We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good time was had by all.”
Review of Hotel Kistor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Kistor
Ranked #76 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Good time was had by all.”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

A group of 25 from our Divorced & Separated Club stayed here from the 3rd to the 7th of December on our Turkey and Tinsel break and had a great time. The floor wasn`t altogether sorted , but it didn`t stop us dancing the nights away, couldn`t resist getting up thanks to the excellent artistes especially Just for the record, Simon Gee, who played and sang & kept the joint rockin, and Shaun Leaver.The resturaunt host Bart, who has been mentioned in another review, couldn`t`nt be more help, and the bingo Host Peter was a dry compere - finishing almost sentence with ish .Everyone thought their rooms were great,and when you got used to waiting a short time for the lift to get to your floor again,even that was fine. Thankyou one and all for a great time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Haslet63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you all had a good time as we enjoyed having you here too.It was kind of you to leave such a nice card as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    99
    27
    18
    20
See reviews for
42
71
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here from Fri 23rd Nov -Mon 26th Nov 2012.We, a party of six, had a great time.Weather could have been a bit better but hey ho there you go it didn't spoil our time there.Food is brilliant.Thankyou to our restaurant host Bart.Excellent service! Thanks to Simon,Steve and Eileen for putting up with us.We had such a laugh!You guys are great.Entertainment was very good.Beds made every day,tea/coffee making facilities in your room,hot water,nice comfy bed what more could you ask for.Not far from town centre.Would definately stay here again.
Miranda,Andrew,Ray,Pat(the oaps)Sylv and Rob.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mirandahartland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
I am pleased that you had such a good time! Thank you for taking the time to send in a review. It's often only the bad things that some people want to put across, so it is always a pleasure to receive really positive reports. I shall make sure that all those mentioned see the review. See again soon I hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed in the Kistor on the 2nd November and we had a fab time went with Leisuretime. Food excellent couldnt fault it at all. All the staff are friendly and couldnt do enough its also close to the Town centre. They did have problems with the dance floor the ceiling was leaking but they are trying to fix it but the weather was against them it should be sorted out very soon once they have a dry day. They put towels down so people were able to still have a dance it didnt affect people having a good time. Entertainment and atmosphere excellent fab hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilly41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. The dance floor area had some serious problems which have now been rectified. The flat roof above has been replaced and the leaks have now ceased much to everyones delight. Let the dancing begin!
Best Wishes to You All.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Went to the Kistor for an evening out. We had a Christmas meal ,played bingo , the entertainer was very good . The staff were polite and the service was good . For £10 I think this was very good value for money !

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie7955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Yet again we visited the kistor, the staff were very friendly Eileen the duty manager makes everyone welcome. Simon is a brilliant barman and is an asset to the hotel. Can't wait to visit again hopefully next time to stay in one of the rooms. Well done kistor hotel

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 904Robbiesmum904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed at the hotel weekend 12th/15th oct, had a fantastic time, sorry folks but wherever we go we pick faults, yes the cleaning needs sorting, but the staff were very very good & helpful, beds were comfortable and clean, plenty of tea & coffee, had the most fantastic view of the harbour and bay, i will definatly go again, the hotel is being done up a bit at a time, as with most buisinesses i think they have all suffered over the past few years, well done to ALL staff at Kistor, from a very happy customer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I cannot understand the negative reviews I have just read for this hotel, clearly the guests expected the five star excellence of the London Dorchester for B&B prices.

Our club trip of 32 people have just arrived home and without exception everyone declared that they had a great time and no complaints.

Considering we were sharing the hotel with a veterans reunion for HMS Cockade which must have stretched the hotels resources to extremes we found the food, service and cleanliness of the highest standard.

OK some of the decoration needed refurbishment but the place was spotless and the food was all home cooked with all fresh vegetables, not frozen rubbish! There was more food than we could consume and not one item was below standard.

This hotel, it's staff and management deserve the highest praise and our group will be returning next year as will the lads and lassies from HMS Cockade.

BTW the lift worked 100%

Terry - Burnham Hillside Bowls Club

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G4POP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Yes, it was a memorable weekend and we too look forward to a repeat of the same next year. It is true we are not a 5 star hotel but we do our level best to ensure that our guests have a good time. We always excel when people come to us with the attitude that they are here to have a good time. Both groups this weekend had a really good time. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Beverley Hotel
Beverley Hotel
#69 of 87 in Torquay
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Southbank Hotel
Southbank Hotel
#46 of 87 in Torquay
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,803 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#43 of 87 in Torquay
110 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#28 of 87 in Torquay
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kistor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kistor

Property: Hotel Kistor
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Kistor Hotel Torquay
Hotel Kistor Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing