We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - wonderful management & staff, lovely food - would recommend”
Review of Abbey Lawn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbey Lawn Hotel
Ranked #59 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed July 16, 2011

just enjoyed a 8 day Robinsons coach holiday at abbey lawn with my mother. Very helpful amusing coach driver Allan took us on some wonderful trips, also can recommend the round robin trip. The hotel was very clean, very inviting, our room was lovely and kept very clean, water lovely and hot, food was wonderful, very varied selection, Tim was our waiter and he could not do enough for us, John also served us some days, lovely young man he is too. The management were very friendly, entertaining and helpful, Heidi is lovely, very chatty, funny and helpful, i will miss her. Barry has a great dry sense of humour, very friendly, they both work hard. Scott the barman is lovely, very friendly, chatty and helpful. the assistant managers are great too Kate and Randal. the indoor pool is lovely clean and warm, a bit shallow but can still enjoy a good swim, the gym is modern and offers plenty and always supervised. the outdoor pool (yes i was brave enough to go in) is very cold but ok once you get in, really enjoyed it, garden/patio areas are kept nice. night entertainment is ok, Hiliary who is on one night is very good. yes the lift is very old but it works and i think brings character to the hotel. there is a lovely path at the back of the hotel which takes you to the beach, quite flat too. would recommend the hotel and robinsons coach trips at abbey lawn without hesitation and i hope to return myself in the near future. thanks heidi and barry

Room Tip: my room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the tennis club with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank freddykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 198 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2011

Arrived on 8th may 2011 and greeted by a 'charming', more like creepy manageress 'heidi' really smiling person but could see not enjoying the job. Became ruder as the week went on. Her husband Barry was different. He started rude and continued the trend all week with insulting and sexual comments to guess and local gym members. The food was so so for the price we paid. Small breakfast, hard toast like it was frozen then oven cooked. Evening meal slot better and enjoyed the gammon on Tuesday the most. tum our waiter was something to be desired. Talking to himself could have been fun but constantly cursing too was very disturbing for most of the guests including myself.
The room was 6 out of 10. Clean to a basic standard but non helpful polish cleaner couldn't speak English didnt make life easier. Duvet looked like it only cleaned once a year and no room refreshments filled up and no help there from the cleaners except if you went to another floor where they were helpful. Both Kerry and michaela were happy to help.
Hotel over all was as expected for price but waiting staff and management is greatly desired.
I think new management with drive and passion would sort out all these problems.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Pickles2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We recently stayed 4nights at this hotel.The restaurant food was good,plenty of choice,and the staff were very efficient.The night porter was also very pleasant.Managment however a smile every now and then wouldn't go amiss.We went with Robinsons coach holidays[they were excellent by the way,]the whole of our coach were from the same fun loving villageaged 60 plus.Obviously this is not what this hotel is used to.I was told thier usual clientelle is 70-90 years of age.If you like us enjoy life, and are not ready to sit and curl up your toes,this hotel is not recommended.Barry the manager is not very professional,he was very illmannered to some of the guests.Manager and Manageress both need to attend a personality and managment coarse,at a smile and be pleasant school.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank funloving60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Good points. 1 food. 2 service. 3 entertainment .4 value. 5 location.

Worst point – not the best quality of room furniture although there was a large flat screen tv. The bathroom was nice and everything was cleaned to a high standard daily.

I am the fussiest of all eaters but found the food to be really nice, obviously not top qualitu expensive restaurant but certainly value for money. You defiantly wont starve here with 4 courses for both breakfast and evening meals. There was even one evening where there was nothing on the menu that i liked (because i’m fussy, nothing wrong with the menu) and when i asked them what they could do they offered to cook me something else that wasn’t even on the menu. How’s that for service!?

The service in the restaurant was excellent and the reception and bar staff are all very friendly and knowledgeable about the area.

Of course the entertainment isn’t west end standards but very enjoyable.

Then there’s the added extra of a pool, gym and steam room.

Also the hotel is about 3 mins walk to the seafront.

Overall fantastic value for money break away.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tobs1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

just come back from abbey lawn hotel where we were staying for a salsa weekend. The food was lovely it was never going to be a la carte but you are not paying a la carte money, but it was very nice. Could not fault the service in dining room/ bar /reception and it made quite a welcome change for the staff to be able to string a sentence together pass the normal "have a nice day madam". very friendly and homely would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank essexlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

The food at this hotel was awful, It was meant to be a Turkey and Tinsel break , the Christmas Dinner consisted of Turkey Roll like you can buy from supermarkets, with a sausage which was as hard as a brick . The bacon served at breakfast was like trying to chew rubber, followed by cold hard toast. If you want to diet here is the perfect place to start. The rooms were what you expect from a coaching holiday I suppose , no frills or duvets. The entertainment was quite acceptable, but it was run mainly by the management. The manager was pleasant enough but his wife wasn't a bag of laughs.Nor too helpfull would not stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shintin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Recently spent 6 nights at this hotel with friends. Had 2 twin rooms, both overlooking the car park, but very quiet. Abbey Lawn is a coach tour hotel, but we went independantly and it was certainly good value for money.

Position: Set back from the promenade. About a 5 minuite walk along a main road, downhill. Problem is that it is uphill coming back!! Those with walking difficulties may find that a problem.

Reception and welcome. We found the staff on reception always helpful, and if they didn't know the answer they would find out! On arrival we were offered help with our luggage.

Lift: Must have been there from when hotel was built! Holds 4 people and moves very slowly. Expected to find Mr. Humphreys when we got out!

Room: No complaints at all. Was kept clean, but a piece of cotton on the floor stayed there all week suggesting that the vacume wasn't used much. Bathroom more than adequate with hot water at all times. Heating came on at different times of the day, but being on the third floor our rooms were always warm with the heat rising from downstairs.

Dining: Set times. 8,30 breakfast, 6.30 dinner. Service in the restaurant was excellent as far as we were concerned. Food was more than adequate with a good choice. You choose your evening meal every morning. I can recommend the salads.

Bar: Service fast and friendly. Prices reasonable.

Entertainment: Something for everyone. Bingo most nights, and then general entertainers.

Leisure Facilities: Fair. The gym is small but has some good equipment. The pool is small but the water warm and shallow. Steam room good. Staff member in the facility very helpful.

Would I go again: Without question. Don't expect the Ritz . But then you are not paying the Ritz prices!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mrhilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#71 of 85 in Torquay
94 reviews
1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,118 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#27 of 85 in Torquay
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 85 in Torquay
1,172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#55 of 85 in Torquay
979 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Lawn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Lawn Hotel

Address: Scarborough Road, Torquay TQ2 5UQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: $59 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Lawn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Abbey Lawn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Lawn Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing