We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honest pub grub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hole In The Wall

The Hole In The Wall
Ranked #19 of 332 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Honest pub grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Two of dined here after it was recommended to us by the owner of our B&B.
This pub is tucked away out of sight from the main road but very much worth seeking out.
The Hole in the Wall is the oldest pub in Torquay serving some great real ales.
The food was very good quality, good portion size and fairly priced.
We say drop in for a pint and cast yourself back in time to when pirates frequented the place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Graham674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    619
    322
    74
    35
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old worlde charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

A lovely old Inn, serving tasty food. Also very flexible - one evening (being too full to eat a main evening meal) I requested to order a starter and sweet only - this was no problem at all.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Monday night blues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a great pub absolutely no doubt but the restaurant end, oh dear. Very mediocre food and surroundings, from table 4 you can hear all the white goods grinding away in the kitchen, so if you must eat in there choose a table as far away as you can get, in fact eat in the pub.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fandabidozi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Glad we found this pub , the food was excellent hubby had the fish which was lovely I opted for chicken which was very tasty ! More expensive than other places but worth it ! There was a singer on so we made a night of it and stayed in the bar till closing :)

Helpful?
Thank wozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Favourite - make an effort to find it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have eaten here many times over the last couple of years, both in the bar and the restaurant, and never been disappointed. Whilst not cheap, the standard is always high. We especially like the Sunday roasts. The pub has a great atmosphere, like a "proper old-fashioned pub" and my husband particularly likes their real ales, which are always perfectly delivered. Don't bother to go here if you want noise/music/fruit machines/party atmosphere. We'll always ensure we pay this pub a visit when we are in the area. You wouldn't come across it by accident, but it's well-worth seeking out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blackadderly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hole In The Wall also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Hole In The Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing