We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cavendish Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
South View(Torquay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Hotel(Torquay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (941)
Filter reviews
941 results
Traveler rating
216
288
197
91
149
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
288
197
91
149
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomstar hotelland trainwaiting staffevening mealbit datedsea frontfriendly hotelcouldn't do enoughweekend breakentertainmentalisonsingertlcbingoseafront
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
670 - 675 of 941 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Upon arrival was allocated room 201, had to ask to be changed as the walls were soaking wet, my husband touched the wallpaper and it came away in his hand yet we were expected to stay in there, this room should not have been allocated to anyone. There was no problem in changing the room, just felt sorry for who ever was put in there afterwards. The breakfast was very good, but the rest of the food was very touch and go, the garlic mushrooms - I have never seen anything like it in my life, chopped mushrooms in a bowl with garlic sauce poured over them it looked like something the dog had brought up. Our waiter in the restaurant was very rude but he thought he was being funny with his sarcastic remarks every time our party were in the dining room, we can all take a joke but not insults. As for the bar staff one member apparently the manager needs to keep his opinions to himself regarding the guests otherwise he may well end up without a job. Basically I would never return to this hotel again it definitely needs bringing into the 21st century, the damp and sewers need sorting then totally re-decorating, there seems to be water stains on all the interior walls and there are gaps all round the windows, its just like faulty towers, never thought places like this still existed. The Cleaners do a very good job but to no avail because of the poor interiors. Would not even recommend to my worst enemy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank tracey k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

I am quite baffled at your terrible review. Yes the first room you were given, it turned out had a leak which had caused damage unaware by ourselves (the room had not been used for a week). You would not have been offered this room if we had known, but with 96 rooms it slipped through the net. As soon as you came to Reception as an apology to you we gave you a beautiful Upgrade Sea View room, with great views of the bay which of course you failed to mention. From your review you were obviously looking for 5 star. In future I would suggest you put your hand in your pocket and pay for the high expectations you have. Thank goodness we have some wonderful happy repeat guests who come regularly to The Cavendish.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

on line the rooms looked amazing after traveling for 11hrs i was so looking foward to chilling out, when i got to my room i was so so disappointed, it was clean n tidy but the decor was disgusting the walls had cracks and the paint coming of walls, radiaters rusted at top bottom n sides whole room needed painted, net curtains all frayed at each side, chest of drawers screwed down as it was shaky, bed was comfy, wall paper thin, u hear everything ,Food was not all that good, But all the staff was amazing, My friends room was worse than mine

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank maureen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

We are sorry you were not happy with your room. Obviously if you had come to Reception we would have gladly offered you an alternative The last thing we want is an unhappy guest. This floor you were on is due for refurbishment before Christmas but we understand this doesn't help much. We are also surprised you say the food was not that good as we constantly receive praise from new and many returning guests. I will however pass your comments onto the Chef.
Once again our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Although the Hotel is getting a little tired, the atmosphere, the enthusiasm and care by the staff is brilliant. Nothing is too much trouble, if you have a problem it will be sorted. Thoroughly enjoyed our four night stay. Entertainment is a bit basic, but who cares? The cost is realistic for what you get, it doesn't try to be 5 star! Recommend it to anyone wanting to visit Devon.

Room Tip: Phone ahead to see whats available
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DustyfromHedgeEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and note what you say about the entertainment. We are undertaking more refurbishment works over the winter months.
Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

we stayed at the cavendish from 16th Sept to 20th, the staff were very Friendly, our room was clean but the bathroom was tiny. the food was good and plentiful and the entertainment was great, we would go again, their were some people complaining but you cannot expect 5* for the price paid

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirleyh187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have so many different rooms some with large bathrooms and some smaller, I know we were busy but we may have been able to offer you an alternative.
Thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel we would highly recommend, the staff were very warm friendly and helpful. The room was nice we even had a sea view , the food that we had was very good, the choice for your breakfast and evening meal was without fault, We even tried dishes that we had never tried before. The hotel is well located to all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear and you should end up with a sea view
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevstapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and have passed your comments onto our staff who all work extremely hard.
Thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews