We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Torbay!!!”
Review of Bay Torbay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Torbay Hotel
Ranked #34 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed for five days July 3rd-8th. It is a very clean and fresh hotel. I advise you to ignor the photos submitted on this review site. I never saw any of this. The staf are brilliant and the restaurant staff were excellent especially our waitress on table 58. Nothing is too much trouble, the food is good and plentiful.
So overall I would recommend this hotel as it is in a good position, and as there is an ongoing refurbishment plan it can only get better.

Well done to all the nice people at the Torbay.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JillCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2011

Thank you for your wonderful comments, It is so great to hear such positive reviews and to know that you have had a super time with us. When you come back again, you will see the finished product and it really is fantastic - I hope when you see what we have done, you'll agree. thanks once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (782)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

728 - 734 of 783 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 10 days.
Food good;Entertainment good.
Hotel much better than the other shearings hotel i.e. Torpark.
V. Good location,friendly,helpful staff.
Down points; Only one lift for this rambling hotel.
Both lift and swimming pool broke down during stay.17th to 27th.
First hotel in 40 years wher you had to use your own shampoo & shower gel.

Room Tip: Go for the first floor to aviod lift problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paulD02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2011

You just happened to pick the one week of the year when what could break down - did!! yet despite that you still had a good holiday and the postive elements of the staff and food etc shone through. The pool was down for a couple of the days and the lift was fixed next day, we would not want anyone to think both were out of order for your whole stay. Hopefully when you come back again you can ride in the lift all day and have a nice relaxing swim too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

my self, husband and 8 yearold son we was quite worried about some comments on trip adviser but thought I will see for myself the hotel itself was quite dated inside but but appealing outside the reception staff were excellent including the night porter the food was also excellent the choice was very good.The waitress could speak english but didn't understand it very well as we orded scrambled egg 3 days with our breakfast but never got it the family room was very big and clean but the window had lots of meldew round it which was reachable by my son. The entertainment was right for that hotel has it catered for the elderly, but to not have entertainment on a sunday in summer time let it down even for us in our mid 40s. The swimming pool was very good and clean. we would recomend it!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeanette014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2011

Its always nice to welcome our younger vistors so I hope your son enjoyed himself - especially the swimming pool. We dont get everything right all the time but i amn so glad you enjoyed the holiday so much, you'll come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

On an 8 day trip 11-18th June with Shearings we received a very warm welcome. My single room 305 was lovely, very warm, cosy, and clean with spare pillow & lovely fleecy blanket. Front facing room with lovely view of trees mainly - but that's ok. I expected it to be a little noisy but had my earplugs at the ready so no problems. The bathroom was great, clean with hot water a constant.

The restaurant was very nice but a little cramped. We shared a table with two ladies who were lovely and we enjoyed the company. Our waiter - Lewis was a sweetheart, very efficient, attentive and friendly - an asset and hope management appreciate him! The food was very nice, always hot and enough to keep you satisfied, although, I have to say the bread & butter pudding was enormous but delicious with a spoonful of brown sugar - Yum. Well Done to the Chef.

Matt & Louise on reception couldn't have done enough for us when we wanted to go to Babbacombe Theatre - they made the booking and organised the transport - now that's going the extra mile! The Show was Heatwave which was fabulous and would highly recommend. The night porters John and Cristian were great too.

The resident entertainment were a very nice couple and made Bingo fun. Enjoyed the singer Paul Sylvester who I must mention - he was absolutely fantastic singing all my soul favourites - amazing voice and I was serenaded. Ah!

Transport/Shops and lovely views we couldn't have wished for more - apart from the usual......the weather which I'm sure if the staff could they would make that shine too.

Well Done to All - Thank You For Creating A Memory x Hope to see you again soon x

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tweety073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2011

I really enjoy reading such great reviews - especially knowing that you leave here with such great memories, I hope that we see you again soon. I will pass on your nice words to the staff, they enjoy hearing that there hard work has been noticed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights, 13 thru 17 June.
Staff were fine, food was good, but our bathroom was terrible.
There was mould on the ceiling, above the non operational extractor fan. The room itself is approx 7 foot 6, by 5 foot, containing a bath, and a toilet.The toilet is offset from the bath at an angle of 10 degrees or so. It has to be, otherwise sitting on the toilet would be impossible, due to lack of space for your right leg.

The pipework behind the toilet is boxed in, pushing the toilet bowl out, to approx two thirds of the length of the bath.

This leaves a space of approx 15 inches, very close to the taps to climb into the bath to use the shower. There is a grab rail, about four feet away from where you would step into the bath. Considering that the majority of the hotels clients are elderly, and many have mobility issues. The bath access is a very serious accident just waiting to happen.

As to the shower, I think it works on a heat exchange basis, and takes forever to get warm, once that is, that you have got your degree in quantum mechanics, to figure out how to operate it.

The wash hand basin is missing from the bathroom, because it is at the end of one of the twin beds, next to a window! The filthy cord for the light over the basin is about an inch and half long, also, there is no shaver point.

I would never ever stay here again, nor would I recommend it.


If you are offered room 301, then avoid it like the plague would be my recommendation.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank alabamajack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We've recently returned from a week at the Torbay Hotel. It was our 15th visit, so we've seen quite a few changes and improvements.

The hotel, as other people have stated, is undergoing a programme of refurbishment. At the moment, there's scaffolding outside and about half of the communal lounge area has been closed off. We heard one of two grumbles, but visitors need to appreciate that this hotel is open all the year round. Decorating used to be done when hotels were closed in the winter, but these days, refurbishments have to be done as and when necessary. We had no problem with the workmen - even though they were working outside our bedroom window for some of the time. Over the last couple of years, some of the rooms have been upgraded and the corridors and stairs have been recarpeted.

The Torbay Hotel is ideally situated on the seafront. Yes, it can sometimes be noisy when the pubs turn out and it's correct that the street cleaner does come round early. We like a front facing room, but if you would like a quieter room, have one at the back of the hotel. Bear in mind though, that rear rooms look out on a cliff face.

We've always found the staff to be very friendly, helpful and polite. The food has always been hot and service is usually prompt. We were not so impressed with the breakfasts on this occasion because unusually, the poached eggs were hard and the hash browns were really greasy. We found scrambled eggs and bacon to be the best option. I agree with a previous reviewer, who commented on the the cod not being up to standard. Apart from this, there was no problem with the food.

We always enjoy the evening entertainment. Steve and Tamar are excellent hosts. Steve is a versatile and talented musician who plays keyboards and the trumpet. Tamar and Steve are both good singers. There is dancing and bingo each evening from Monday to Saturday. We were disappointed to find that since our last visit in Sept 2010, there is now no entertainment at all on Sunday evening. However, it was a good opportunity to have an after dinner walk along Royal Terrace Gardens (Rock Walk) and around the harbour.

Parking for Self-Drive guest is a ten minute walk away in the Terrace Car Park. There's a hill to climb to get there, but you can use the lift in Debenhams if necessary. Access to the car park is via a swipe card which you get at hotel reception for a returnable deposit of £10.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RainbowDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2011

Its fantastic that you just keep coming back to us and that we provide you with all that you need from your holiday. I can promise you that when you come back, you will see the changes we have made to be worthwile. It is necessary sometimes to refurbish while we are open, but it does not cause any discomfort and it will benefit all the future visitors - and most importantly yourself. You can let me know your thoughts on the works on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed 4 nights. The bedrooms were awful, infact our matress did not fit the base of the bed. The bathroom had a very high bath, so if you wanted to shower and were quite short or old it was very difficult to climb into the bath.

The hotel itself is in need of decoration and modernisation and the food seemed to be bought in, and not cooked on the premises. The only good thing I can say is our coach driver Mike was delightful and helpful, and our hungarian waiter was very good.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank june_koubel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#25 of 85 in Torquay
514 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,513 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 85 in Torquay
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Torbay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $65 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Torbay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, 'grand features in warm surroundings,' and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities - the Premier and Superior rooms are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, an indoor heated swimming pool and a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre's shops, boutiques and restaurants. After two years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka "Rock Walk") has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Bay Torbay Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing