We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“riviera nights”
Review of Linden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Linden House
Ranked #24 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“riviera nights”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a great little b&b hotel and beautifully appointed, Easy 20 minute stroll through a park and along the prom into the centre of Torquay. The owners Sue and Larry make you feel very welcome and the breakfast is superb. Just a bit of traffic noise through the day and into the evening, but all goes quiet at bed time so no problems.

Room Tip: they are all fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
205
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Sue and Larry were most welcoming throughout our stay and as it was our first time to Torquay, they were most helpful in making recommendations for places for us to visit. The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to the beach, shopping and restaurants. The hotel is impeccably spotless and the rooms are beautifully decorated throughout. The rooms are well equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, the box of complimentary chocolates very much appreciated. Breakfast was to die for with lots of options to choose from. Larrys home made yougurt and honey is a must!! The only issue was that our stay was not long enough. We were made most welcome by Sue and Larry and would recommend this Linden House to everyone. Keep up the good work both, and thanks so much for looking after us. Best Wishes Daz and Ade

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarenEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Linden House is lovely with such friendly hosts Sue & Larry. We arrived a little early but were made very welcome and allowed to wait until our room was ready, with a cup of tea & biscuits.
Our room was immaculate and such a lovely comfy bed, tea, milk & biscuits were topped up every day for us. Large screen television in the room, makes a change from the usual portable televisions you get.
Our room was very warm, room 6 but this would not put us off returning. Breakfast was freshly cooked every morning and very tasty, hubby would have liked some baked beans with the full english but it was very tasty and other options were available on the menu.
We had a fantastic time and would recommend anyone to the Linden House. Thank you so much to Sue & Larry for looking after us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

I'll start by saying that Linden House is the best overall B&B that myself and my partner have ever stayed at. The welcome we received, the room, the cleanliness, absolutely everything about our stay was impeccable and we would most definitely return.

Our room was amazing, spotless, with the biggest, comfiest bed I have ever slept in. I recommend booking the Superior King room, (room 3) as it truly took our breath away. We could not believe how spectacular it was, especiallly for the price we paid. If you want luxury for a VERY reasonable price, look no further!

An easy walk down to the Seafront and the harbour, the location was ideal for us, far enough out of the busy areas to be quiet but within easy reach of the pier, harour and other amenities.

The breakfast was second to none. A good choice of options, all cooked to a very high standard and the warm, friendly service made the entire breakfast experience incredibly enjoyable. I left the house each morning very full and very satisfied!

All in all, the hosts are doing a brilliant job at Linden House and we would highly recommend staying here! We will definitely book again. 2 very happy customers!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights.

TOrquay was beautiful in this late summer we've had.

B&B was gorgeous. Lovely location - about a 20 min walk to harbour.

We stayed in the ground floor room. Good value and lovely neutral decoration.

Only slight issue was that the bed was not a double- I believe a queen size which was just too cramped for two of us at near 6ft tall. I imagine it does say this on the website but I am always one to forget to read things in detail! So not the B&B's fault!

Lovely breakfast, plenty of choice and served in a beautiful room - very relaxing.

Would firmly reccomend a stay here.

Also lovely extra touch of local cocker ton chocolates being placed in room went down very nicely with this chocoholic!

Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corham2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dudley west midlands
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We booked Linden House blind, through the internet. What a beautiful place. Sue and Larry were very welcoming. Breakfast was fantastic and nothing was too much trouble.Our room was beautiful with tea and coffee and very tasty choclates. We would recommend this guest house to our friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We enjoyed a week in Torquay, living at Linden House.

Thank you Sue and Larry, for making our holiday even better. We might not have had the best weather, but living at Linden House, sure made it an even better holiday.

Lovely breakfast, very friendly hosts, nice location.

Thank you from the two danes.

Stina and Kim

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
621 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
508 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 150 in Torquay
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 150 in Torquay
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#5 of 150 in Torquay
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westgate
The Westgate
#12 of 150 in Torquay
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden House

Property: Linden House
Address: 31 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Linden House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden House is an AA 5 Star guest house offering a relaxed and boutique style of accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Linden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden House Hotel Torquay
Linden House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing