We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“honest review”
Review of Bay Torbay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Torbay Hotel
Ranked #31 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have just spent 4 nights at the Torbay Hotel booked through Shearing’s. The journey from our home town to the hotel took almost 12 hours but the seats on the coaches are very comfortable and the drivers are very good and there are comfort stops every 2 hours or so, our Torquay driver Ray was excellent very entertaining and professional. The positives about the Torbay Hotel are the staff, the majority of which are excellent and very customer focused and happy to help whenever they can especially Robert the restaurant manager. The second best thing about this hotel is the food; it was very good and served quickly. The hotel is a beautiful old building and in a prime location and the view of the Marina and bay right outside the door is beautiful.
The negatives about this hotel are some of the rooms and the overcrowded restaurant. Room 410 was the first room we were allocated and the wall paper was hanging off the wall with damp, the staff did move us immediately on request but I was brought up in the hotel business and would never have allocated a room in that state to any customer. The dining room is too small to accommodate all the tables required for guests so customers are allocated a table with other guests; this is fine if you are asked if that is what you want however there should be a choice for guests who wish to dine as a couple without it being an issue. The hotel rooms are very warm and the windows would benefit from nets or blinds for added privacy for the guests as the hotel does face on to a main road.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at the Torbay. Firtsly many thanks for your praise for the food, staff and in particular Robert who was attentive to you during your stay. I will look into the comments you have made regarding the bedroom and take appropirate action as required. our restaurant can get tight when full and evreyone comes in at the same time but it should not detract from your dining exprience. We are in a great location and the views are tremendous I agree.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 795 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

After reading some of the reviews I was a bit apprehensive as to what to find ?.
I can only say that all of the staff were very good, reception, waiting, bar and chambermaids.
The food as far as I and my wife were concerned there was a good selection both at breakfast and dinner.
The room we had was on the 4th floor and we did upgrade,certainly we have no complaints about this, had been renovated it was nice and clean and fresh, we only had a shower if you were a bit on the large size you might have trouble getting through the door.
The only things I would comment on, and this is a constructive criticism
Is that the restuarant and downstairs toilets are looking tired (but to update it I would guess that would mean shutting the hotel down for a period of time). And the lift is very slow.
It is well situated at the end of the promenade near the Marina and the town.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are very quiet, but do not have much of a view and the top floor was very warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheRamblers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review of the Torbay. I am glad that you enjoyed you holiday and that it exceeded your expectations. We do get some lovely comments and its good that the food and the staff are positively recieved. I am also glad that you enjoyed one of our recently refurbshed rooms and hopefully look forward to your return. We do refurbish reguarly as you noted by your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

On arrival given a key to a third floor room by reception who just gave me a key no welcome at at or giving any information about the hotel very cold welcome.
On arrival into room it was very dated which i was not expecting a palace for what i paid but when i went into the bathroom there was a smell of old urine i suspect its from the flooring.
I went back to reception to complain and was given a second room on the second floor by the frosty male receptionist there was no apology or can we help you move your luggage just a quote "Don't touch anything in the room it needs a deep clean we have other guests coming in"
Second room again dated but lovely and clean and the bed really comfortable we were given clean towels every day and housekeeping were friendly.
We were half board and the food was great lots of choice and plenty of it the restaurant staff were really good especially Hannah our waitress also we ate in the bay cafe the sandwiches and cream teas are good here and the lady serving is lovely makes you feel very welcome.
This hotel is in a prime location and with a upgrade to the rooms and a little staff training to reception in customer service its would be ideal .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank deano223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Hi dulais, I am glad that you had a good weekend with us despite the initial probems that you encountered, I will look into the problems that you faced on reception. I am pleased that you enjoyed the food and the restaurant staff and I will ensure that Hannah is told that you were happy with her service. Sharon on the cafe is the lady who looked after you and she does work hard there, its nice to hear that you took advantage of what was on offer at the cafe. Thank you for posting a review and I do hope that we will see you return to us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Me and my husband booked to stay at The Torbay Hotel for 1 night as we decided to extend our trip in Torquay and the hotel we were staying in was fully booked. The Torbay had a room available and it was in a good location so we decided to book. From when you walk in the hotel you think it doesn't look too bad, then when we got into the room we was very disappointed, how people can review this hotel as excellent or even good is beyond belief. We paid £80 for 1 nights bed & breakfast which is unbelievable for the room we had. There was only 2 good things about the room, 1; the size was quite good and 2; the view was overlooking the sea front, other than that, that is where the positives stop! The room wasn't overally clean, it had damp and mould on the ceiling the bed was lumpy and of very poor quality, the furniture was very dated, the bathroom was tiny and had mould on the tiles etc. The tv was very old and didn't work overally well. Overall it was a very tired looking room which is in desperate need of refurbishment. You can see that they have refurbished the main entrance which misleads you into thinking that the hotel is nice, but as soon as you step beyond this you can see how old and tired it really is. The breakfast the following morning we were very dubious about but it was ok, all cooked well but you could tell that the quality of ingredients were on the cheaper side, however they did offer an extensive breakfast menu. The service was good overall, the receptionist who dealt with us was helpful and informative. The parking situation is not ideal however at least they have a car park even though you have to walk round the houses to get to it. All in all we were thoroughly disappointed with our stay and would NEVER stay here again and would discourage anyone from staying here!!! I think the owners seriously need to spend the money on the hotel that they are making rather than pocketing it, because I see no signs of this stated refurbishment in the rooms, where it is needed!

Room Tip: Don't book, go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

I am sorry that you didn't find your one night stay as enjoyable as many of our guests do. A number of reviews are very positive in their comments toward the hotel and it is unfortunate you were not here long enough to see the full extent of what we as a hotel have to offer. i believe that our pricing is quite reasonable for a stay in August in any resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our 5th visit with the Bay Hotels this year, and as always the service, comfort and hotels are worth every penny.....after reading a few reviews on this hotel we were a bit worried what it would be like, but you should try it out yourself, the bad reviews are unjustified, some people should not stay in hotels, they just complain about everything for no apparent reason.
We had a beautiful front facing room (316), with plenty of clean fluffy towels, toiletries, and tea/coffee well replenished daily.
The food was very good and plenty of it. Our trainee waiter (David) was the best server we have ever had...kind, attentive,efficient and polite.
The hotel pool was a good size too, with very clean changing rooms.
The lounge area were very spacious and the furniture was a very good standard and all looked brand new. All the staff were very attentive, We cannot find any fault with this hotel.
Our only bad comment would be that the traffic noise can be a bit too loud and late (till 3.30am)
but then again it was the weekend and the hotel is in walking distance to the town, pubs marina etc. Not really sure what could be done to rectify that, maybe more police presence?
Either way, the hotel has a great feel, staff, location, and amazing value for money...we paid £99 each for 3 nights half board.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room at the back of the hotel as they have no road outside. t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelmarkCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

I am very happy that your fifth vist to a Bay hotel lived up to the other four that you have experienced.I am glad that the room and recently refurbished public areas met with your approval and David will be happy that you thought so highly of him in his short time with us.It is always good to hear that you find us good value for money and we look forward to welcoming you again for your next holiday, if not here, then wherever is next on your list to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

we went to this hotel on a 5 day break with shearings coach holidays .we went in march to the same hotel and enjoyed it. we left stretton inter change on the coach 20 min late, we picked up some more passengers at keele services and had to wait 35 mins for a passenger to arrive that did not impress the coach passengers. we had a room on the 4th floor and it was at the front and was a really big room with views over the trees and across the bay the bathroom also had a big window(not frosted but had a blind) which had great views along the seafront .i said last time only having the one lift is a pain but we understand the hotel is not allowed to alter the building. food is ok but we wished the veg especially was cooked a bit more then they wouldnt be hard. plenty going on last week firework display accross the bay on monday. we went to painton on tuesday a very nice place but not a lot there. wednesday did a river cruise on the river dart to dartmouth the commentry going a long the river by the crew was brill. dartmouth was chocky because it was regatta week but would love to go back really enjoyed it. wednesday evening there was a display by the red arrows brilliant. there was a by plane with w ing walker doing acrobatatics think that was tuesday evening, thursday we went to brixham on the ferry for 2 pound each return about 39 min crossing enjoyed that to. made new friends this tim. thanks to our coach driver chris who was brilliant . will more than likely go back again but when its summer and so theres more going on like this one.

Room Tip: we personally wouldnt pay extra for the rooms a standards is ok for us but thats a personal choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Hi mayahWigan and thanks for your review. It is always positive when guests enjoy themselves that they return and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your timing was perfect with the Red Arrows as usual entertaining everyone. Hopefully when you return next summer, we will still have good weather and there is plenty going on for you to enjoy,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked this holiday using coachholidays.com but went for the self drive option. The cost was £89 per person for 2 nights half board and so we had it in mind that any minor niggles, at this price, are to be expected. However, the review is written without being coloured by price because this was booked by us on a deal which other travellers may not get and therefore it needs a full and balanced review.

The Torbay Hotel is a Victorian building with many original period features. The Hotel is situated on the seafront and the marina/promenade is just over the road - it is a great location and the town shopping area is very close by. It has around 111 public letting rooms, 20 staff rooms and around 4 flats. The letting rooms range from standard to superior and prestige. The prices obviously vary accordingly with supplements for better rooms.

We stayed in a standard double which was room 221 on the second floor. Like many large old victorian buildings there are lots of stairs but there is a lift although it was not always easy to get. In addition, because this type of hotel is popular with the elderly, there was evidence of mobile stair lifts which had been put out one night (obviously to assist the less able).

The room was at the top and back of the hotel. It was fully carpeted and furnished with old dark furniture and a small double bed. It had a window overlooking a roof space (No view). The furniture was dated and the room quite tired looking. However, it was clean and the en suite bathroom was adequate with an over bath shower and a good supply of hot water. The bathroom also had the basic requirements of toiletries etc.

The TV was a candidate for the antiques roadshow but there was a digital radio with an mp3 player connection. There was an adequate supply of tea and coffee and a hairdryer.

Overall, the room was dated and tired but it was clean and had all the basics right - clean sheets and towels and maid service daily.

The hotel has an indoor swimming pool on the first floor. However, we didn't use it but we did see it on cctv at reception and it looked OK. Towels for the pool are charged at £1 each with a £5 refundable deposit.

The public areas are clean and the restaurant is quite nice.

Meal times are breakfast 8 till 9 am and dinner is 6.30 till 8 pm. You are allocated a table for the duration of the stay and the meals are served by the waiting staff.

The evening meal is 3 courses (chosen from a reasonable choice of dishes from the days menu) plus coffee. The drinks are served to you by the wine waiters and he has a choice of wines or drinks from the bar. Breakfast is basically a choice of anything you want - ranging from full English (Veggie option available) to cereals and toast plus anything in between. You can have cereal plus full English if you want it. There is tea and coffee and juices all served at your table. You can have what you want and are not limited to choice.

I have to say that the quality of the food is very good and so is the choice. It is all served piping hot by the waiters and waitresses and the staff were really lovely. I cannot fault the restaurant at all. After dinner they also serve a choice of different types of coffee in the lounge at only 80 pence a cup - great value, nice coffee.

The lounge bar serves reasonably priced drinks and is fine for a chill out. There is a cafe called Bay cafe which is actually an extension of the lounge and here you can get snacks and drinks throughout the day. But, Torquay is not short of eating houses and there is a vast choice nearby so we didn't try the cafe.

We did ask the receptionist if we could upgrade our room and although it wasn't possible we were able to see a superior room (No 111) for future reference. I have to say that it was very nice and really well appointed. It overlooked the sea front. However, being a listed building, there is no double glazing and a number of other guests reported noise issues during the night from the traffic and revellers returning home. One man told us that it kept him awake until around 4 am when the partygoers finally finished!

Our room, although dated, was extremely quiet and we had a full nights sleep. So, swings and roundabouts with room choices but a quiet room beats a renovated one all day long.

Now, onto parking. This is frankly a bit of an issue. You have to pay £5 per night and that is fair enough because parking is at a premium in the town. The real issue is that the car park is around a quarter to half a mile away and you have to walk that distance to and from the car. The car park is actually part of a pretty dismal multi storey affair owned by the council. You get a card to use against a £20 refundable deposit.

Top tips about the car park - don't forget anything as the walk is a pain. And, upon checkout give the car park card back and get the deposit before you leave the hotel - you don't need the card to exit the car park so you can save yourself a journey by giving the card back before you leave.

And, because checkout is 10 am you need to remember that you don't need the car park card to get out of the car park - so, if you want to have a last walk around town why not leave the car where it is until you are ready to leave town? In other words - you have to check out at 10am but the car can stay put until you are ready to drive home!

In summary, a reasonable budget range 3 star hotel with good staff and good food. Certain rooms will benefit from a refit. The location is very good. We would recommend this hotel for older travellers and those on a budget. Is a better hotel than many others in the vicinity - especially at the price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LPPPPPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for your very informative review of your recent stay with us at the Torbay. I also believe that we offer great value for money holidays and I am glad that you enjoyed so much of what we had to offer including the food,service, standards in place and cleanliness of your room. We do have a great location which is ideal for our guests.The parking is unfortunately not on site but there are short cuts to avoid a long walk and of course you can offload and load your luggage outside the hotel. It is also good that you point out that our guests may use the car park on departure day for a while, so no rushing out the door. We do have refurbishments on a regular basis of our rooms and I am pleased that you got to see one of our Superior rooms which are very popular. Hopefully we will see you once more in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#26 of 85 in Torquay
515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
670 reviews
0.5 mi away
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms
0.8 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#23 of 85 in Torquay
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Torbay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $72 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Torbay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, 'grand features in warm surroundings,' and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities - the Premier and Superior rooms are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, an indoor heated swimming pool and a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre's shops, boutiques and restaurants. After two years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka "Rock Walk") has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Bay Torbay Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing