We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Abbey Lawn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abbey Lawn Hotel
Ranked #62 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I must say that I have generally found TripAdvisor reviews to be accurate, but certainly not in the case of this hotel. I am a fussy traveller and find it hard to understand why this hotel has received so many bad reviews from KGB clients.
We stayed here with another couple for a KGB weekend deal last weekend and I have nothing but praise for the place. The rooms were clean (albeit a little dated), the staff were efficient and friendly and the food was wholesome and well presented. At £99 for 2 people for 2 days BB&3-course dinner what do people expect?
The hotel clearly caters more for bus tours and as such it needs to adopt a more rigourous timetable, for example dinner at 6:30pm and breakfast at 8:30am (little flexibility. However to have the meals served so efficiently and arriving hot can only be applauded, when they cater for over 120 guests.Thank you for a nice, comfortable stay, Please do not assume all KGB clients are all the same.
As for the couple who commented they would rather stay in a tent I would suggest they might be better suited to that!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank PeteCaerdydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    68
    26
    14
    15
See reviews for
30
93
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Before I start you need to know that we paid extra to upgrade to a room with a sea view.
The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from the sea front. Yes we did have a sea view but it was a very distant view.
The room was very spacious and spotlessly clean. Included in the tea tray were little packets of biscuits (nice touch).The bathroom was very large, modern and spotlessly clean and toiletries are supplied.
Yes the evening meal and breakfast are at set times but the food was tasty and hot.
This hotel seems to be run on minimum staff but they are all polite and helpful.
Yes they have coach parties but these probably keep the hotel open and if you do not wish to sit in on the evening entertainment there is a lovely spacious conservatory with plenty of seating and lovely grounds on a nice evening.
Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 3ohappycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Food awful like school dinners guest rounded up like sheep at set meal times staff very unpleasant worse than fawlty towers not recommended to stay here if your under 70 years old the only good thing was the whether we had on March 14th weekend the gym was none existent and pool area was unsuitable to use

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Reading the reviews the day before departure my wife and I set off with some trepidation!But on arrival and accessing our room we were pleasantly surprised. The room was of good size, very clean, and had views over the sea. All the staff were very helpful and service in the bar and restaurant was very efficient. The entertainment was very good and better than expected.
Menu choice was limited but adequate and served hot and fresh. For £45 a night it was good value for money - coach travel included!

Room Tip: We paid extra for a premier room and it was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just goes to show you shouldn't listen to all you read! We have just returned from a weekend break at the Abbey Lawn Hotel on a KGB deal. I have to say that I almost cancelled after reading so many awful reviews! Thank goodness we didn't! I think we received value for money, especially considering we used a KGB deal. Yes the floorboards creak - it's an old building. Yes they have got set times for meals - wasn't a problem. Food was okay and varied. If you want 4 star then you need to book into a 4 star hotel! Our room was huge overlooking the tennis courts with beautiful sash windows. Yes the rooms are tired looking but are spotlessly clean, warm and supplied with plenty of tea, coffee, biscuits and bottled water. There was entertainment on both nights and the staff were very helpful and attentive. My only negative point is that the hotel uses blankets instead of duvets. This is a personal dislike of mine, but the bedding was still spotless and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel. Even more so if you can book using a KGB deal. My husband and I would certainly book into this hotel again. So, if like me you've been reading all the reviews and are feeling apprehensive - DON'T just go to the Abbey Lawn and enjoy the break! We certainly did.

Room Tip: Rooms over the tennis courts have better views and If you use the indoor pool don't forget your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I cannot understand recent reviews (kgb deals) which appeared quite damning. We experienced a good and varied menu. Nothing was too much for our waiter(Jon) prompt serving and clearing away. Our room was clean and of good décor. From joining our coach, all our luggage was handled for us. A very enjoyable coach holiday, reasonably priced and travel insurance included. Thank you Robinsons and Abbey Lawn. The lift needs updating.
Allen our driver , excellent, Jovial and well versed in local knowledge

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilston, West Midlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I have had real difficulty in writing this review as everything that I wanted to say has already been said by other recent reviewers, most of whom must have spent the same week-end as my wife & I. Like other reviewers, I had booked with the Abbey Lawn on a KGB deal. £99 for two nights with breakfast & evening meal included - how could this not be a good deal ?
We were greeted with a nice surprise upon arrival. When booking (central booking), I was told that only Twin Rooms were available on the week-end I wanted. I begrudgingly accepted this although Shanice did say that she would try to find me a Double, possibly by way of a cancellation, before my arrival. Good to her word, we were allocated a very nice Double Room (115) with Four Poster Bed and distant sea view. Apart from the very squeaky floor, no complaints whatsoever. Hotel staff were very pleasant and the hotel was scrupulously clean.
What was most unusual was that no card details were taken on arrival for purchases during your stay. We soon found out that this was because everything was required to be a cash transaction. Again-unusual, but no great problem. As stated in other reviews, what let the Abbey Lawn down was its restuarant. Fixed meal times for all at 8.30am for Breakfast & 6.30 for Dinner, did make the atmosphere a little Retirement Home. Food Quality could best be described as 1960s School Dinners, filling but not very appetising in either presentation or content. The restuarant staff were however very attentive, managing to get guests through three courses in just over thirty minutes.
In conclusion, a very good deal, accomodation good, hotel position good, staff good, food not so good.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a superior room with seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Spitfireman2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#73 of 87 in Torquay
91 reviews
0.9 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#55 of 87 in Torquay
520 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#33 of 87 in Torquay
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,825 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 87 in Torquay
1,213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Lawn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Lawn Hotel

Property: Abbey Lawn Hotel
Address: Scarborough Road, Torquay TQ2 5UQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Lawn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Abbey Lawn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Lawn Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing