We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Holiday”
Review of Abbey Lawn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbey Lawn Hotel
Ranked #62 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely Holiday”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I was at at the Abbey Lawn last week with my parents my dad is almost 90,my brother and my 15 year old nephew and what a fantastic holiday we had. Ignore the negative reviews about portion sizes as we certainly never left the table hungry and as for breakfast it really was good and all the meals are piping hot.The hotel itself is clean and well run. My nephew and I spent lots of time in the outdoor pool and on the sun loungers at the pool and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves the only drawback is having to go upstairs for drinks but for the price of the holiday can we really expect a poolside bar and anyway there is a lift .Barry the manager and Heidi his wife were really nice people and barry always ready with a joke, everybody had nothing but good things to say about all the management All the staff were great and were extremely kind to a group of partially sited young adults staying there and went out of their way to make their holiday as fun as possible Barry even drove into town to pick them up one day so they wouldn't, be late for the theatre,I didn't,t hear any negative comments about either them or the assistant manager Randall and his wife who were also lovely people. I can,t comment on the entertainment as we didn't,t stay for it and can only comment on our rooms my parents,and my brother and nephew had premium rooms which were huge and overlooked the bay both were light and airy and very nice with things like biscuits and horlicks provided. Mine was a standard room at the other side of the hotel it was still good,well decorated and also really nice all the usuals tea coffee hair dryer etc. There was plenty of choice at mealtimes drinks available all day bar and snacks at lunchtime if wanted. This was a lovely hotel add the fact that the weather was amazing and for us it was perfect we shall definitely go back to the Abbey Lawn.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have the sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Dinah0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    69
    26
    14
    16
See reviews for
30
97
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Have had many great holidays with Robinsons and looked forward to staying at one of their owned resort hotels. The lack of customer service and my complaints regarding an issue at the bar on the first evening left me subjected very poor treatment for the remainder of the holiday. I was verbally abused by the manager in front of other guests and physically chased to the stairs when I could no longer stand and take the abuse levelled at me.

The whole experience was so out of character as on all previous occasions with Robinsons we have enjoyed a good standard of care.

At 77 years of age and blind in one eye due to severe diabetes I had hoped for a more caring approach but that was never going to be the case as the manager of the hotel what ever his perceived justification wanted simply to bully me.

At 5 ft 2 inches and weighing just nine stone I never stood a chance.

This is not the first comment on tripadvisor regarding the management attacking the elderly. Shame on you

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
17 Thank Ronald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We booked this holiday on the glowing reports we had heard about this hotel. Sadly we were very disappointed. The food we thought was of a poor quality and portions some nights were on the small side. At breakfast, items on the full English were down to the minimum i.e. if you wanted a waffle you couldn't have baked beans, dining room staff seemed run off their feet giving the impression that they were short staffed. Our shower and hand basin I don't think had had a good clean for a long time, likewise the bathroom floor. On the plus side the beds were comfortable and the bed linen clean. On the journey down the coach we travelled on was very cramped with little leg room. My husband is a average 5' 10" and I am just under 5' and I found the leg room cramped. No explanation was given for this inferior coach. We travelled with Robinsons last year and stayed at the Imperial Hotel, Eastbourne. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Sadly we cannot say the same about the Abbey Lawn Hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel although shabby with creaking floorboards do have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dorothy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had requested a room on a low floor because of physical disabilities.
When we arrived we were told we were on the 3rd floor which is at the top. When we queried this we were told in a very unfriendly way that no other rooms were available. The shower was a fixed one and over the bath which was very unsafe when you are not very capable of climbing into the bath. However the Hotel was very clean and the meals were on time and served on very hot plates which was a plus. We asked for a table for 4 but were told it was a table for six. There didn't seem to be any flexibility with requests and the overall opinion was if you don't like it, so what, put up with it. We will not be going to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are very hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dorothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trowbridge, wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is in a good location with ample parking. About a 10 minute walk to the seafront. The public areas are clean and well maintained. We had a room on the top floor with a sea view. The room was not very spacious but clean and adequate even if a little dated. The restaurant staff were very good and the food tasty.
There were alot of mature people staying, but they were friendly and made no noise in the evenings and that suits me fine.
It is not The Ritz but you are not paying Ritz prices. Overall a good value for money hotel with friendly staff and wholesome food.

Room Tip: a high sea view room gives you good views of the coastline and the Tennis club
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nickiTrowbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Don't be thinking that Abbey Lawn is for people of a certain age. We had a fabulous group of people, all like minded who enjoyed all the trips Robinsons offered. The trips were various with a few added on to the inclusive ones. Alan, our driver, made the journeys memorable!! The hotel is excellent, although we were in a premier room which is to be recommended. Heidi and Barry and staff were very pleasant, especially Jon who served us our meals. The only thing I would say is that if you intend swimming, unless you go to the outside pool, don't bother. The inside pool is out of the way, with no-one watching for your safety although there is supposed to be CCTV it is doubtful that it is manned all the time. Meals varied and plentiful and very, very hot, We shall return!!

Room Tip: Pick a premier room, we had great sea view and there was plenty of room to move about. Only one war...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mr J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Having booked the 3 night break through Groupon to include dinner on two evenings. We never expect to much for what we paid. We were therefore pleasently surprised at the overall appearence of the hotel.
We had a room on the first floor over looking the front. The room was clean although a little tired.
We were informed on arrival that dinner was at 6.30pm with breakfast served at 8.30am each day.
Most of the other guests were were with a coach tour company all very pleasent.
The dinner in the evening offered you a three course meal with four or five choices in each course with coffe served in the ballroom. Breakfast was served at your table and offered a good selection.
The only downside for us was that the only way to get to the indoor pool was via the lift and then through a warren of passagways and not very well signed. You could also get to the pool via the fire escape at the side of the building and remembering to keep the side fire escape door from closing

Room Tip: Although our room overlooked the front of the hotel it was still quite the rooms on the other side o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank treborsille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#71 of 87 in Torquay
92 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,876 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 87 in Torquay
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#33 of 87 in Torquay
737 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#42 of 87 in Torquay
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Lawn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Lawn Hotel

Property: Abbey Lawn Hotel
Address: Scarborough Road, Torquay TQ2 5UQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Lawn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Abbey Lawn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Lawn Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing