under 12 we would put an extra child bed in the room and give them a substantial discount from their stay. However these guests increased their stay by a further night and left a comment in our guest book, thanking us for a lovely stay, so this cannot possibly be you.

Other than these we have absolutely no idea who you are or when you stayed with us.

We take all reviews seriously as it shows us where improvements can be made and where we are getting things right. A review that states we are as bad as this one claims really needs addressing quickly, so we would appreciate it, if you could contact us, either verbally or in writing, so that we could discuss these claims with you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#51 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mariners Guest House
Mariners Guest House
#64 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kethla House
Kethla House
#29 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Atlantis
Atlantis
#104 of 148 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Morley Guest House
The Morley Guest House
#107 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Norwood Guest House
The Norwood Guest House
#52 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield

Property: The Chesterfield
Address: 62 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chesterfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star quality, family-run guest house located in the heart of Torquay. All rooms are en-suite and we are within walking distance of the Riviera conference centre, beach, town centre and all local amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your The Chesterfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing