We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Break”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #52 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Break”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights staff are really friendly do anything for you rooms ok.outside pool area i found great for the kids nice family hotel think the place could do with a makeova and do a little more entertainment for the children be overall not bad
Thanks



Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are hoping to do more for children. We hope to do more refurbishment over the winter months. We hope you enjoyed your stay and will consider us again in the future.
Kind Regards
Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    231
    160
    66
    116
See reviews for
185
274
35
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

the room was shabby worn out disgusting

The whole place needs gutting

When we were checking in there had been terrible rain and a lady was telling reception the rain was coming threw the roof into her room their response....they gave her a bucket!

my husband was served Hot meat pate when complained was told it had been frozen and heated up a bit longer than it should in the microwave a recipe for food poisoning.

we intended to stay for 3 nights as filming for CH 4 the hotel but checked out less than 24 hours later .

Have reported the hot pate to Torbay food safety office.

the indoor and outdoor pools didn't looked clean so didn't use.

I really thought in this day and age these so called "Hotels" were a thing of the past.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank carolinegreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Firstly all I can say is we are so sorry. We totally understand your position and we have no excuses. Please will you telephone or contact us by email so we can try to put this right. We have been struggling this past couple of years hence the filming but it has in its own way caused stress to our staff . As you probably know we are family run and not one of the big groups and despite working all the hours god sends there seems to be the isolated cases like yours where the room etc has fallen through the net and we can only apologise . I cannot comment on the bucket as we are not aware of this but all we can say is we were assured by our Roofer that the temporary repairs would last through to the Autumn when 2 Roofs are being replaced.
We hope you will contact us.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

this hotel is a bit run down in parts and a bit smelly , i don't know what it was but as i walked the stairs , different smells were detected on each level , my bathroom had a nasty smell but the extractor fan sorted that out . i liked my room in the loft , it was big and bright with a sea view and a sea gull we called steven, he came to look in the window every day . the food was very good, more than i could eat and the staff were quick and pleasant with a word for each guest and i felt happy to be there . there was a small lift to all floors and although the hotel was full we never had to wait long to go up , we walked down stairs as a rule and always got lost coming down , got it right the last day . i think black out blinds would be a bonus as the sun rise was very early so impossible to get any more sleep after that. the hotel is a short walk away from the sea front and a evening stroll is a must , nice to people watch , lots of young people about but did not feel threatened as they were all well behaved.

Room Tip: a sea view is a must and the higher you go the quieter it gets from footfall and banging doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jenniy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Used this hotel for works weekend and had twenty passengers . the food was great and the staff very pleasant , but found parking a problem....... well it is a fifty foot coach after all. The management even got vehicles moved so I could park overnight which was above and beyond their duties.... thanks for that guys....... the view from my room was excellent god panoramic view of Torbay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the rear of the building .....it overlooks the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 370tobin_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

very good staff shame about the hotel. The room we had was disgusting I don't think the carpet had ever been vacuumed . The shower kept falling off the wall and the whole room was covered in dust. Good service in the restaurant and bar areas .The food was ok tablecloth was covered in stains from previous guests. Overall this was the worst hotel we have stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dave w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed 2 nights here and was a bit unsure what to expect after reading some of the reviews, but turned out to be a good stay. Hotel is a short walk into town and in a good location for the train station. Had a room right by reception which was good as the wi fi picked up in the room. The room I had was clean and comfortable and towels got changed every day. The hotel is quite good for sorting out any problems, I had a problem with the bathroom and maintenance sorted it out right away.

Room Tip: Pick a room by reception on ground floor as you can pick up on the wi fi in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BuzzBee202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed at The Cavendish with a coach party and after reading some of the reviews we were pleasantly surprised. When we arrived, the staff who greeted us were friendly and helpful, and although the hotel is a bit dated it was quite welcoming and clean. We were given a lovely big room with a double bed and two singles on the first floor ( there were three of us) which was spotlessly clean as was the bedding and the towels. It had a good view overlooking the gardens and tennis courts - you could even see the sea in the distance!!
The food was very good, served at your table and was piping hot, we had a lovely young waitress looking after us who was so obliging and pleasant (Sharna) she was very quick and efficient with the orders and got your food to you in no time.
All in all we had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel, and for what we paid we thought it was great value for money - would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joyce c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#69 of 87 in Torquay
349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,181 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#34 of 87 in Torquay
112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#32 of 87 in Torquay
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Property: Cavendish Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run two-star hotel only 400 m from the sea front and ten minutes from town. We have excellent facilities and nightly entertainment, our rates are very competitive and a large number of regular guests come back to us year after year. Groups and individuals welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing