We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Linden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Linden House
Ranked #20 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Linden House is lovely with such friendly hosts Sue & Larry. We arrived a little early but were made very welcome and allowed to wait until our room was ready, with a cup of tea & biscuits.
Our room was immaculate and such a lovely comfy bed, tea, milk & biscuits were topped up every day for us. Large screen television in the room, makes a change from the usual portable televisions you get.
Our room was very warm, room 6 but this would not put us off returning. Breakfast was freshly cooked every morning and very tasty, hubby would have liked some baked beans with the full english but it was very tasty and other options were available on the menu.
We had a fantastic time and would recommend anyone to the Linden House. Thank you so much to Sue & Larry for looking after us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
201
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

I'll start by saying that Linden House is the best overall B&B that myself and my partner have ever stayed at. The welcome we received, the room, the cleanliness, absolutely everything about our stay was impeccable and we would most definitely return.

Our room was amazing, spotless, with the biggest, comfiest bed I have ever slept in. I recommend booking the Superior King room, (room 3) as it truly took our breath away. We could not believe how spectacular it was, especiallly for the price we paid. If you want luxury for a VERY reasonable price, look no further!

An easy walk down to the Seafront and the harbour, the location was ideal for us, far enough out of the busy areas to be quiet but within easy reach of the pier, harour and other amenities.

The breakfast was second to none. A good choice of options, all cooked to a very high standard and the warm, friendly service made the entire breakfast experience incredibly enjoyable. I left the house each morning very full and very satisfied!

All in all, the hosts are doing a brilliant job at Linden House and we would highly recommend staying here! We will definitely book again. 2 very happy customers!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights.

TOrquay was beautiful in this late summer we've had.

B&B was gorgeous. Lovely location - about a 20 min walk to harbour.

We stayed in the ground floor room. Good value and lovely neutral decoration.

Only slight issue was that the bed was not a double- I believe a queen size which was just too cramped for two of us at near 6ft tall. I imagine it does say this on the website but I am always one to forget to read things in detail! So not the B&B's fault!

Lovely breakfast, plenty of choice and served in a beautiful room - very relaxing.

Would firmly reccomend a stay here.

Also lovely extra touch of local cocker ton chocolates being placed in room went down very nicely with this chocoholic!

Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corham2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dudley west midlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We booked Linden House blind, through the internet. What a beautiful place. Sue and Larry were very welcoming. Breakfast was fantastic and nothing was too much trouble.Our room was beautiful with tea and coffee and very tasty choclates. We would recommend this guest house to our friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We enjoyed a week in Torquay, living at Linden House.

Thank you Sue and Larry, for making our holiday even better. We might not have had the best weather, but living at Linden House, sure made it an even better holiday.

Lovely breakfast, very friendly hosts, nice location.

Thank you from the two danes.

Stina and Kim

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dereham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

we arrived on friday afternoon and left on monday morning,we were made more than welcome by sue and larry,the room was beautiful the breakfast was fantastic sue has a constant smile nothing is to much trouble,we have had short breaks in devon for the past 25 years and know we have found linden house,i dont think we would stay anywhere else we loved it,would just like to say many thanks to sue,larry for a wonderful break.

Room Tip: choose room 3 it overlooks the lovely garden and has a huge comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed at the linden house,we had 2 lovely nite's here.Wish i had had booked a few more nite's,but we will return.Modern furniture,very clean,cumfy large bed,large tv to much to mention.....Amazing breakfast every morning,lovely and hot.Would highly reccomend this guest house to antone wanting to stay here.See you next year or before maybe.
Emma & Brian ...St Mawes Cornwall.....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmabrian72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#12 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#4 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#7 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#6 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount Edgcombe
Mount Edgcombe
#10 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden House

Property: Linden House
Address: 31 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Linden House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden House is an AA 5Star guest house offering a relaxed and boutique style of accommodation. Our freshly cooked breakfasts can be enjoyed by those on a gluten free diet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Linden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden House Hotel Torquay
Linden House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing