We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“probably best located hotel in south west”
Review of Bay Torbay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Torbay Hotel
Ranked #34 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“probably best located hotel in south west”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

all staff and i mean ALL very efficent,food the best of all the shearings hotels. all i would say to people thinking of going to THE TORBAY is to disregard all the winghers go there and enjoy.we had a fabulous time,and will be going back

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peteroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Thanks for your review, It really is nice to know that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us, and that you will be coming back. We can have no better recommendation than telling us you will be returning. See you soon and have a great summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    293
    133
    38
    54
See reviews for
117
408
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Spent 3 nights at Torbay - run down Hotel certainly seen better days - and the food was really poor. I'm picky with my food, however my husband is not, but even he struggled to eat the greasy breakfasts which consisted of a tea plate with greasy/soggy hash brown, greasy egg/ with solid yoke and greasy leather like bacon - obviously been cooked some time previously and reheated (this was the same each morning.) Dinners were equally as bad - ordered cod one evening - and a small thin sliver of fish was presented which was full of bones and certainly bore no resemblance to any cod I had seen. Waiters were pleasant - however they whipped away your plate so quickly you barely had chance to swallow.

Having been to several Bay Hotels including the Savoy at Bournemouth, which was excellent, I had no reservations in booking Torbay Hotel as I expected the same standard - but was bitterly disappointed. Enterntainment was Ok but was only on for 2 nights and then only for approx 50 minutes or so (nothing on Sunday - you could borrow a board game if you wished!!!). Bingo seemed to be the only regular feature of the entertainment.

Rooms on the front are noisy as there is no double glazing - tap dripped constantly. . Car parking a long way from Hotel up a very steep hill.Wont be going back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gillm_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We have just returned from a 2 night weekend stay in Torquay. This hotel is undergoing refurbishment at the moment. We stayed in a premier room which was very spacious, lovely big bathroom and very comfortable bed. Flat screen tv but no mini bar. View of harbour is restricted by the trees. Corridors, reception and lounge area need updating although this may be included in the refurb programme. However, the food is not good breakfast is very poor in choice and quality, and dinner much the same. I hope the hotel reads these reviews as it would be very easy to get this part right! We did not use the swimming pool facilities or listen to the hotel entertainment so cannot comment on this. Torquay seems to be good for bars and night clubs so depends what you want from your weekend. Shopping ok and some nice bistros and coffee shops over looking the harbour. If you are looking for class and sophistication keep on looking you won't find it here !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loving-life-1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
I am glad you enjoyed the Premier rooms during your stay, they are great value and worth staying in. I am surprised that you didn't enjoy the food as every other review we get tells us how wonderful the food is? We are doing some refurbishment to both inside and out and Im sure that you will see it will be fantastic when its finished. I hope you come and see for yourself when its completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

My friend and I had never been on a Shearings Holiday. So we didn’t know what to really expect. But I guess we did expect a decent room for the money we paid. We didn’t get it here at the Torbay Hotel. Upon arrival we were confronted by the whole front of the Hotel rigged with scaffolding. Something we were never informed about when booking with the
Co-operative travel in January.

The place looked tired and there were cigarette buts everywhere outside.

We were given a smile by the staff at reception. But as soon as we entered our room “a family room” with one double bed and one small single.

There where ripped and dirty curtains up at equally dirty windows with dirty windowsills. Room 326.

My friend was not impressed at all and I felt really bad as I had assured her that the hotel was one of Shearing best according to them.

We were given another room but this wasn’t much better. Room 301. The bathroom smelt of mould due to the ceiling having had some kind of water spillage from above. There was no sink in the bathroom the sink was in the bedroom “how bizarre” there was no extractor fan also. So we spent very little time in this excuse for a wash room.

The beds were clean and comfortable. But sleep was a bit difficult with the raucous carryings on outside at 2.15 am every night. The road sweeper at 4 am and the dust cart at 4.30 am. A coach picking up some people outside leaving it engine on for more that half an hour at 4 am one of the mornings. With people sounding horns when dropping people of at the taxi rank opposite the hotel.

When we went down to dinner. We were taking to a table, which was set for four. I quickly notice that the water glasses were smeared and didn’t look clean. I asked the waitress designated to our table to changed them. She did but with bad grace “talk about attitude”. then the waiter came over with two other ladies and said they where to sit with us. Well I couldn’t believe this old fashioned practise still existed. We thought we haven’t come on holiday with these people so why do we have to sit with them. My friend and I asked for another table the next day to ourselves and we were give one. There were plenty up the top end of the dinning room, so why did we have to sit with others?

The food was nothing to write home about and was mostly cold.

On the plus side the entertainment was good and we did meet some lovely people.

But we will not be recommending this hotel or Shearing Coaching Holidays to others.

Room Tip: avoid rooms 301 326
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelloveLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Stayed at the Torbay for a 4 day break. Upon arrival, the hotel was a bit off putting as there was scaffolding all on the outside of the hotel. This was, by no means, a reflection of the inside which was most welcoming.All the staff were most obliging and caring. The restaurant staff were exceptionally fast. We have stayed in a few Shearings hotels but this was the best food(by far) All the kitchen staff( who are rarely mentioned) should be awarded a gold star each. This is a prime location hotel with all ammenities on hand. We will definitely be back and would have no hesitation recommending this hotel

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torquayaddicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
I am glad you had a great time here, and as Torquay addicts,I look forward to your return. I don't know how the restaurant staff do it myself sometimes - I will have to put speed limiters on them. The Chef is alwas glad to hear that his food is well recieved, and he will be happy that the rest of his team get recognised too. Thanks for the recommendation and I will dig out those gold stars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Had a brilliant weekend with the girls from the "Fallen Angels" Skittle team, 10 of us in all. We have never written a review before but we were so impressed with the Hotel that we felt we should give credit where it is due. The rooms we had ranged from a single, double, twin & superior, they were all of a very good standard very clean & lovely comfortable beds ( & I'm really fussy with beds) we were also impressed with the cleanliness of the bathrooms.
All of the Hotel staff were great, wonderful, fab. brilliant, etc etc
Lewis & his sister Meg were very efficient & patient with us as we couldn't decide what to order from the delicious menu. Both had a great sense of fun.
We were all impressed with the selection and quality ot the food all rather scrummy.
All the reception staff were fantastic & helpful nothing was too much trouble for them & a special thanks to Anetta for our lovely room.
We had a fun filled fancy dress night with the Abba tribute band. We were the dancing Queens.
We would love to come back next year providing you'll have us.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FallenAngel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Fallen angels are always welcome at the Torbay, and especially those in fancy dress. Abba is a great tribute act and one of many we have during the year. Check for some more great acts on our Bay hotels website and maybe we will see you back again sooner. Lewis and Meg will be pleased to see that you liked them, they are always in competition with each other to be the best. Another great food comment, the Chef will be asking for a raise soon!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

I recently spent 4 days at the Bay Hotel in Torquay having travelled down by Shearings Coaches,we was greeted by the manager and given a warm welcome on our arrival. The room was clean and tidy. the meals were excellent and staff very friendly, evening entertainment we had dancing and entertainers was very good. The journey down to Torquay and the trips around Devon was made even more enjoyable by "Sue" the Shearings coach driver, overall it was a weekend to remember.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackdown406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
I'm glad your weekend was one to remember, A warm welcome is important to us and I am happy that you had one here. More great reviews on our excellent food and friendly staff. They are good staff and do their best to please. Sue is a great driver and people enjoy having her show them the sights.There are many fantastic weekend breaks available, so check our website on for more great deals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.9 mi away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#25 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,663 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
2.5 mi away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 17 in Paignton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Torbay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Property: Bay Torbay Hotel
Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Torbay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, 'grand features in warm surroundings,' and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities - the Premier and Superior rooms are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, an indoor heated swimming pool and a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre's shops, boutiques and restaurants. After two years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka "Rock Walk") has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Bay Torbay Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing