We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent weekend stay was excellent”
Review of Hotel Kistor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Kistor
Ranked #74 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed May 9, 2014

First Trip with Friends, hotel does need makeover, but that is being addressed. Staff were excellent and very attentive. Good location and great time alround with good company.
Food was pretty good overall and bar prices were reasonable.
Would certainly look to go again next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 232 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

A group of us have been going to the Kistor for 5 years now for a cheap'n'cheerful weekend break at this time of year. Hitherto the hotel has been a bit 'tired', but the food has been OK, the staff very friendly, but it was CHEAP
Recently under new ownership, renovations are underway, the food has improved, the evening entertainments are better and the new staff are just as friendly. Waiting at table is very efficient.
They are hoping to become a 3* or even 4* establishment.
We have already provisionally booked to go again in 2015 and look forward to even more changes, but conscious of the fact that it cannot possibly be as cheap as before.

Room Tip: Difficult to say as we have always had the same room, but certainly the Staff are verr accommodating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We have just returned from the Kistor, this was our third annual stay. Once again we were made very welcome. Great hospitality great meals great nightly entertainment. The long awaited refurbishment is making progress. Thanks to all the staff keep up the good work, see you next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 243nana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Just back from the kistor hotel. Went by coach trip with geevee travel. Location is fantastic. On arrival greeted by staff, cases taken to our rooms. Rooms in need of refurbishment but this is a project they are doing now under new ownership.friendliness and efficiency of the restraurant
Was excellent.meals not much variety but nice what we had served. Overall pleasant stay we will go again hopefully .

Room Tip: We had room 31 small but seaview and bowling green
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paula s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I have visited the Kistor on a few occasions. The previous manager is no longer there, he was excellent. However, of all the staff currently at the hotel, and there have been many recent changes of personnel , Lee was the most helpful and the most efficient, in my opinion. April 2014

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The exterior has been changed from Pink to Cream, the renewal of the roof will be completed this week, then the refurbishment of the KISTOR HOTEL will begin.
..............................................................................................................................................................

I have visited the Hotel on numerous occasions, and I have just spent a long weekend there. The Manager Simon, his assistant Dee, Bar Manager Steve and the staff were superb, always polite and helpful, nothing was to much trouble. The rooms although tired were always clean, the entertainment was brilliant and the food could not be faulted.
I was asked by every one in my party, to book another long weekend at the Kistor Hotel, and this I have done.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chip1793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Excellent value for money, good food and entertainment made it a great weekend .Special thanks to manager Simon and staff for ensuring everyone had a time to remember. .We were all taken back by your kindness on Paul,s birthday evening and the extra effort by you all.
We have already booked our next return and wish Simon and staff our best wishes.....P & J

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pauladlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#21 of 86 in Torquay
1,142 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#84 of 86 in Torquay
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#38 of 86 in Torquay
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 86 in Torquay
1,151 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 86 in Torquay
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kistor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kistor

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Kistor Hotel Torquay
Hotel Kistor Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing