We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cavendish Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Marstan(Torquay)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$115
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Haytor Hotel(Torquay)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$304
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$104
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$89
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$126
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$124
$101
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $114/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (972)
Filter reviews
972 results
Traveler rating
223
297
206
91
155
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
297
206
91
155
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomstar hotelland trainwaiting staffevening mealbit datedsea frontfriendly hotelcouldn't do enoughweekend breakentertainmentalisonsingertlcbingoseafront
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 972 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We returned to the Cavendish again this year after an excellent stay last year. We took our daughter last time and the family room (room 212 I believe) was excellent with great views, its the second floor "turret" room if you look at the hotel photos and I`d recommend it for the views alone althought the decor, like the rest of the hotel is a bit dated but clean and with a certain charm.
This year we travelled as a couple and had a ground floor room (003), no view apart from the carpark but we were happy using it as a base. The outdoor pool was closed as its only open from May-Sept so be aware of this as last year it was lovely to sit in the Jaccuzzi part of it outside. The indoor pool is open year round and is a decent size for a dip, clean and heated perfectly.
The hotel location is ideal and just a short (400yrd) walk down the hill to the seafront and Abbey beach.
Car parking is safe and free which is a bonus for those travelling as on street parking charges can soon mount up!
The food is good and good value, the breakfast set-up is one of the best I`ve seen in a hotel with everything on offer on the self service menu and is excellent value.
The service is 5 star! The staff are friendly, accomadating and efficient.
I like this hotel, it has no pretences to be grand, is welcoming and friendly and makes you feel at home.

Room Tip: Corner suites in the turrets have the best views.
  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James R, Manager at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review.Great to have you back .

As it is school holidays 212 is a family room,so that was in use ,Hopefully next time we can give you this room .

Great to host you again at the hotel .We hope to see you soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Brought a coach of holiday makers to this hotel after the hotel we used to go to closed. The group were very pleased with their new surroundings, in particular the friendly staff and marvellous meals. The evening entertainment was also much appreciated. We will return next year.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are available for a supplemental fee.
  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James R, Manager at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thnak you for your review .

We loved having your party here Mr Evans, and look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel bit tired. Clean and comfortable room with sea view. 3rd floor room with tiny slow lift. Water pressure of shower very poor. Food hot and fresh. Would stay again. Was worried when I read reviews before I travelled but I think some visitors just like writing negative reviews

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with friends
Thank bald148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James R, Manager at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review .

We do have some lovely sea view rooms on the third floor.

We will look into your issue of water in your room .

We hope to see you again soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a hectic 4 day trip which was very tiring but the hotel staff were very good, friendly and efficient; especially with my Diatery needs....a special thank you to waitress Maggie! The place was clean but very tired looking with 5 of our 6 booked rooms having small niggly problems. . The whole place needs refurbishing.

Room Tip: My rooms floor sloped down from the door to the window.......
Stayed: May 2018, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James R, Manager at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review .

We will pass on your message to Maggie!

We are constantly updating rooms when we can throughout the year.

We hope to see you again soon .



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The worst hotel in the country. I know this is a bit harsh when 90% off hotels in this country are dumps.
I stay in about 80 hotels a year this is up there with the worst.
Shower not working, lights in bedroom not working, lights in bathroom not working, breakfast room like a truckers stop, food disgusting .

Room Tip: Let’s not call them bedrooms, they are cupboards..
Stayed: May 2018, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bernard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James R, Manager at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review .

Without knowing what room you stayed in, we cannot help you with the issues you have raised.

Any maintenance issues could have been resolved straight away, if reported to reception .

Please call us if you would like to discuss this further on 01803293682.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews