We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Torbay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$94
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$234
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Marstan(Torquay)
$102
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
$103
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (833)
Filter reviews
833 results
Traveler rating
240
332
150
48
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
240
332
150
48
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront facingshearings holidaydining roomsmall liftshearings hotelsself drivelarge treesbig wheelour waiterfourth floorevening mealcoach driverswimming poolsea viewcar parkwaiting staffexcellent position
Filter
Updating list...
674 - 679 of 833 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

enjoyed another weekend break at this hotel ,,its ideal , really good location,good helpful staff ,room fine ,food fine ,,nothing to complain about ,if you want extra food , tea /milk,towels etc just ask , happy fun hosts ,cant wait to go back ,,and all staff make this hotel so good .great team, thank you ,,,angie williams.

Room Tip: we used to have front facing but now prefer second floor back facing
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rathven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful post Angie, and as always its a pleasure to look after you,We look forward to you coming to see us again soon. I will also pass on your comments to the staff, who will be very pleased .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Four days break for our anniversary. After 81/2 hours travel we went to our room. No delay really on binging the luggage up. We didn't have any view apart from the banking of rubble about 2 metres from our window, however some guests we spoke to had paid extra for a sea view and didn't get one. Our room was over the swimming pool and too warm at all times. The location was the only ggod thing about this hotel.
The food was terrible only to be compared with a £1 microwave meal
After the first night eating both myself and husband were ill. We had a swim in the pool and eating the night before so it was either the pool or the food.
This calmed down after a day but we didnt eat at the hotel again.
Our room also smelt very strong of damp and fustiness.
I would not expect to be this ill from going to somewhere in England. Having said that on the morning we were going my husband mentioned to one of the staff at reception we ha been ill and they had immodium there! which we found very uncommon.
May go back to Torquay but keeping away from this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eccles44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

I am sorry that you felt that your stay was not as you expected, and am disappointed that you did not enjoy the food, although I would say that most people are very complimentary about our food as can be seen by other postings.I am sure if you had tried other meals then you would have enjoyed them
I woud like to add that we advertise our rooms as front facing views and not sea views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Visited the Bay Torbay Hotel, with friends, on 12.10.12. Having read several reviews I was not expecting too much. I was however pleasently surprised at the standards bearing in mind that it was a cheap weekend. The food was ok,as were the rooms and entertainment. I wouls not hesitate visiting this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamhaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you grahamhaynes for your post, its always good to pleasantly surprise people on their first stay and I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much, that you will visit us again - hopefully soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The location of this hotel is excellent and car parking is a short distance away from the hotel but the hotel gave excellent directions. Stayed here for a two night break. Had read previous reviews and although mixed they gave some indication of what to expect. This could be a wonderful hotel if they sorted out a few of the niggles. The main problem being the lift, saw many elderly people using sticks trying to get to their rooms by having to use the lifts as you always had to wait a long time. For what we paid we did not expect five star but even so found some of the fascilities could be updated. Thought the entertainment was fine, played music for all tastes, short game of bingo and cabaret. Prices of drinks were very high, in a top class hotel this would be acceptable but I do think that they need to compromise. Was very surprised when at breakfast one of the party asked for fruit juice, weetabix and cooked breakfast they were told this was not allowed, it was either or. Would have liked croissants as a choice for breakfast as did not want cooked food. Staff were on the whole friendly but always seemed in a rush to get you out of the dining room. All this apart enjoyed our short stay but would probably book elsewhere if we intended to stay longer. If this hotel was brought up to date it would be worth its weight in gold.

Room Tip: Had upgraded to a front facing room and was allocated one on the fourth floor. Did not have double glazing, old Television and hot water in the bathroom took a long time to reach the taps and shower.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Group4people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thanks for your comments on your recent stay and I am glad that you had a nice stay. The location is excellent for sure and is often commented on.
While we do have one lift, it really is about patience and taking ones time, although I am pleased you did not have an isue with it. our drinks I would say are reasonably priced for a hotel and while not weatherspoon prices, the facilities we offer are better.I will look into your comments about breakfast, as you should have been able to eat to your hearts content.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

well just back from lovely mid week break to this hotel it in great position staff were lovely bar staff very good, room clean and comfy negative lift small and when hotel full can be difficult but a small price to pay for inexpensive break food was interesting but got feeling chef was not English just by some of the combinations that were unusual but on the whole was more than enough and a good range to choose from. pool was nice but you need some one with you when you swim, changing room was lovely and clean but corridor to pool needs sorting. entertainment was good what we saw plenty of seating and space in bar area would go back as worth a second visit

Room Tip: ask for room near lift if you have trouble with steps
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valh49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Thank you Valh49 for such great comments about your stay, I am pleased that you found the staff and location amongst other things to be very good and the bar staff will be pleased for a mention. It is pleasin when guests not only write such nice words of praise, but also when they tell us that they will be coming back. We look forward to your next visit. Our Chef by the way is not only English but Devon through and through, maybe he is becoming continental in his approach! see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews