We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service, poor food, expensive”

The Hole In The Wall
Ranked #14 of 338 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Poor service, poor food, expensive”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My father-in-law booked for us to go with him as he had been here many times in past years and loved it. Unfortunately we all agreed the service and the food left a lot to be desired. The service was rushed, no-one came to check our food was okay, and we had to wait a long time to catch someone's attention to get the bill. The trio of fish was overcooked and for nearly £20 was disappointing, a few tough garlic prawns, and small pieces of fried turbot and tough monkfish wrapped in, wait for it, a slice of thick bacon! Perhaps they had run out of prosciutto or parma ham but a totally unsuitable way to serve monkfish. My f-in-l's lamb was also tough and the vegetables were so undercooked they were almost inedible. As we were hungry and we knew it would be difficult to find another restaurant on a Saturday night, we ate up and left as quickly as we could.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Columbine17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    657
    339
    76
    35
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Homely pub with excellent food”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my fiancée had been hunting for a nice pub atmosphere that delivered equally good food......this venue provided both at a reasonable price. The staff were attentive and polite. Highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Daryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely old pub”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We have been here a couple of times now, it is a lovely old pub with a lot of history. The staff are always very friendly and make you feel welcome. Would recommend a visit if in the Torquay area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikkie4477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Old Fashioned Pub!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Only stopped off for a drink, lovely quaint old pub with a good selection of ales situated not far from the harbour by the dinosaur museum. Service was prompt as there were not many customers. We read this was the oldest pub in Torquay, be sure to duck on your way in, the ceilings are quite low!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Oozes character”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

If you want a pub with character then you wouldn't be sad to come here. The pub is apparently torquays oldest pub, there are cobbled floors and low beams and a great choice of beers & ciders. We had a meal in the restaurant side of the pub and all enjoyed what we had.

I think the only negative comment I can say is where the building is old the access could be better as you have to enter through a narrow alley that is really steep. So if you have mobility problems it might be quite a task to get it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank chidseyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hole In The Wall also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Hole In The Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing