We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Torquay”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #58 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel we would highly recommend, the staff were very warm friendly and helpful. The room was nice we even had a sea view , the food that we had was very good, the choice for your breakfast and evening meal was without fault, We even tried dishes that we had never tried before. The hotel is well located to all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear and you should end up with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevstapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and have passed your comments onto our staff who all work extremely hard.
Thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (919)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 919 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

We, and many others spent most of our holiday at this hotel vomiting. Worn out with illness, we were grateful to go home. The bedroom was grim and the bathroom vile. A bargain is no good if it makes you ill.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FrancesTL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

We are sorry you had a disappointing holiday. Unfortunately, the illness was brought into the hotel by someone on your coach as it was only passengers on your coach that were poorly. We, cannot do anything about this I'm afraid and to blame the hotel is totally unfair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Went on an organised trip to the Cavendish, Torquay for 3 nights 13th Sept - 16th Sept. This trip was through David Urghuart travel, which was booked for 106 people by the chairlady of the South London Anglo Indian Association, which is a charity run organisation. All members of this association are pensioners, but are very lively who like having fun, listening and dancing to good music. After reading some of the reviews on tripadvisor previously before trip, did not know what to expect. When we arrived at the Cavendish we had a lovely welcome by the owner, who came on the coach and did say to all of us if we had any issues he would appreciate if would let them know, and not wait until we returned home. We were made very welcome by the reception staff who gave us our keys to our rooms. Our room was very clean, and the decor was not bad at all. The restaurant was also very clean, and our waiter "Simon" was really nice, chatty, great sense of humour, nothing was too much trouble for him. Food was also good, and did not have to wait too long to be served. Entertainment was also good, management did not know what to expect when they saw 106 pensioners in the entertainment hall. The commedian and singer on saturday 14 September was brilliant he kept us well entertained, and he was really surprised to see 106 pensioners on the dance floor rocking and rolling the night away. On Sunday 15 September our planned trip to "Brixham" was cancelled due to bad weather, but once again the management allowed our committee members of the charity association to organise bingo, and other activities for the members of the club. The management also arranged lunch which the members of the club could buy if they wished. The staff worked very hard to ensure that every one got the meal they ordered, nothing was too much trouble for them. I completed the form that was left in the room, and whatever I have written here is exactly the same comments on the form handed into reception on the day of leaving. Also must say Martin our driver on our coach was brilliant, he also let us play bingo, and listen to all the cd's that was given to him by the chair lady of the South London Anglo Indian Association. Yes we will definately return to the Cavenish Hotel sometime in the near future. A big thank to the chairlady and the committee members of the South Anglo Indian Association for booking us into the Cavendish Hotel, and for the wonderful 3 days we had there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 64smiler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Cavendish and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Once again, Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I'll repeat that, it only £20 pppn including breakfast. Stayed here over bank holiday weekend. Yes the rooms could do with updating but the one's at the Grosvenor across the road are not much better and its considerably more expensive plus if they get updated they will obviously charge more.The communal areas are lovely as are all the staff. Breakfast was good, could do with being offered Brown or white toast instead of having to ask but standard of food and portions were excellent. Its in a great location close to all amenities and the centre of Torquay. My only criticism would be that the broken sunbeds by the pool need to be removed as they are lethal and let down the appearance of the pool area. And if the woman who was stood shouting and creating a scene in reception reads this, you should be ashamed of yourself. You clearly are deluded and think your Alex Polizzi. I could have taken your complaints more seriously about the hotel if I hadn't observed you and your family stuffing down the breakfast like food was about to be rationed only to complain and say you weren't going to pay your bill. I felt so sorry for the receptionist and it was totally unnecessary.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thank you for your review. I have passed your comments onto the Chef and Restaurant Manager regarding brown toast. Also broken lounger removed. For your information, we have just redecorated and re-carpeted 5 rooms and have another 20 planned over the winter, so we will keep trying but as you saw we can't please everyone.
Once Again, Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel was terrible, we did not sleep a wink because of all the noise and the spring came right through the mattress so it had to be changed for the next night, upon doing so we fortunately took our personal expensive belongings with up as we returned to find our door wide open and waited half a hour before a porter returned only to apologise in a half hearted manor. The rooms were filthy and also so were the enticing swimming pools on the website lol. We left before the second night so we lost £75.00 but could not face another night there.

Room Tip: Will not happen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Came here with a tour bus. Having read less than enthusiastic reviews, we were delighted to find they were far from accurate. The room was comfortable and kept spotlessly clean. The food was tasty, there was always several choices and the staff went out of their way to cheerfully accommodate every whim. While refurbishment would not go amiss in the pool area, on the whole the hotel was well maintained and efficiently run. The location is very handy for the seafront . Our taster of Torquay and the Cavendish has left us keen to return.

Room Tip: Ours was first floor with a view - albeit a little far - of the cruise ships in the bay. It was easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catriona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Went to the canendish in june. We enjoyed it that much we decided to go back for a week and that was 24/8 - 31/8. Firstly, would like to thank Mike for booking us both in and welcoming us back.
The room was spacious and very, very clean.
The food is still very good and very hot - we read the previous reviews about there not being baked beans on the full english breakfast and it does show the management take the reviews very seriously - so now you get baked beans every morning.
Pool area was lovely to sit around and the pool was clean and inviting.
We would like to thank all the staff for there professional attitude and the way you are made very welcome - nothing is too much trouble to them all and that is what makes a good.holiday. A big thank you to Simon who was our waiter at meal - you could not wish for a more polite person. Then theres loveable, laughable Paul - he gets all the guest laughing.
Many, many thanks once again to all the Cavendish staff for a great week and the weather was fab aswell.
M&B Gascoigne (mr &mrs2013)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrandmrs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. We have passed your kind comments to all our hardworking staff.
Once again, Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,323 reviews
0.2 mi away
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#55 of 87 in Torquay
1,024 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#22 of 87 in Torquay
1,173 reviews
0.9 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#50 of 87 in Torquay
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: $47 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run two-star hotel only 400 m from the sea front and ten minutes from town. We have excellent facilities and nightly entertainment, our rates are very competitive and a large number of regular guests come back to us year after year. Groups and individuals welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing