We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good all rounder”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #55 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good all rounder”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Used this hotel for works weekend and had twenty passengers . the food was great and the staff very pleasant , but found parking a problem....... well it is a fifty foot coach after all. The management even got vehicles moved so I could park overnight which was above and beyond their duties.... thanks for that guys....... the view from my room was excellent god panoramic view of Torbay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the rear of the building .....it overlooks the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 370tobin_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    213
    148
    59
    106
See reviews for
172
242
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

very good staff shame about the hotel. The room we had was disgusting I don't think the carpet had ever been vacuumed . The shower kept falling off the wall and the whole room was covered in dust. Good service in the restaurant and bar areas .The food was ok tablecloth was covered in stains from previous guests. Overall this was the worst hotel we have stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dave w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed 2 nights here and was a bit unsure what to expect after reading some of the reviews, but turned out to be a good stay. Hotel is a short walk into town and in a good location for the train station. Had a room right by reception which was good as the wi fi picked up in the room. The room I had was clean and comfortable and towels got changed every day. The hotel is quite good for sorting out any problems, I had a problem with the bathroom and maintenance sorted it out right away.

Room Tip: Pick a room by reception on ground floor as you can pick up on the wi fi in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BuzzBee202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed at The Cavendish with a coach party and after reading some of the reviews we were pleasantly surprised. When we arrived, the staff who greeted us were friendly and helpful, and although the hotel is a bit dated it was quite welcoming and clean. We were given a lovely big room with a double bed and two singles on the first floor ( there were three of us) which was spotlessly clean as was the bedding and the towels. It had a good view overlooking the gardens and tennis courts - you could even see the sea in the distance!!
The food was very good, served at your table and was piping hot, we had a lovely young waitress looking after us who was so obliging and pleasant (Sharna) she was very quick and efficient with the orders and got your food to you in no time.
All in all we had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel, and for what we paid we thought it was great value for money - would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joyce c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

I would just like to say a massive thank you to the staff in this hotel for coming to our rescue after another hotel would not let me and my family stay when we travelled down from Sunderland to attend the Miss England finals. Myself, My Mam and Sister in law had a lovely stay here. We stayed for three nights and we could not fault the hotel. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jodie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Settle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Our 1st stay at The Cavendish Hotel, after looking for something near to the seafront at Torquay.
My mother and I had a nice 4 day break, she needed a rest after a short illness.
On arrival we was greeted by a friendly staff who were to cater for our needs for the week.
We had Room 8, a twin room (ground Floor) with a balcony overlooking the outdoor swimming pool, we found the room to be clean and would suit our needs for the week.
We had heard reports about the hotel not being great, but we could understand there were some problems, what with the storms earlier this year, there was some maintenance issues and some damage outside with the property, but it was being dealt with.
The positives were VFM, adequate, location, helpfulness of staff, comfort and clean,
the negatives evening meal not great, the lifts not working on all floors, the outside pool, not clean
but all these negatives are being put right, after speaking with the owner Andy, so overall if you want a cheap, affordable and relaxing break the cavendish is OK

Room Tip: Most rooms are a good size, ours was Room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

30 of our members from The Bicester Ex Servicemans Club stayed from Friday till Monday in May and could not have had a better time in any other hotel
From our welcome on arrival and the service at the bar from Doug to the waiting staff in the restaurant you would not get better service anywhere
A big thank you to all

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank 6239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#56 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#67 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#89 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#39 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Property: Cavendish Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run two-star hotel only 400 m from the sea front and ten minutes from town. We have excellent facilities and nightly entertainment, our rates are very competitive and a large number of regular guests come back to us year after year. Groups and individuals welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing