We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”
Review of Hotel Kistor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Kistor
Ranked #76 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for a short break during the spring bank holiday two years running. Very
good value for money, Eileen & staff helpful & politestaff always willing to make our stay comfortable. Great nightly entertainment. No it's not the Ritz & yes it would benefit from a refurb, but for a bargain family holiday it is value for money. Lots to see & do & close to beach. See you again next year Kistor

Room Tip: Room 45 we had on both our stays,good view of sea.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 243nana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Good to see you again. We are in a great location with so many attractions within easy reach, thank you for your observations and we look forward to your third BankHoliday Break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kistor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 232 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

We travelled with our group on a Coach holiday to The Kistor. We found our hotel room and en-suite very clean, and the bed was comfortable. We had a lovely room overlooking the palm trees with the harbour in the distance.
The hotel itself was very clean and the staff very attentive and helpful. A lovely menu each meal......very tasty and very plentiful. Good entertainment every evening.
Unfortunately, for some in our group, the swimming pool was out of action due to a leak, but we were offered access to the pool at the leisure centre at a concessionary rate
All in all, we felt the price we paid for this holiday was well worth it......and I would definitely go and stay again. Keep up the good work all of you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debs W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

What a lovely review. Thank you so much. We look forward to a return visit from you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were told at last minute that our original hotel the Inglewood had closed down so had to go to the Kistor. We stayed between 13 -17 May 2013.The hotel was warm and the staff very helpful. It was clean where it mattered, beds and bathroom, dining room etc. Badly in need of refurb, We could see daylight through the window frames in the bedroom. The food was good apart from instant mash used in duchess potatoes and cottage pie (i didn't think they still made instant mash).
The portions were good and the food was always hot. The young staff were brilliant,they had everyone served n no time at all and the unloading and reloading of bags was done with speed and efficiency. I am disabled and was given a room up three flights of stairs with no lift and an over the bath shower. I could have changed rooms I suppose but we might not have got as big a room, and the outlook was nice. All in all we had a nice break with someone else doing the cooking, cleaning and washing up.

Room Tip: If you need special facilities, make sure you stipulate this when you book. I assumed there would be...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CAROLE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you so much for taking time out to write your review.
You are quite right our House keeping Team do a really good job of keeping us clean and tidy, including the Night Porters
I want to mention that our sister Hotel,The Inglewood has not closed but was closed during that particular week.
Yes, some areas of the Hotel are in need of refurbishment but despite this we like to think that we still represent good value.
Thank you for your kind observations about our Restaurant and Kitchen staff. They really are great! Fast & Friendly.
I sincerely hope that we the pleasure of hosting another Holiday for again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

nice place to stay lovely food in need of refurbishment only prob i had was stayed in room 46 view was lovely but was above the swimming pool so room was very warm from the heated swimming pool below also not sure but woke up every morning with a bad headache think it was because the room had a strong smell of chlorine from swimming pool food was great and plenty of it and staff will friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

I am pleased that you had a good holiday, but sorry you suffered from those headaches. Unfortunately the pool underwent a maintenance program whilst you were with us and the water treatment may have filtered up to your room, though no one else mentioned it. If that was the reason I apologise.
Your room is south facing and enjoys alot of sun which is the probable reason for the warmth. It wouldn't be because of the poolo as it's not been heated for some time now.
We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Husband and I stayed here between 3rd and 6th may 2013. Loved it. Hotel is in need of refurbishment (nothing Eileen wouldn't tell you herself) but even so it was clean, warm and welcoming. The staff were great and nothing was too much trouble. The food was superb and there was no skimping on the portions they gave you. The hotel is in a prime position and we had a lovely sea view room. There is a lift to all floors but we were only on the first floor so used the stairs. 24 hour bar and nightly entertainment in the kistor and surrounding hotels so no need to travel into town if you didn't want to.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

You are quite right our meals are plentiful and wholesome, the staff go out of their way to be friendly and our location is superb. What a great review, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

enjoyed stay in the Kistor,the staff very friendly,they looked after us,the food was very good.
The rooms cleaned everyday,towels changed,like a lot of the hotels they need up grading,a lick of paint.what can u expect for what u pay if u want 5 star u pay for it.
Te entertainment was great.believe up for sale,lets hope who buys keeps same prices.
We where a bunch of six ladies. who enjoyed ourselves
U get what u pay for.

Room Tip: Iwas on ist floor had no problems,
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spikey4366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you ladies for your review. I am delighted that you had a good time and found the time to tell all our friends on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

took 5 day holiday to the above hotel,, travel by Solus was fantastic, very pleasant driver, good journey.
Hotel was good, friendly staff and meals were very good, Nightly entertainment was also good.
The only downside being the lift which only holds two persons, and as most clients needed it to get up to 1 and 2 floors, meant a wait at times. The position of hotel is very good for getting buses.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pegnhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for your review! I am pleased that you had a good time. You are quite right the lift is small, but it's better than no lift at all, Lol.
See you again soon, best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#43 of 87 in Torquay
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Southbank Hotel
Southbank Hotel
#46 of 87 in Torquay
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 87 in Torquay
1,129 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#85 of 87 in Torquay
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#8 of 87 in Torquay
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kistor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kistor

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Kistor Hotel Torquay
Hotel Kistor Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing