We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay,BUT”
Review of Hotel Kistor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Kistor
Ranked #76 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just had the last week in February there with a coach tour and enjoyed our stay but the hotel wants a complete re vamp.We had a very tiny bathroom and trying to shave was a work of art,i had more space in a H G V cab.The curtains in the bar had a thick coating of dust on them and needed a realy good clean all around.I believe it's waiting for a buyer and this should resolve the problem. Having said all that the main thing being the bed was clean and the room,all the restaraunt staff were very hard working and friendly,the reception staff were also helpfull,and the manager was also friendly and a bit of a comedien aspecially when doing the bingo.The bar had a decent selection of drinks although i stuck to Tetleys and the barman was friendly and made sure that you got served quick.The hotel is well situated for the beach and is not far from the Town We would like to go back again when and if it's been re vamped

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KeithVi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Thank you for your review.I note your comments regarding the curtains in the bar. The night time staff who are responsible for their cleaning held their hands ups and agreed they had been overlooked for a period and would rectify it.
As regards the bathrooms, yes they quite small but I don't think they are any different from most other 2 star rated hotels. However, we intend at some time in the near future to install walk in shower cubicles to replace baths in some rooms, thus making more room.
There are a number of issues that need addressing throughout the hotel or to use your words 'in need of a re vamp' , we are looking forward to this happening in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 232 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

Just back from a 4 day stay and was impressed with the Kistor, had sea view room, food was excellent and staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble, would be happy to stay here again, entertainment every evening and good location as situated on the flat. People who moan I don't know what they expect for their money as excellent value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Recently spent 4 nights at this hotel what can I say other than this hotel needs money spending on it. The food was excellent,the staff very helpful and the reception staff do there best. But the hotel itself is in need of redecoration in nearly all area's.The bedroom we had was to say the least cheap and cheerful,we had a flat screened tv but was of no use as someone who had stayed in that room decided to take the remote home with them,the hotel didnt have a replacement so we couldnt switch the tv on!!!!.I have never seen a bathroom as small as the one in this room our suitcase was bigger.Money spent on this would make it a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms better than others,just depends where you are given.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We have plans to take out the baths from many of the bathrooms and fit walk in showers thus improving the space therein, some rooms will benefit from wet rooms specially designed with less mobile guests in mind. We hope to commence these improvements soon along with a general spruce up throughout the the hotel.
As regards the T.V. it is very irritating if the remotes are taken away, however it is possible to turn the flat screen TV's on without a remote and change channels, raise or lower volume etc.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I took my mum and dad to this hotel just before xmas on a Turkey and Tinsel. We had a great time room very good views of the sea, food excellent and the waiters were very accommodating anything you wanted no problem. Bar staff also very good. Entertainment every night and very good specially the bingo. In an excellent location lovely walk along the front to the town. Would recommend it to anyone hope to go again this year.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blondie41151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you again later this year. Same staff, same bingo caller ish (ha ha) but some new and superb entertainment this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

9 of us have just returned from this hotel and for all the moaners and groaners we say ~ lighten up learn to smile and laugh at life .. ( it works wonders ) !! food was excellent the resturant / bar staff were more than helpful and accomodating always with a smile plus great entertainment every evening we each have our own personal stories and memories of our stay .. well done kistor hotel ~ portsmouth group

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank portsmouthcrew2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for your positive remarks and observations.
See you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for five days as part of a coach holiday and had an excellent break.
The room we had was clean and comfortable with a good view of the sea.The tea and coffee making facility was replenished daily and there was always clean towels. The meals were very good with plenty to choose from. There was entertainment every evening with a good sized dance area and the bar is open 24 hours. Its just a two minute walk to the sea front and close to the town. For the money we paid it was really good value and we will be going again later this year

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you for taking time out to write the review.
Yes, I agree. We do represent exceptional value for money. Especially when you take in to consideration our location, good wholesome food, served efficiently by a happy smiling waiter. Great entertainment etc etc. We don't make any pretence about ourselves. We are what we are and a good many guests return time after time because of this.Thanks once again and see you soon we hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed in the kistor on a weekend break in may 2012. On arrival I was impressed by the overall look of the outside, it was a big pink hotel. After cheacking we headed up to our room to dump our bags and explore. The room itself was a little dated and the door was a bit heavy and slammed but overall it was ok.you had everything you needed to see you through. The location was good its just a stones throw from the beach and town was a short walk. There is a bar area and an indoor pooln but the pool is quite small. Food was excellent and entertainment was good. There is a lift and staff are very helpful. Overall a great experience and would return anytime.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#55 of 85 in Torquay
915 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#21 of 85 in Torquay
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
2,546 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,186 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#54 of 149 in Torquay
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kistor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kistor

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Kistor Hotel Torquay
Hotel Kistor Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing