We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An authentic Torquay experience”

The Hole In The Wall
Ranked #13 of 337 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
2 reviews
“An authentic Torquay experience”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

The oldest pub in Torquay did not let us down, there was a lively atmosphere with plenty of authentic decor representing the many years that the pubs been in service. In regards to the food, it was all cooked very well but was quite simple, despite this it was proper pub food which would make you feel right at home, I had the surf and turf, the steak was cooked perfectly and the scampi was also very nice. The hole in the wall is definitely worth a visit whilst in Torquay.

Helpful?
Thank LouisEva_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    656
    339
    76
    35
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Too crowded”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

We visited here over the weekend. On entering the place we found the place very small and was dangerously packed. People were crammed in like sardines. Those sat at booths at the back were practically penned in. Goodness knows what would have happened if any fracas had occurred - or anything similar. When we ordered a glass of wine we were given a small bottle then told they had no clean glasses!!. This place didn't feel safe due to the crowds crammed in to a very limited space in the bar area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank bunchofwhiteroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

My family and I called here for an evening meal and were not disappointed. I had the Chicken and Rib combo which was excellent as was the rest of the food for the party. We visited this place on Tuesday and were so impressed that we went again on Thursday for more food. Thanks for a great evening.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve_G660403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Real ale sold hear try the jail ale , surf and turf with fresh bread on the side was fantastic. Was told its the oldest pub in Torquay , don't hold me to this but it great with low ceiling and beams

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent meal!”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

My partner and i(who were celebrating our 15th anniversary) and four friends visited this lovely pub on 11/8/14.Our table was in the main restaurant which was very roomy and comfortable.The staff were very polite and efficient.The food came out all piping hot,I had the soup of the day,my partner had garlic mushrooms which looked lovely,.Then we had our main courses,myself and partner had Steak with peppercorn sauce(beautiful)three of our guests had surf and turf Our other guest asked if he could have a runny egg with his steak instead of a tomatoe which was'nt a problem.Two of our guests had sweets which again were very good.To top it all,The prices are very reasonable.This was our first time here but not the last.Would very much recommend this to everyone.Well done to you all at the "Hole in the wall"

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hole In The Wall also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Hole In The Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing