We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing too much trouble” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingston House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kingston House
Ranked #23 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Noyal-Muzillac, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nothing too much trouble”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I didn't stay here but my son and his new wife stayed here for the first two nights after their wedding. Jill kindly made a room available on the day for the groomsmen to prepare for the big ceremony at nearby Torre Abbey, laid on rolls, soft drinks and an ice bucket for our final champagne Dutch courage/ celebration/ preparation. She also booked the taxi to bring the new bride and groom back after the reception.
The rooms are spacious, beautifully equipped and prepared and the whole place feels like a comfortable home rather than a guesthouse. Next time we're in the area we'll be staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
130
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

What a most wonderful place with the couple of the century looking after us
Nothing was too much
It was like home from home without us having to do the work
Gill and warren are truley wanting to make everyone welcome and relaxed whilst staying with them.
They are a genuine people that want everyone to have a good time at their place
Many thanks for your kindness and hospitality
Wishing Gill and Warren all the best for the future

Room Tip: If you want good value for money and a couple that genuine want to look after their guest then this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Applepatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarisbrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful week spent at Kingston House.
All I can say is that if you want a beautiful place to stay,with superb owners,come to Kingston House !
We arrived earlier than usually arranged,but for Jill and Warren this was not a problem,we were greeted as friends coming to stay,and was offered a very welcome morning coffee and homemade cakes, which are excellent.
Our room,( which all have been refurbished to a very high standard ) was immaculate with quality fittings and furnishings,as are all throughout.
The breakfast choices are endless,cooked superbly using all local produce,and nothing is too much trouble for Jill and Warren.
They really are fantastic hosts,but also really lovely people.
We had a fabulous week,and incredible weather,which was a bit too hot for us, but Jill was so thoughtful,greeting us with long cold drinks after our days out,and putting extra fans in our room.
Everything was wonderful and we would recommend a stay here without hesitation,and will certainly be returning ourselves very soon !

Room Tip: All rooms are superbly appointed and immaculate
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a short break at Kingston House in Torquay, what can I say it was all that we hoped for and more from the warm and friendly greeting on arrival to the stunning decor of this little beauty. Jill and Warren were superb hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. Our room was stunning and as elsewhere in the hotel absolutely spotless. Would highly recommend a stay here you wont be disappointed. Thanks both will see you again will definately return. Forgot to mention the fab breakfast , also the hospitality tea/coffee was the best selection I have ever seen in any hotel .

Room Tip: stayed in room number 5 Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

A well deserved 5* for this well appointed guest house, which actually was more like a small boutique hotel. Decorated to an excellent standard and presented with high quality furnishings, the property was simply a delight. Every room had an impressive co-ordination of colours, furniture, accessories and comfort! As a businesswoman who often travels alone, I felt entirely welcomed and made to feel at home, by the two owners, who were the perfect hosts, genuinely keen to ensure that my stay with them and in the area, was perfect. Everything about my stay at Kingston House was actually first class. Breakfasts were rather delicious - fresh fruit, local produce and cooked items were cooked to order, swiftly and skilfully - presented with style - every taste was catered for. I was kindly provided with a private space to carry out some administration work on one particular day and complimentary refreshments were served to me throughout the day to keep me going, which were very much appreciated. Recommendations for local restaurants were made by the hosts, for evening meals, thoughtfully suggesting suitable places where I would feel comfortable dining alone and arranged taxis for my safe transit and ..... a glass of wine greeted me after, upon my return to Kingston House. I would recommend this guest house to anyone wishing to stay in the Torquay area - and in fact I already have!

Room Tip: Room 5 faces the garden and was quiet and airy with a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisb344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night as we had a wedding reception to attend nearby.
Firstly, it was good to be able to stay just one night, so many places have a minimum 2 night stay.
We were early, but we were warmly welcomed by Warren, who showed us to our room, and introduced us to Jill. The whole place was spotless; beautiful room, with excellent facilities -a box full of tea &coffee, hot chocolate sachets, biscuits and yummy local made chocolates, and even fresh milk in the fridge, not silly little pots!
Kingston House is decorated to perfection, no frilly nick nacks, but quality pieces here and there.
Breakfast was scrumptious! Good selection, and a wonderful yoghurt and muesli sundae - a MUST have!

Room Tip: Room 5 - classically elegant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ali-257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just had 2 nights with my wife for my 50th, accomodation superb, food excellent, owners really friendly and helpfull, could not fault it at all. Would recomend a visit, everything you need, cup of tea and cake on arrival, a Twinings box full of teas coffes, a fridge with fresh milk each day, flat screen tv, double shower cubicle with shower power. Breakfast, good choice, I had the fruit Sundae 2 days, then poached egg one morning and eggs benedict with ham the second, a real treat.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bernard r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Elmdene
The Elmdene
#14 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tyndale B&B
Tyndale B&B
#17 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avron House
Avron House
#31 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#25 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Linden House
Linden House
#20 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Briarfields
Briarfields
#13 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston House

Property: Kingston House
Address: 75 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kingston House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5-Star charming privately run Victorian Villa is just a mile from Torquay's town centre and harbour with good rail links. The elegant rooms are light and airy and all are decorated and furnished to a high standard of luxury and comfort making for a relaxing stay. Free car parking on the forecourt with Free Wi-Fi wireless internet access throughout.All guest rooms are well equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, mini fridge, complimentary bottled water, fresh milk. All rooms are en-suite with good quality toiletries. Good quality hairdryers, digital radio alarm clock, 32in LED Flat Screen TVs. Iron and ironing board available on request. Breakfast is included in the price and is freshly cooked to order using local produce where possible. Kingston House is ideal for both business travellers and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Kingston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingston House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing