We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room 301”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay Torbay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Torbay Hotel
Ranked #30 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Room 301”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

Room 301 must be worst Hotel Room ever. Where are the health and safetly officers in Torquay.
Black Mould on wall and ceiling, which is a health hazard. The toilet is not fixed to the floor one side, it's a good thing that it's so close to the bath as it stops anyone falling on the floor, unfortunately you have to very nearly climb over the toilet to get into the shower which is not easy for people in their 70's. When booking the 5 day trip we were promised by the Travel Agent that we would have a proper ensuite but the basin was in the Bedroom (even when travelling with one's Sister you do need some privacy) The promised booking did not materialize, rudeness from reception did.
Food ?? Words cannot explain what I thought of the food, the Waiter was the only upside he was delightful. I think I was stitched up on the price too, £219. 00 for 5 days. NEVER AGAIN.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Room 301
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank joyce m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
I am sorry if you were disapponted with your recent stay. We do try to please all our guests and I will look into your room complaint , which is not a usual complaint. I would think that a 5 day coach break for the price you paid is very reasonable for all that is included?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    287
    132
    37
    51
See reviews for
116
400
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

Just returned from my first Shearings break. I found it excellent value for money; the hotel (the Torbay hotel in Torquay) was very nice and in a great location right on the seafront but also close to lots of shops. The newly decorated areas and bedrooms are very tastefully done. The staff were all very friendly and the food was nice with good sized portions. Our waitress, Hanna, was very nice and worked very hard to get us served in time when we had to be on the coach early after breakfast on a couple of mornings. Just one negative, it would be nice if breakfast times were a bit more flexible/longer. I had a room at the rear of the hotel which was one of the quietest hotel rooms I've ever slept in. The entertainment in the hotel was excellent. I will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel are much quieter than those at the front as there's a very busy m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your first Shearings break with us at the Torbay. It is always nice for the staff to hear that people like yourself have enjoyed so many aspects of the holiday. I will pass on your comments to Hannah too. I am glad you had such good nights sleep too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, Hampshire
Level Contributor
158 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

Our front-facing room had a view because its out-of-season and trees had lost their leaves.
First time visitors should be given clear written directions with their confirmation letter regarding check-in and luggage. Parking was a 10 minute walk away.
We weren't part of a Shearings Coach Tour as we wanted flexibility to stop along the coast on our way to and from Torquay. Once we had parked the car, we used our bus passes to explore nearby tourist attractions in Paignton, Brixham and Dartmouth. Bus stop was across the road. Hotel location ideal for those who want to enjoy walking along the beachfront, visiting the shops or for those planning bus excursions.
Staff at reception and in the dining room were particularly efficient and helpful.
Considering the room was a basic standard room, I wouldn't have expected anything more except I noticed that tissues, toiletries and biscuits were no longer available as in the past.
The bathroom was really "tacky" needing some major renovation. Window was rusty and full of damp; wall had one large crack and covered wires to bathroom heater exposed and untidy in a corner on the floor. However, room was clean and I can see that it would be costly to upgrade the bathroom, particularly because most standard bathrooms were probably in a similar poor state of repair being at the coast.
Entertainment by resident musician was mediocre and disappointing. The visiting duo on the Friday night and solo artist on Saturday were of a high standard. Fortunately there were a few wine bars that offered musical entertainment within walking distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: Be specific when requesting a room - we were impressed with the phone call to clarify what we had re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glynnis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Thank you for posting your review, and I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We do sit in an excellent location which can be invaluable, if like yourself people want to park the car and forget about it for a few days. We do try to refurbish as quickly as possible and I am peased that you were happy with the cleanliness all round and the efficiency of the reception and restaurant staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

My husband and I had a really nice stay at the Bay Torbay Hotel. I booked it before I looked it up on Tripadviser and was concerned with some of the reviews. I then looked at the Bay Torbay Hotels own website which was quite impresive. I had no need to fear as everything was lovelly and couldnt fault it. It is in a good position being right on the sea front. It has an indoor heated pool, < although I didnt use it.> Good service, good food, clean room, Nice friendly atmosphere, One of the reviews mentioned the lift, but we were on a Shearings Coach holiday staying on the 3rd floor and the lift was no problem to us at all. I would certainly recomend the Bay Torbay Hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Hi Patricia, I am glad you and your husband enjoyed your recent break with us., I know reading through all the varied reviews can be mind boggling, but I am glad that you trusted your own judgement and took note of the many positive postings that we get, and that you came to visit us. Your recommendation is welcome, and maybe you will come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karuah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed at the hotel in June wirh a shearings holiday for seven nights ,we had a seaview room which you could not see the sea due to the trees outside .The room itself was poor quality the curtain linings were all torn and hung in rags the paint was peelig was all coming off the window frames and sill .there were holes in the walls around the window frame we know they said they were refurbishing but how bad do you let the rooms get before taking action.We were disapointed with the lift for an hotel of this size it should have something more adequate like others have said it could be a long wait at meal times to use the lift it was a long walk down the stairs for the elderly and sometimes up after a tour arrived after its day out .The meals and the restaurant staff were exellent first class service no complaints there .But please get the rooms sorted out or you will end up losing a lot of customers .The tour driver we had was really good he did a great job for shearings took our minds off the room .Not a good recommendation to take back to Australia with us sorry.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karuahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
I am sorry to see that the hotel was not as you expected. It is a large building and we do get around to refurbishing as quickly as possible. Thank you for your kind comments on the food and service, it is nice to hear you enjoyed both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, Lancashire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Shearings 4 day break.
Excellent value, and service at both breakfast and dinner very efficient. would like to compliment our table waiter Robert.The food was also of good quality with a varied menu. Bar service also good.
Had front facing room, but unfortunately this was in need of re-furbishment , with the carpet looking rather tired. Otherwise the room was large, clean and serviced well.
The swimming pool really needs an upgrade, generally ok to swim but not a place to relax, due to lack of 'furnishings',the lighting also quite gloomy.
Having said all this, feel the holiday was of excellent value, would certainly visit again and would recommend to others

Room Tip: front facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandEBury_Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Thanbks for posting your review, Again, the food and service are being positively higlighted and I shall tell Robert how pleased you were with his service. The bar staff will be happy that you took advantage of the bar also. I wish more people would use the pool and we have taken note of the lighting and I can assure you on your next visit, the lighting will be better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

My mum and niece have just enjoyed a fantastic value trip with Shearings to the Torbay Hotel. The sea front location of this hotel was brilliant for shops and local attractions. The local bus stop was right outside which meant it was an easy commute from Totnes and Paignton. My niece was also able to enjoy an evening jog along the well lit seafront. So this holiday is not just for oldies! The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was clean with a great view. The food was excellent and mum especially enjoyed the vegetarian options. It was served quickly and with a smile. She is definately planning a return trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueJane-Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
I am so happy that your mum and niece had a fantastic stay, The location is very good for all of Torquay and I am also pleased that they enjoyed so many aspects of their holiday. I remember your niece jogging - I wonder if she did manage to run to Paignton and back? see them both soon I hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.9 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,593 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#38 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
2.5 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 18 in Paignton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Torbay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Property: Bay Torbay Hotel
Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Torbay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, 'grand features in warm surroundings,' and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities - the Premier and Superior rooms are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, an indoor heated swimming pool and a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre's shops, boutiques and restaurants. After two years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka "Rock Walk") has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Bay Torbay Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing