We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friday Night steak night”
Review of The Dolphin Inn

The Dolphin Inn
Ranked #165 of 394 Restaurants in Torquay
Price range: $6 - $19
Description: The Dolphin Inn is located in St. Marychurch, Torquay. There has been a pub on the site since the Commercial Inn opened in 1714 and the Dolphin Inn has recently undergone a major refurbishment, re-opening in September 2016. The pub now boasts a revamped bar, beer garden and spacious restaurant area as well as a great selection of beers, ales, wines and spirits. The Dolphin Inn is soon to be under under new ownership by Cousins David & Daniel from 20th November 2017. Food will be served daily from 12pm to 9pm and a traditional roast on Sundays. Come in, take a look around and find out What’s On.
Restaurant details
Description: The Dolphin Inn is located in St. Marychurch, Torquay. There has been a pub on the site since the Commercial Inn opened in 1714 and the Dolphin Inn has recently undergone a major refurbishment, re-opening in September 2016. The pub now boasts a revamped bar, beer garden and spacious restaurant area as well as a great selection of beers, ales, wines and spirits. The Dolphin Inn is soon to be under under new ownership by Cousins David & Daniel from 20th November 2017. Food will be served daily from 12pm to 9pm and a traditional roast on Sundays. Come in, take a look around and find out What’s On.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had recently been hearing how wonderful the rump steak was at the Dolphin Inn, so myself and my partner attended steak night this Friday, I am very fussy with my steak and this is the only place that I haven’t sent my steak back. My steak was cooked to perfection , it was delicious and the most succulent steak I have ever tasted. The thick cut chips, onions rings, peas and Stilton sauce which accompanied this steak were Devine!!!!! Let’s not forget to mention how attentive and wonderful the staff were which just added to this wonderful experience. Roll on next Friday! I would 100000% recommend this place!

Date of visit: September 2019
2  Thank Lubella11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here to try the steak and ale pie and absolutely loved it.. So could to see Dougal and the rest of team have turned this place around. Good food good Ale and for the most part friendly staff especially CJ, Kye and Britney... Keep the good work up guys

Date of visit: September 2019
2  Thank henrywillis1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2019 via mobile

Been going here for years but can start to see the decline. New owners haven't got it right. Quite grubby and even when the pub is quiet, the staff dont collect glasses or pick up stuff from floor. Tables are always dirty. Grotty plastic roses in a vase on window and paper signs just cellotaped everywhere. Straws and napkins left on floor. Come on owners get a grip and get it back to what it should be. Take some pride and please put some personality behind the bar!

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank readit101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley1974, Manager at The Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2019

I'm sorry to hear that you feel this way all feedback is appreciated good or bad, unfortunately we cannot control how busy the pub as weekends tend to be busy, if you feel that your table is dirty please let us know as we do try and keep on top of the cleanliness off the pub.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2019 via mobile

Been in Babbercome for over a week now,
We have had a drink in this lovely pubquite a few times..but no food being served!
Asked if food was available for the rest of the week...
They said ...it's on & off!..

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank rebecca_dalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley1974, Manager at The Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2019

Hi
I'm sorry to hear you haven't been able to have food, we only dont serve food all day Tuesday and sunday evenings but all other times food is available between 12-8pm so I dont understand why you've been told food is on and off.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2019 via mobile

Friendly staff & a vibrant atmosphere, recently taken Into new hands & the place has been transformed.. we’ve eaten here several times & the food, every time, had been absolutely belting

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank martinheaward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dolphin Inn also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing