We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely curry, good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maha - Bharat

Maha - Bharat
Ranked #91 of 332 Restaurants in Torquay
Price range: $0 - $17
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Lovely curry, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I went here with some friends for a night out. We were served very quickly, and the staff were friendly. The food was really nice, average price for an Indian.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank buzpops123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    72
    32
    17
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
367 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Evening curry”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

went with my partner for a curry.
Poppadoms ok but small dishes of chutney so spread thin..
Curry itself was ok but not one of the best. Had better cheaper elsewhere. Staff were ok but just did what they had to do. No banter at all so atmosphere was not that good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SteBrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Friendly place with a good traditional curry house type menu. Lots of Balti. Great tropical fish tank.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Weazer61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Very poor meal here, ordered starter and main meal that I have had several times before in various indian restaurants, when served, the food was nothing like the norm, would not recommend eating here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank carole-horswill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Reasonable Food but Poor Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

A number of people have told us that they rate the Maha-Bharat in Torquay but having experienced it ourselves we wonder why. The waiting staff are dour and unsmiling, we felt that we were interrupting their evening. The service was very slow, having arrived at the booked time of 7.00pm it was 7.50 before our meal was served. The food was reasonable except the Bombay Potatoes which were undercooked and tasteless. We would not return but would rather use the Simla restaurant opposite where we have always had excellent food and service. We are surprised how the Maha-Bharat stays in business.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maha - Bharat also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Maha - Bharat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing