We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Andrea.Bridgend.”
Review of Kelvin House Hotel

Kelvin House Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kelvin House Hotel
Ranked #47 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Andrea.Bridgend.”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We booked a 4 night break &decided last minute to go a day early.Carl and Sharon was most welcoming it was like home from home.breakfast was excellent and the room spotless.Toiletries,biscuits,chocolates and a bottle of water each ,every day was an added bonus.We will certainly book this guest house again when visiting Torquay.Once again Thanks Carl & Sharon

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brynthomas-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at this classic hotel. The rooms were spotless and tastefully furnished as was the rest of this Victorian house. The breakfast was hearty and delicious. I also found our hosts really welcoming and friendly and especially helpful when i asked for local recommendations. The Landlord stayed up way past his bed time when we arrived late after our car broke down and was very accomodating ! Thanks again for a delightful stay- excellent value for money !

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Kelvin House. The owners are delightful and made me feel 100% at home. Great hospitality, lovely room, great bed and delicious breakfast made me feel very relaxed. Beautifully decorated and comfy. I felt like I was staying at a friends house. This is exactly what I was looking for and after a thorough search I am glad to say I chose this hotel. Totally lucky!

It is close to Torre Abbey and the train station. I won't go on and on with a lengthy report, just know that you'll have made the right choice with this establishment. Torquay is great fun and this hotel made it all that much better. I will return, most definitely.

Room Tip: Very quiet apart from the noisy seagulls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pixie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful five day break in Devon and spent three nights at this gem of a small hotel close to Torre Abbey It is about a ten to fifteen minute walk into town and you can walk through the abbey grounds. We received a very warm welcome from the landlady and everything about our stay exceeded our expectations. The hotel is set in a quiet road with plenty of free parking. The room was light and spacious and very clean. Nice touches were fresh bottles of water provided daily and lovely chocolate mints to go with the tea and coffee in the room. Breakfast was delicious,generous portions and freshly cooked with a good range of choices. Although Kelvin House only does bed and breakfast there is a very good restaurant nearby called Ocean Drive. All in all a lovely place to stay for a short break.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musiclyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

My family and I stayed at this guesthouse for a couple of nights. The rooms were spotless and the hosts were extremely friendly and jovial. We were cooked a hot vegetarian breakfast as we requested.

We would definately recommend this guesthouse as a great value place to stay in Torquay especially in the peak season.

Room Tip: Family rooms are bigger than doubles. The double room basically compromised of a room with a double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I have stayed in places near and far, Travelled to them by air by sea and also by car, But the places I have stayed all bar none, For the friendliest landlords this is the one !
This really is the most friendliest place I have ever stayed. The effort from Carl and Sharon to give such a fantastic service all comes so naturally so helpful and so welcoming an absolute pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Porterandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel through booking.com as the reviews looked great & the accommodation spec suited exactly what we required. Great value, very clean well equipped rooms, extremely friendly hosts & a lovely breakfast! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Archiepoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Southbank Hotel
Southbank Hotel
#46 of 87 in Torquay
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#5 of 87 in Torquay
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#45 of 87 in Torquay
107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#41 of 87 in Torquay
99 reviews
1.1 mi away
Braddon Hall Hotel
Braddon Hall Hotel
#37 of 87 in Torquay
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelvin House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvin House Hotel

Property: Kelvin House Hotel
Address: 46 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#21 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#34 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kelvin House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kelvin House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvin House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing